3 photos
Hyundai i30 Hatchback

Hyundai i30 Hatchback (2017-2021)

Also referred to as: Hyundai i30 Hatchback 2020 and Hyundai i30 Hatchback 2022. 1.6L Turbo Diesel CRDi, 2.0L Petrol GDi, 1.6L Turbo Petrol T-GDi, 2.0L Petrol T-GDi
4.3 from 79 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Hatchbacks in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Hyundai

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.1 (39)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (40)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (37)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (35)
  • Braking
    4.7 (33)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.6 (33)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (31)
  • Suspension
    4.6 (32)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.4 (32)
  • Handling
    4.7 (31)
  • Interior Design
    4.6 (32)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (32)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (33)
  • Features
    4.7 (32)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
f1fanatic
f1fanaticPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews

should have upgraded over a decade ago

published

great car, first upgrade since 2006 and boy has technology come forward big time.
everyday use is great, makes the ride just so much more enjoyable with connections galore, just love it

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Gio R
Gio RSouth West, WA
  • 7 reviews

Fantastic Car

published

This is car number 4 from the Hyundai-Kia family
Purchased new in March 2021 i30 6speed manual
Great addition of safety feature as per entry level
The all new digital display makes it so appealing to the younger drivers
Apple car play having connectivity issue since brand new,awaiting for resolution
Fuel consumption is below the declared values
Very happy so far

Purchased in March 2021 at Hyundai Dealers for $25,450.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Mick Woolagoodga
Mick Woolagoodgasydney
  • 11 reviews
  • 12 likes

Hyundai always good.

published

Reliable user friendly car which has all the options I need. Service intervals are realistic and affordable. Service department is professional and run like clockwork. Couldn't be happier with my purchase!!

Purchased in August 2017.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Bruno
BrunoNewcastle
  • 2 reviews

Really Nice Car to drive

published

The car has been always serviced at the recommended intervals at the dealer it was bought from and is just a daily driver and is such a nice car to drive.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 Hatchback compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
pam
pamSydney
  • 12 reviews
  • 6 likes

bad maker and service that I come across

published

Purchased in September 2018 for $22,000.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
westy50
westy50Peel, WA
  • 5 reviews

Excellent Vehicle

published

We have driven this car 60000 KLM since we purchased it, including a trip from W.A. to N.S.W. It is a great car around town or on the open road with plenty of power for overtaking or hill climbing. The only thing I have found is that it is not the best with 4 adults over a long drive, fuel return average is around 6 litres to 100 KLM.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Vickie
VickieSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Excellent car

published

With lockdown haven’t used it much but it goes so well has been very reliable haven’t had any problems. It is serviced yearly with Hyundai with road service and Navman serviced

Purchased in October 2020 for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Glen
Glen
  • 3 reviews

I really love this car, we have had Hyundias for the last 10 years. We just the the way this car drive, it is very comfortable and has lots of features inside the car. The storage features that you don’t find in other cars
Places for sunglasses. Maps cc storage and so on.

BodyHatch
BadgeActive X
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
echo
echo
  • 4 reviews

I should have done more research

published

Purchased in June 2019 for $19,000.00.

Cleaning & Maintenance
3/5
Noise Level
4/5
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 Hatchback compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sasa S.
Sasa S.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Gearbox problems! Unwilling to deal with the obvious issue!!

published

Nice and friendly people at dealerships, but most likely trained to fend off the more expensive warranty issues. I have been there 3-4 times reporting an obvious issue with the gearbox (dual clutch, 2017 I30 diesel), and every time - 'it is fine', 'it is normal', or even - 'you need to learn to drive a dual clutch car'....

Before purchasing Hyundai, I heard it is one of the best servicing brand in Australia!

Makes me think they want to push it out until not under warranty? And certainly makes me want to go for another brand!

First chance, will post a video of the car shaking and jumping. So you can see for yourself if that is normal. Been driving like that for a good 1.5 years! Disappointing!

Purchased in October 2017.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Geoff
GeoffFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Really good buy for the money!

published

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
B. Johnson
B. JohnsonSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very good and simple car

published

Great car that has been easy to drive and own for the last year. The base engine still has enough power and is fuel efficient. Not too expensive to buy.

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 Hatchback compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Blako
Blako
  • 2 reviews

Great car for a great price

published

Have the manual version of this car and it's a pretty good all rounder. It can run on 91 which is odd for a turbo and I was able to get a brand new one for $24k so the value has held up really well.

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Doreenrunner
DoreenrunnerMelbourne
  • 49 reviews
  • 34 likes

Price high design and quality low

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +2Thumbnail
Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Incentivised Review No
luke
lukemelbourne
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good cheap runabout

published

Purchased for $21,500.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
See all Hyundai i30 reviews

Questions & Answers

vicktor
vicktorasked
i30 PD Hatchback 2.0L Petrol GDi Active (2017-2021)

Why steering power very heavy on new facelift i30 hatch active?

1 answer
Luiys Reviews
Luiys Reviews

Check your tyre pressure because low tyre pressure can cause heavy steering

Patricia P.
Patricia P.asked
i30 PD Hatchback 2.0L Petrol GDi (2017-2021)

Hi, does anyone know where in the navigation settings I can turn off the “you are exceeding the speed limit” voice. Very loud and distracting and happens when we go from 99 to 100.
Many thanks :)

1 answer
deus_zeus
deus_zeus

I never found a specific way to do that either - I've turned down the volume entirely on traffic alerts, so I don't hear it at all - I don't need a voice telling me about school zones, cameras, zebra crossings, ice-cream trucks etc etc. It's just annoying. Have a play in the settings, I can't remember where exactly...

See all Hyundai i30 questions

Get an answer from our members and Hyundai representatives

Hyundai i30 Hatchback (2017-2021)

Details

Compare all 21 Hyundai i30
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price $23,390$27,790$34,990
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticDual-Clutch (DCT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km7.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L50 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 1.6L
Engine CodeG4NCG4NCG4NCG4FJ
Max Power120kW @ 6200rpm120kW @ 6200rpm120kW @ 6200150kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque203Nm @ 4700rpm203Nm @ 4700rpm203Nm @ 4700265Nm @ 1500-4500rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Compare all 21 Hyundai i30
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.