4 photos
Hyundai i30 PD

Hyundai i30 PD (2017-2021)

Also referred to as: Hyundai i30 PD 2020 and Hyundai i30 PD 2022. 2.0L Petrol GDi, 1.6L Turbo Diesel CRDi, 1.6L Turbo Petrol T-GDi, 2.0L Turbo Petrol T-GDi
4.2 from 74 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.9 (31)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (33)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (28)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (27)
  • Braking
    4.7 (27)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.6 (27)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (25)
  • Suspension
    4.6 (26)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.4 (25)
  • Handling
    4.7 (25)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (27)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (27)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (28)
  • Features
    4.6 (27)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
echo
echo
  • 4 reviews

I should have done more research

published

Purchased in June 2019 for $19,000.00.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Sasa S.
Sasa S.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Gearbox problems! Unwilling to deal with the obvious issue!!

published

Nice and friendly people at dealerships, but most likely trained to fend off the more expensive warranty issues. I have been there 3-4 times reporting an obvious issue with the gearbox (dual clutch, 2017 I30 diesel), and every time - 'it is fine', 'it is normal', or even - 'you need to learn to drive a dual clutch car'....

Before purchasing Hyundai, I heard it is one of the best servicing brand in Australia!

Makes me think they want to push it out until not under warranty? And certainly makes me want to go for another brand!

First chance, will post a video of the car shaking and jumping. So you can see for yourself if that is normal. Been driving like that for a good 1.5 years! Disappointing!

Purchased in October 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Geoff
GeoffFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Really good buy for the money!

published

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 PD compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
B. Johnson
B. JohnsonSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very good and simple car

published

Great car that has been easy to drive and own for the last year. The base engine still has enough power and is fuel efficient. Not too expensive to buy.

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Blako
Blako
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car for a great price

published

Have the manual version of this car and it's a pretty good all rounder. It can run on 91 which is odd for a turbo and I was able to get a brand new one for $24k so the value has held up really well.

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Related Articles
Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Doreenrunner
DoreenrunnerMelbourne
  • 44 reviews
  • 27 likes

Price high design and quality low

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +2Thumbnail
Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
luke
lukemelbourne
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good cheap runabout

published

Purchased for $21,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
NICK
NICKGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews

Safety defect weak structural

published

I have clipped to back of the 2019 hyundai i30 hatch with less than 3km/h( walking pace ) with my 1997 volvo sedan and after the insurance assesment the car has sustained structural damage with nearly 2k in repair bill. With not a single scratch on my cars front bumper in general cars panel are made to absorb and deflect the impact to certain points but in this case such a damage in speed that is less than 5km/h indicates that this car will be complete write off in the speed above 5km/h and not safe at all and should not be on the road at all.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Little Alexei
Little AlexeiSydney, NSW

What a nice surprise!

published

Purchased in August 2020 at Col Crawford.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 PD compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
zknight
zknightSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 32 reviews
  • 33 likes

Great car, heaps of features, but horrible programming/tech

published

Purchased in March 2020 for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Failed DCT gearbox and horrible customer service

published

Purchased in June 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
brizzyguy2000
brizzyguy2000South East Queensland, QLD

As good as a mercedes.

published

I bought a 2018 2Litre premium and I love it. I came out of a 1994 Falcon which didn't have all the bells and whistles my i30 has. I love all the safety features.....Although I don't use my sunroof and hot and cold seats very much, it is nice to know they are there. The other day I wasn't paying as much attention as I should and alarms went off to tell me I was gaining on the car in front of me too fast!! I also love the adaptive cruise control......it slows and speeds up by itself.
My friend bought a mercedes 250 and is totally jealous as he paid twice as much for much the same features.

Purchased in May 2019 at Hyundai Dealers for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Vishal
VishalSydney, NSW
  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good features, failed DCT engagement

published

The car was fun to drive until 40,000 KMs. I love adaptive cruise control and lane assist. The interior is great and Android Auto and Apple car play is good too.

However, I bought this car because of its 150 kw power and DCT transmission. Unfortunately the car has lost its edge and doesn't drive as it used to be. Took it to dealership and was told that all 4 alloy wheels are bent. They performed the relearn of adaptive values and the car still hasitates during low speed around round about and turns.

Purchased in September 2018 for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Gavman
GavmanPerth, WA
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car for the money and plenty of kit!

published

Purchased in January 2020 at John Hughes Car Sales for $21,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Demetris K.
Demetris K.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Excellent car

published

I use this car for work. It has a kick and good motor.
I drive it every day. Its due for service soon, but seems prefect and can not complain. Very good car

Purchased in January 2020 at Hyundai Dealers for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 PD compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 5
See all Hyundai i30 reviews

Questions & Answers

Deni
Deniasked
i30 PD (2017-2021)

Hyundai i30 2018 model,, after car service and upgrading radio and navigation system, it now doesn’t give verbal alerts ,, like red light camera school zone warning road narrows. Why is this happening..

2 answers
Luiys Reviews
Luiys Reviews

You should check the settings in the navigation system, sometimes the service guys set it to default.

Deni
Deni

We have since been told that the new update doesn’t have verbal alerts, anymore which we aren’t pleased with this !!

vicktor
vicktorasked
i30 PD 2.0L Petrol GDi Active (2017-2021)

Why steering power very heavy on new facelift i30 hatch active?

1 answer
Luiys Reviews
Luiys Reviews

Check your tyre pressure because low tyre pressure can cause heavy steering

Mark K
Mark Kasked
i30 PD (2017-2021)

Can you turn off the speed camera warning notification in a 2021 N line premium I30 please?

No answers
See all Hyundai i30 PD (2017-2021) questions

Get an answer from our members

Hyundai i30 PD (2017-2021)

Details

Compare all 15 Hyundai i30
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price $23,390$27,790$19,990$32,790
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy17" Alloy16" Steel17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L50 L50 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Engine CodeG4NCG4NCG4NCG4NC
Max Power120kW @ 6200rpm120kW @ 6200rpm120kW @ 6200rpm120kW @ 6200rpm
Max Torque203Nm @ 4700rpm203Nm @ 4700rpm203Nm @ 4700rpm203Nm @ 4700rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Compare all 15 Hyundai i30
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.