?
? !
15 photos
Hyundai i30

Hyundai i30 (page 2 of 24)

GD, FD, PD
4.2 from 348 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.9 (57)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (60)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (55)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (53)
  • Braking
    4.6 (53)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (53)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.2 (50)
  • Suspension
    4.4 (51)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.2 (51)
  • Handling
    4.4 (50)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (54)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (54)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (55)
  • Features
    4.4 (54)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
i30 Driver

i30 DriverHunter Region, NSW

Much better than expected

published

Bought the car, a 2007 build 2.0 litre petrol 5 speed manual hatch just over a year ago with about 315,000 km up. Now at 325,000 kays. Going well, no real problems. Good reliable vehicle and fairly economical - just under 7L/100k fuel consumption.
Handles quite well and is fairly nippy on the road.
Engine is powerful enough without being amazing.
Clutch and gearbox pretty good, gearbox much better after an oil change.
Pretty roomy inside and carries big stuff without problems thru the hatch and folding rear seats.
Didn't cost much so I didn't expect much but it's been way better than I would've believed.
Good little car.

Purchased in October 2019 at Facebook Marketplace for $3,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
zknight

zknightSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 32 reviews
  • 33 likes

Great car, heaps of features, but horrible programming/tech

published

Purchased in March 2020 for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Caitlin W

Caitlin WGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Long term owner, no regrets!

published

Have owned my 2016 activex since new and it has been amazing. I have had no mechanical issues with the car, and have been impressed with servicing through Hyundai as each service has been the exact capped cost with no surprises! Had a slight issue early on with carplay/Bluetooth and bad call quality, however this was rectified promptly with a software update within the cars system. Car drives beautiful both in the city and country highways, nice and quiet and smooth. Very happy with the car and plan on keeping it (even though when I purchased I intended to upgrade at the 4-5 year mark). Boot is very spacious and the flat fold rear seats have been very handy when moving house and could fit large items such as a TV cabinet and hall table!

Purchased in December 2016 for $20,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Failed DCT gearbox and horrible customer service

published

Purchased in June 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
brizzyguy2000

brizzyguy2000South East Queensland, QLD

As good as a mercedes.

published

I bought a 2018 2Litre premium and I love it. I came out of a 1994 Falcon which didn't have all the bells and whistles my i30 has. I love all the safety features.....Although I don't use my sunroof and hot and cold seats very much, it is nice to know they are there. The other day I wasn't paying as much attention as I should and alarms went off to tell me I was gaining on the car in front of me too fast!! I also love the adaptive cruise control......it slows and speeds up by itself.
My friend bought a mercedes 250 and is totally jealous as he paid twice as much for much the same features.

Purchased in May 2019 at Hyundai Dealers for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Related Articles
Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Vishal

VishalSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good features, failed DCT engagement

published

The car was fun to drive until 40,000 KMs. I love adaptive cruise control and lane assist. The interior is great and Android Auto and Apple car play is good too.

However, I bought this car because of its 150 kw power and DCT transmission. Unfortunately the car has lost its edge and doesn't drive as it used to be. Took it to dealership and was told that all 4 alloy wheels are bent. They performed the relearn of adaptive values and the car still hasitates during low speed around round about and turns.

Purchased in September 2018 for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ricci

RicciSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 11 likes

Death Trap WARNINING!!

published

Purchased in January 2011 for $2,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Gavman

GavmanPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car for the money and plenty of kit!

published

Purchased in January 2020 at John Hughes Car Sales for $21,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Demetris K.

Demetris K.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Excellent car

published

I use this car for work. It has a kick and good motor.
I drive it every day. Its due for service soon, but seems prefect and can not complain. Very good car

Purchased in January 2020 at Hyundai Dealers for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
wisernow

wisernowGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Reliable with a few faults.

published

Brought the i 30 CW in 2012. No problems so far. It is a diesel so has adequate torque to move the car. Good build quality and finish. No major repairs apart from servicing and replacement of brake pads and an engine mounting. However the drivers seat is not the best design and haven't been able to find the ideal position to suit me. Interior gets very hot even in slightly warm weather as the tinting is not the best. Otherwise no complaints. Reliable and robust.

Purchased in January 2012.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Lara

LaraGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

The design is nice but it's not a robust car

published

I liked the design and features, however the car is very tinny any minor impact results in a big damage. I find the quality of steel is not the same as in German or even most Japanese cars.

Purchased in September 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Pop-up

Pop-upBrisbane

  • 40 reviews
  • 20 likes

Bumpy ride

published

I wasn’t impressed with this car as the ride was very bumpy. Granted, our roads aren’t the best in Australia but with the suspension on this car I felt every bump in the road.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sj W.

Sj W.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great little car

published

This car is the perfect run around car. I don't recommend for families at all. It is quite small trying to get babies in and out, you end up hurting your back.

Smooth driving. Perfect for learner or first cars.

Purchased in February 2015 at Hyundai Dealers for $12,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Zoe D.

Zoe D.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

So happy I went with Hyundai i30

published

This was my first brand new car! I love it
Everyone comments on it
Its amazing value for money and quality!!
I cant believe how big the boot is for a smaller car and its looks are amazing since they updated the model!
Im so happy with it and love driving it!

Purchased in March 2019 at Hyundai Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Nice car until it breaks down

published

The car itself is fine when it works. Nice to drive and great arrange of features.

However, our Hyundai SR has been horribly unreliable in its first year. Car has already broken down twice and sits in the dealership today. Worst of all Hyundai Customer Care is shocking. They deflect all issues to the dealer and all repersentatives I've spoken to are rude.

Don't make the mistake of thinking Hyundai are now world beaters. They still seem to sell unreliable cars with a poor quality of service.

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 2 of 24

Questions & Answers

Deni

Deniasked

i30 PD (2017-2021)

Hyundai i30 2018 model,, after car service and upgrading radio and navigation system, it now doesn’t give verbal alerts ,, like red light camera school zone warning road narrows. Why is this happening..

2 answers
Luiys Reviews
Luiys Reviews

You should check the settings in the navigation system, sometimes the service guys set it to default.

Deni
Deni

We have since been told that the new update doesn’t have verbal alerts, anymore which we aren’t pleased with this !!

joe

joeasked

i30 GD (2012-2016)

Hi what does the red flashing light above the rev camera gd-02 mean

No answers
Kerry

Kerryasked

i30 GD (2012-2016)

The camera cover on my 2015 i30 is jammed in the open position. What causes that to happen?

No answers
See all Hyundai i30 questions

Get an answer from our members

Hyundai i30

Details

Compare all 15 Hyundai i30
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price $23,390$27,790$19,990$32,790
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy17" Alloy16" Steel17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L50 L50 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Engine CodeG4NCG4NCG4NCG4NC
Max Power120kW @ 6200rpm120kW @ 6200rpm120kW @ 6200rpm120kW @ 6200rpm
Max Torque203Nm @ 4700rpm203Nm @ 4700rpm203Nm @ 4700rpm203Nm @ 4700rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Compare all 15 Hyundai i30
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.