?
? !
15 photos
Hyundai i30

Hyundai i30

GD, FD, PD
4.2 from 348 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.7 (3)
  • Value for Money
    1.7 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (1)
  • Braking
    4.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.0 (1)
  • Handling
    5.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    3.5 (2)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (2)
  • Comfort
    3.7 (3)
  • Features
    3.5 (2)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Doreenrunner

DoreenrunnerMelbourne

  • 44 reviews
  • 27 likes

Price high design and quality low

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +2Thumbnail
Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pop-up

Pop-upBrisbane

  • 40 reviews
  • 20 likes

Bumpy ride

published

I wasn’t impressed with this car as the ride was very bumpy. Granted, our roads aren’t the best in Australia but with the suspension on this car I felt every bump in the road.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Nice car until it breaks down

published

The car itself is fine when it works. Nice to drive and great arrange of features.

However, our Hyundai SR has been horribly unreliable in its first year. Car has already broken down twice and sits in the dealership today. Worst of all Hyundai Customer Care is shocking. They deflect all issues to the dealer and all repersentatives I've spoken to are rude.

Don't make the mistake of thinking Hyundai are now world beaters. They still seem to sell unreliable cars with a poor quality of service.

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
wannabeepro

wannabeeproSydney, NSW

  • 31 reviews
  • 30 likes

Would I buy a HYUNDAI i30 again? The answer is NO!!!!!

published

Purchased in October 2016 at Hyundai Dealers for $26,000.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
STICKY52

STICKY52AU

  • 7 reviews
  • 9 likes

What is the five year warranty about.

published
BodyHatch
BadgeActive
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Related Articles
Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Katie

KatiePakenham

  • 5 reviews
  • 9 likes

Multiple Recalls, Wiring issues, Breaking issues, Electrical issues and blown trans before 200000ks

published

Purchased car second hand from a mechanic in 2015, it was 2 years old with 115,000ks on it, full service history. Within first year, two major re calls.. The car is great on fuel, 1.6l Turbo Diesel . by 2018 (car is 6 yrs old and only done 150,000ks.. the trans has gone completely... Full replacement is over 3k!!! Issue after issue with the car, only good thing about it is the boot space and the fuel economy. It makes me question how safe they are if the trans can blow driving on the freeway at 60ks...

BodyWagon
BadgeCRDi
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Daz

Daz

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Step up for Hyundai, but same misses let it down.

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSR Premium
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2017

Very disappointed.

published
BodyWagon
BadgeTrophy
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015
Phill Perry

Phill PerryQLD, 4053

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

Not overly impressed!

published

Purchased a 2009 i30 for my son back in 2011. Was in excellent condition with around 20000kms on the clock. Over the next 4 yrs it encountered engine and transmission issues that took months to fix. The head units backlighting failed along with a universal in the steering. Got rid of the car at 40000kms!!

BodyHatch
BadgeSX
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2011
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
virtualphoenix

virtualphoenixSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 13 likes

I30 SR Premium Don't waste your money go to the cheaper one HONESTLY

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSR Premium
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016
abateman

abatemanSydney

Disappointed

published

We have an i30 Station Wagon 2011 and have had clunking noises near the left wheel for the last 6 months and a loud whirring noises on acceleration. We took the car to 2 different mechanics,one in May and August 2016 who were not able to find anything. Went to a third yesterday and they have said there is a lot of movement in the left hand drive shaft and suspect internal failure of the differential. We were told we need a new gear box which could range from $5000 - $6000! The warranty on the car expired on the 30th September 2016, however we have only done 77,000km. We think we should try and make a claim against the warranty...just doesn't seem right. Not what we were expecting from a car with a solid reputation around reliability

BodyWagon
BadgeFD
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2011
sdkha

sdkhaSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

not good enough

published

Bought it new, the 2011 i30 2.0L hatchback in auto. Gearbox was replaced in the first year. Its four years in now and the Muffler is now rattling quite audibly and will be replaced as well. Fuel lid won't pop open properly, even after service techs at hyundai have adjusted. Lucky its still under warranty...
We've been servicing it Phil Gilberts, expensive and poorly done. Have had to return to them three times to get the gearbox sorted properly.
We chose this over the Honda civic and Mazda 3 coz of the price. Maybe stick to Jap cars next time.

Engine Size2.0l
TransmissionAutomatic
RoryB4

RoryB4Sydney

Beware the i30

published

Hyundai have to rebuild my i30 transmission under warranty. It will be in the workshop for 1-2 weeks. Hyundai won't even provide a replacement vehicle whilst my lemon is being rebuilt. Their "customer service" team advised that even though i purchased the top of their range model, it was not enough good will from me to warrant a replacement vehicle to use during the two weeks. Bye bye Hyundai.
Stylish design
Poor acceleration, sounds like a lawn mower.

Engine Size2.0l
5 comments
Sam01
Sam01

What year model is your car?

belbel
belbel

what year is it?

RoryB4
RoryB4

Its a 2009 model.

disappointed1818

disappointed1818CANBERRA

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

I30 Sportwagon - hmmmmmm getting over it!

published

The car has been good however I have had significant problems with the transmission and have had the driver door handle fly off never to be seen again twice now...both issues making the car unroadworthy...Not Happy Jan...getting these issues resolved has been a problem in itself trying to co-ordinate and get fixes authorised under warranty.

Engine Size2ltre petrol
Transmissionauto
My2010

My2010Brisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Ok car

published
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionManual
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2
See all Hyundai i30 reviews

Questions & Answers

Deni

Deniasked

i30 PD (2017-2021)

Hyundai i30 2018 model,, after car service and upgrading radio and navigation system, it now doesn’t give verbal alerts ,, like red light camera school zone warning road narrows. Why is this happening..

2 answers
Luiys Reviews
Luiys Reviews

You should check the settings in the navigation system, sometimes the service guys set it to default.

Deni
Deni

We have since been told that the new update doesn’t have verbal alerts, anymore which we aren’t pleased with this !!

joe

joeasked

i30 GD (2012-2016)

Hi what does the red flashing light above the rev camera gd-02 mean

No answers
Kerry

Kerryasked

i30 GD (2012-2016)

The camera cover on my 2015 i30 is jammed in the open position. What causes that to happen?

No answers
See all Hyundai i30 questions

Get an answer from our members

Hyundai i30

Details

Compare all 15 Hyundai i30
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price $23,390$27,790$19,990$32,790
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy17" Alloy16" Steel17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L50 L50 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Engine CodeG4NCG4NCG4NCG4NC
Max Power120kW @ 6200rpm120kW @ 6200rpm120kW @ 6200rpm120kW @ 6200rpm
Max Torque203Nm @ 4700rpm203Nm @ 4700rpm203Nm @ 4700rpm203Nm @ 4700rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Compare all 15 Hyundai i30
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.