15 photos
Hyundai i30

Hyundai i30

GD, FD, PD
4.2 from 348 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.8 (8)
  • Value for Money
    2.5 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.7 (7)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (8)
  • Braking
    3.7 (6)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.3 (6)
  • Gear Shifting
    1.5 (6)
  • Suspension
    3.0 (6)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.0 (6)
  • Handling
    3.2 (6)
  • Interior Design
    3.2 (6)
  • Boot Size
    3.2 (6)
  • Comfort
    3.2 (6)
  • Features
    2.7 (6)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail

I30 Junk - After sales service is worse than the car

published

I purchased the car new. After 2 months it developed creaking noises from the rear. I lost count of the amount of times that I took it back to the dealer. After 4 years of failed attempts for the dealer to try to identify or repair the problem they said they don't know how to fix it and told me to stop bringing the car back. Terrible car. Worse service. Never buy a Hyundai

Purchased in June 2016 for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
peter venz
peter venzSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Rabbit 1. Hyundai I30 Zero.

published

Look it's a great little car for driving around town but today we bit a Rabbit (hare) on the road and the whole front fender smashed to pieces. Never have I seen a car fall apart from hitting a little fluffy rabbit. And the whole front piece needs to be replaced. They need to be built a little stronger surely.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +1Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2016 for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
echo
echo
  • 4 reviews

I should have done more research

published

Purchased in June 2019 for $19,000.00.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sasa S.
Sasa S.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Gearbox problems! Unwilling to deal with the obvious issue!!

published

Nice and friendly people at dealerships, but most likely trained to fend off the more expensive warranty issues. I have been there 3-4 times reporting an obvious issue with the gearbox (dual clutch, 2017 I30 diesel), and every time - 'it is fine', 'it is normal', or even - 'you need to learn to drive a dual clutch car'....

Before purchasing Hyundai, I heard it is one of the best servicing brand in Australia!

Makes me think they want to push it out until not under warranty? And certainly makes me want to go for another brand!

First chance, will post a video of the car shaking and jumping. So you can see for yourself if that is normal. Been driving like that for a good 1.5 years! Disappointing!

Purchased in October 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
NICK
NICKGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews

Safety defect weak structural

published

I have clipped to back of the 2019 hyundai i30 hatch with less than 3km/h( walking pace ) with my 1997 volvo sedan and after the insurance assesment the car has sustained structural damage with nearly 2k in repair bill. With not a single scratch on my cars front bumper in general cars panel are made to absorb and deflect the impact to certain points but in this case such a damage in speed that is less than 5km/h indicates that this car will be complete write off in the speed above 5km/h and not safe at all and should not be on the road at all.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Related Articles
Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next

Failed DCT gearbox and horrible customer service

published

Purchased in June 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ricci
RicciSydney, NSW
  • 10 reviews
  • 11 likes

Death Trap WARNINING!!

published

Purchased in January 2011 for $2,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Paul
PaulSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Bought brand new, had lots of issues with car and dealer. Will never buy Hyundai again.

published

Purchased in March 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
W Smeets
W Smeets
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS - 78,000 km's

published

Purchased in November 2017 for $13,088.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
BWS
BWSCamden NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

2018 SR Premium PD2

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSR Premium
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2018
Alf
AlfGympie

Diesel engine died at 61,000 k.

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCD-Ri
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2018
Harmony
Harmony
  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Worst Car We have ever had

published

We were very excited to be buying our first ever brand new car. What a mistake. We had some initial problems, steering column, radio not working which required a major day at the mechanic. These were within the first 6 months of having it (so was under warranty, but seriously major problems so early on, really??) Since then it has been okay, but now the clutch and gearbox both need replacing. These things do happen but we have had other vehicles over the years and none of them have skipped a beat. Will never by a Hyundai again and probably won't waste our time with brand new either. Such a shame, I don't like to leave a negative review but a car is a major purchase so I feel it is necessary on this occasion.

BodyHatch
BadgeSR
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJuly 2014
Glenn E
Glenn EMelbourne
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

You take our money and leave us with a multi coloured car

published

We have been sold a car with panel damage and now the front of the car is 2 different colours.
3 and a half months on Hyundai’s so called customer service are forcing me to resolve this in V-Cat.

The initial problem was panel damage in the front grille that I was told by the dealer that they had many new i30’s with the same issue, so be careful if you are buying a i30.

PATHETIC CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!!!

BodyX
BadgeSR
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Judith
JudithBrisbane

Transmission issues - gearbox needs to be replaced

published
BodyWagon
BadgeCw
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

BUYER BEWARE

published
BodyWagon
BadgeSX
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSept 2009
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2
See all Hyundai i30 reviews

Questions & Answers

Jan S
Jan Sasked
i30

I have a 2016 Hyundai i30 which I absolutely love. The paint seal seems to be coming off on the rear door handles and the back of the hatch. Has anyone else had this happen? What can I do about it?

2 answers
John C.
John C.

I have a 2015 i30 and the clear coat (paint) is coming off the roof

Jan S
Jan S

Thanks John do you think a cut and polish would fix it? Have you done anything about it or just left it

Deni
Deniasked
i30 PD (2017-2021)

Hyundai i30 2018 model,, after car service and upgrading radio and navigation system, it now doesn’t give verbal alerts ,, like red light camera school zone warning road narrows. Why is this happening..

2 answers
Luiys Reviews
Luiys Reviews

You should check the settings in the navigation system, sometimes the service guys set it to default.

Deni
Deni

We have since been told that the new update doesn’t have verbal alerts, anymore which we aren’t pleased with this !!

joe
joeasked
i30 GD (2012-2016)

Hi what does the red flashing light above the rev camera gd-02 mean

No answers
See all Hyundai i30 questions

Get an answer from our members

Hyundai i30

Details

Compare all 15 Hyundai i30
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price $23,390$27,790$19,990$32,790
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy17" Alloy16" Steel17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L50 L50 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Engine CodeG4NCG4NCG4NCG4NC
Max Power120kW @ 6200rpm120kW @ 6200rpm120kW @ 6200rpm120kW @ 6200rpm
Max Torque203Nm @ 4700rpm203Nm @ 4700rpm203Nm @ 4700rpm203Nm @ 4700rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Compare all 15 Hyundai i30
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.