1 photo
Huyndai i30 PD 1.6L Turbo Petrol T-GDi SR

Huyndai i30 PD 1.6L Turbo Petrol T-GDi SR (2017-2018)

4.0 from 18 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.0 (7)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (5)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (7)
  • Braking
    4.3 (6)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (6)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.8 (6)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (6)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (6)
  • Handling
    4.5 (6)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (6)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (6)
  • Comfort
    3.8 (6)
  • Features
    4.5 (6)
Previous
Next
zknight
zknightSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 32 reviews
  • 33 likes

Great car, heaps of features, but horrible programming/tech

published

Purchased in March 2020 for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Failed DCT gearbox and horrible customer service

published

Purchased in June 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Vishal
VishalSydney, NSW
  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good features, failed DCT engagement

published

The car was fun to drive until 40,000 KMs. I love adaptive cruise control and lane assist. The interior is great and Android Auto and Apple car play is good too.

However, I bought this car because of its 150 kw power and DCT transmission. Unfortunately the car has lost its edge and doesn't drive as it used to be. Took it to dealership and was told that all 4 alloy wheels are bent. They performed the relearn of adaptive values and the car still hasitates during low speed around round about and turns.

Purchased in September 2018 for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hatchbacks

Find out how Huyndai i30 PD 1.6L Turbo Petrol T-GDi SR compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Nice car until it breaks down

published

The car itself is fine when it works. Nice to drive and great arrange of features.

However, our Hyundai SR has been horribly unreliable in its first year. Car has already broken down twice and sits in the dealership today. Worst of all Hyundai Customer Care is shocking. They deflect all issues to the dealer and all repersentatives I've spoken to are rude.

Don't make the mistake of thinking Hyundai are now world beaters. They still seem to sell unreliable cars with a poor quality of service.

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
cooleena
cooleenaHunter Region, NSW
  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Fantastic car with a cracking little turbo!

published

Purchased in November 2018 at Hyundai Dealers for $29,888.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Related Articles
Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
YMVS
YMVSSydney, NSW

Better daily than i30n and Focus ST

published

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Kalindee
KalindeePakenham
  • 2 reviews

The best small car ever!

published

I absolutely love my Hyundai i30 SR - i use this daily to get to and from work and interstate when visiting family,
I have no issues - the turbo in this gets my vote
it looks and feels good to drive and i highly recommend this to everyone that ask about it.

BodyHatch
BadgeSR
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Sarah H
Sarah HVictoria, 3658
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic Car

published

Purchased the i30 SR with sunroof in July 2017. What a fantastic car. Looks good. Runs great. Highly recommend if you are after a small car. Very cheap to run and get approximately 600kms to a full tank of petrol. The interior looks great. The GPS and in car software is very easy to use. Also has wireless charging for phones - how convenient no cords

BodyHatch
BadgeSR
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
simonebb
simonebbMelbourne, Victoria
  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Happy I made move from my previous European car

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSR
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Hatchbacks

Find out how Huyndai i30 PD 1.6L Turbo Petrol T-GDi SR compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Walsh
Walsh
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

I love this car

published

Last car was a Ford Focus which I loved
Before that had an alpha Romeo
This is the best car so far
The i30 SR is a wonderful fun car
It has plenty of acceleration but is also full of sensible and useful options
And the 5 year warranty is the deal clincher

BodyHatch
BadgeSR
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Beardy Bonce
Beardy BonceSydney, NSW
  • 20 reviews
  • 14 likes

Good.... but not great

published

Purchased in March 2018 at Hyundai Dealers for $28,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
2 comments
Beardy Bonce
Beardy Bonce
Beardy Bonce
Beardy Bonce
Glenn E
Glenn EMelbourne
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

You take our money and leave us with a multi coloured car

published

We have been sold a car with panel damage and now the front of the car is 2 different colours.
3 and a half months on Hyundai’s so called customer service are forcing me to resolve this in V-Cat.

The initial problem was panel damage in the front grille that I was told by the dealer that they had many new i30’s with the same issue, so be careful if you are buying a i30.

PATHETIC CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!!!

BodyX
BadgeSR
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Hyundai i30 SR - very good

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSR
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Amdor9
Amdor9Illawarra, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

i30 SR is a hot hatch!

published

I can't believe the features in this car! There are more features in this car than most base model luxury cars and half the price! I just picked up my new car yesterday and it will take me a while to explore all the features in this car. Such smooth performance, solidly built and luxurious on the inside. The black leather seats with red stitching truly grabbed my attention and didn't let me go! I've been looking for a new car for most of the year and when I drove this one I was totally sold! So much interior space, great boot space and design. I'm looking forward to selecting Sport mode this weekend and seeing what it can do with that fuel efficient yet powerful 1.6 turbo that puts out 150kW!

BodyHatch
BadgeSR
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Dazzler87
Dazzler87North-West & West coast, TAS
  • 21 reviews
  • 14 likes

No wonder it is winning multiple car of the year awards

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSR
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionDCT
Date PurchasedJune 2017
Hatchbacks

Find out how Huyndai i30 PD 1.6L Turbo Petrol T-GDi SR compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2
See all Hyundai i30 reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Huyndai i30 PD 1.6L Turbo Petrol T-GDi SR (2017-2018) but you can read 139 questions about Hyundai i30.

Get an answer from our members

Huyndai i30 PD 1.6L Turbo Petrol T-GDi SR (2017-2018)

Details

Compare all 15 Hyundai i30
CategoryHatchbacks
Starting Price $28,990
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
Fuel TypePetrol
Engine4 Cylinder 1.6L
Engine CodeG4FJ
Max Power150kw @ 6000rpm
Max Torque265Nm @ 1500-4500rpm
Release dateJan 2017
Discontinuation dateDec 2018
Replaced byHuyndai i30 PD 1.6L Turbo Petrol T-GDi N Line
Compare all 15 Hyundai i30

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.