6 photos
Hyundai i30 FD

Hyundai i30 FD (2007-2012)

4.1 from 100 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (8)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (9)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (9)
  • Braking
    4.4 (10)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (10)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.7 (9)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (9)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.1 (10)
  • Handling
    4.1 (10)
  • Interior Design
    4.1 (10)
  • Boot Size
    4.2 (10)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (10)
  • Features
    3.7 (10)
Previous
Next
Luiys Reviews
Luiys Reviews Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Probably the best car I’ve ever had

published

Purchased in January 2012.

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
i30 Driver
i30 DriverHunter Region, NSW

Much better than expected

published

Bought the car, a 2007 build 2.0 litre petrol 5 speed manual hatch just over a year ago with about 315,000 km up. Now at 325,000 kays. Going well, no real problems. Good reliable vehicle and fairly economical - just under 7L/100k fuel consumption.
Handles quite well and is fairly nippy on the road.
Engine is powerful enough without being amazing.
Clutch and gearbox pretty good, gearbox much better after an oil change.
Pretty roomy inside and carries big stuff without problems thru the hatch and folding rear seats.
Didn't cost much so I didn't expect much but it's been way better than I would've believed.
Good little car.

Purchased in October 2019 at Facebook Marketplace for $3,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Ricci
RicciSydney, NSW
  • 10 reviews
  • 11 likes

Death Trap WARNINING!!

published

Purchased in January 2011 for $2,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 FD compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
wisernow
wisernowGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Reliable with a few faults.

published

Brought the i 30 CW in 2012. No problems so far. It is a diesel so has adequate torque to move the car. Good build quality and finish. No major repairs apart from servicing and replacement of brake pads and an engine mounting. However the drivers seat is not the best design and haven't been able to find the ideal position to suit me. Interior gets very hot even in slightly warm weather as the tinting is not the best. Otherwise no complaints. Reliable and robust.

Purchased in January 2012.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sj W.
Sj W.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great little car

published

This car is the perfect run around car. I don't recommend for families at all. It is quite small trying to get babies in and out, you end up hurting your back.

Smooth driving. Perfect for learner or first cars.

Purchased in February 2015 at Hyundai Dealers for $12,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Related Articles
Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
redly
redlyCentral Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

BEST CAR YET

published

Value for money Good warranty Great on fuel Good resale value and Just a totally great family car I have had mine since 2010 and its the family car we use daily

Purchased in January 2010 for $24,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

red s.
red s.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Comfort all around!

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Hyundai Dealers for $24,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Paul
PaulSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Bought brand new, had lots of issues with car and dealer. Will never buy Hyundai again.

published

Purchased in March 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Great little car!

published

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 FD compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mhowell
MhowellNorth-West & West coast, TAS
  • 13 reviews
  • 5 likes

great reliable car

published

no major issues, daily transport, cheap services haven't had to replace brakes yet. it has 180000kms on the clock. Fuel economy is 7.3l per 100kms. 5 speed is under geared a 6th gear would be great on the highway.

Purchased in November 2009 for $30,000.00.

Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Karen
KarenEmu Plains

Great car that went the distance

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSE
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2009
Alf
AlfGympie

Diesel engine died at 61,000 k.

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCD-Ri
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2018
Sam
Sam
  • 5 reviews

Amazing, affordable and fuel efficient car

published

Have owned the car second hand for about 1.5yrs. So far the car has been incredible. Whilst being a cheaper car to purchase, the quality seems to be very good still. Previous Hyundai models and some later i20s struggled with poor manufacturing but this model has been fantastic.

Handles, visors seats etc all are very durable and have shown no signs of failing. Fuel efficiency is also great with about 7.5L/100kms

BodyHatch
BadgeSX
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Heidi A
Heidi AAdelaide
  • 2 reviews

I love my car

published

This is a comfortable, economical and reliable car. It drives like a bigger car, it is safe with five airbags and yet the running costs are very low. Will buy another one soon to upgrade it, would have no hesitation to buy it again.
It has a lot of leg room and fits five adults comfortably.

BodyWagon
BadgeSR
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2012
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Jules
JulesAdelaide
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Just Perfect!

published

Absolutely love this car. Have decided I will keep it until it dies. Fantastic fuel economy and has excellence take off and breaking capacity, I have never felt unsafe in this car. It feels like it hugs the road when you drive it. Not noisy and very comfortable for the driver - can't honestly say about passengers though.

Excellent space in the boot plus back seat can be folded down flat. I have shown lots of people how to get their seats flat that also have the i30 and they all love the car even more when they find that out. Most hilarious thing is that there is an A/C in the glove compartment... mmm love me a cold manual.

Has all the basic connectivity for audio which is super handy. Honestly love this car so much, just perfect.

BodyHatch
BadgeSE
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2013
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 FD compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 7
See all Hyundai i30 reviews

Questions & Answers

mario p.
mario p.asked
i30 FD (2007-2012)

my interior fan has stopped working. all fuses and relays are ok. it did this once before then fixed itself after a couple of days. ????

No answers
Ava Trudinger
Ava Trudingerasked
i30 FD (2007-2012)

I have a Hyundai i30 2011 which I bought second hand 4 years ago. Recently my dash lights turn off intermittently - everything else appears to work but all lights on the speedometer/tachometer/odometer not working. When I have taken my car to mechanic or auto electric the problem can’t be replicated and therefore not resolved! Does anyone have ideas of what could be going wrong?

No answers
Vee
Veeasked
i30 FD (2007-2012)

Hi there i have hyndai i30 1.6 petrol 2011.it gives me a problem whn m drive it in the freeway it start to cut and i change a petrol pump still it cut. only whn m driving over 110 to 120 speed someone help me please?

No answers
See all Hyundai i30 FD (2007-2012) questions

Get an answer from our members

Hyundai i30 FD (2007-2012)

Details

Compare all 15 Hyundai i30
CategoryHatchbacks
Starting Price $18,990
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypeDiesel and Petrol
Wheels16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 53 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power105kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque186Nm @ 4600rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2007
Discontinuation dateDec 2012
Compare all 15 Hyundai i30

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.