15 photos
Hyundai i30

Hyundai i30

GD, FD, PD
4.2 from 348 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (8)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (7)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (7)
  • Braking
    4.1 (8)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.5 (8)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.8 (8)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (8)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (8)
  • Handling
    3.9 (7)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (8)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (8)
  • Comfort
    3.4 (8)
  • Features
    4.3 (8)
Previous
Next
Simon
SimonChristchurch, NZ
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Has its good and bad points

published

Purchased in January 2020 for $15,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
zknight
zknightSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 32 reviews
  • 33 likes

Great car, heaps of features, but horrible programming/tech

published

Purchased in March 2020 for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Vishal
VishalSydney, NSW
  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good features, failed DCT engagement

published

The car was fun to drive until 40,000 KMs. I love adaptive cruise control and lane assist. The interior is great and Android Auto and Apple car play is good too.

However, I bought this car because of its 150 kw power and DCT transmission. Unfortunately the car has lost its edge and doesn't drive as it used to be. Took it to dealership and was told that all 4 alloy wheels are bent. They performed the relearn of adaptive values and the car still hasitates during low speed around round about and turns.

Purchased in September 2018 for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
wisernow
wisernowGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Reliable with a few faults.

published

Brought the i 30 CW in 2012. No problems so far. It is a diesel so has adequate torque to move the car. Good build quality and finish. No major repairs apart from servicing and replacement of brake pads and an engine mounting. However the drivers seat is not the best design and haven't been able to find the ideal position to suit me. Interior gets very hot even in slightly warm weather as the tinting is not the best. Otherwise no complaints. Reliable and robust.

Purchased in January 2012.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Lara
LaraGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

The design is nice but it's not a robust car

published

I liked the design and features, however the car is very tinny any minor impact results in a big damage. I find the quality of steel is not the same as in German or even most Japanese cars.

Purchased in September 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Related Articles
Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Ivy
IvySydney, NSW

Peeling steering wheel

published

My car is used on a daily basis for private use and I am the only driver.
I haven't even done 50,000kms in my car and I am having this problem with my peeling steering wheel.
My car is serviced regularly by the same mechanic.

Purchased in March 2014 for $22,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Compact space efficient hatch

published
BodyHatch
BadgeActive
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2019

Very ordinary car

published
BodyHatch
BadgeActive
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2013
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

i30 is Ok..well sort of

published
BodyHatch
BadgeActive X
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2015
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Galaxy
GalaxySydney
  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

Reliability is generally good. Ride quality and Infotainment system horrible

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
hs
hs
  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

Under Power

published

i30 Petrol wagin is a very good make but I wish it had bit more juice under the bonnet. The engine of 1.6L is just a touch low in the grunt. I wish, it was 2.0L. Otherwise, it has great electronics and good fuel consumption at about 8.5L/100km in urban!
I wonder how Hyundai will compete with next version of Corolla!

BodyWagon
BadgeActive
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Beardy Bonce
Beardy BonceSydney, NSW
  • 20 reviews
  • 14 likes

Good.... but not great

published

Purchased in March 2018 at Hyundai Dealers for $28,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
2 comments
Beardy Bonce
Beardy Bonce
Beardy Bonce
Beardy Bonce
terry
terrySouth Australia
  • 13 reviews
  • 9 likes

Disapointed

published
BodyHatch
BadgeActive
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
js1
js1Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 9 reviews

Good Car except for Warranty Issues.

published

Generally a good car, haven't had too much troubles with the car aside for issues with the radio and audio system. I've had it repaired once already, and is continuing to have the same issue. It appears to be a known issue and am now just waiting for another refurbished radio.

BodyHatch
BadgeActive
Engine Size1.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Dammit
DammitSydney, NSW
  • 6 reviews

i30 average car..

published

The i30 is basically an average vehicle to get you from A to B. Boot storage is good (hatch option can fit a reasonable size pram), but if you want to fit bikes etc - it won't be very suitable.

Fuel consumption is best for city driving. On highways it guzzles the petrol.

I have had a few things break and need replacing under warranty, the main one being the power window mechanism snapped and needed replacing. It was a bit difficult to get Hyundai to sort it out promptly.

Capped price servicing is a bonus but again, some minor issues with Hyundai.

All in all, an average, solid performing car.

BodyHatch
BadgeTrophy
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2014
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2
See all Hyundai i30 reviews

Questions & Answers

Jan S
Jan Sasked
i30

I have a 2016 Hyundai i30 which I absolutely love. The paint seal seems to be coming off on the rear door handles and the back of the hatch. Has anyone else had this happen? What can I do about it?

2 answers
John C.
John C.

I have a 2015 i30 and the clear coat (paint) is coming off the roof

Jan S
Jan S

Thanks John do you think a cut and polish would fix it? Have you done anything about it or just left it

Deni
Deniasked
i30 PD (2017-2021)

Hyundai i30 2018 model,, after car service and upgrading radio and navigation system, it now doesn’t give verbal alerts ,, like red light camera school zone warning road narrows. Why is this happening..

2 answers
Luiys Reviews
Luiys Reviews

You should check the settings in the navigation system, sometimes the service guys set it to default.

Deni
Deni

We have since been told that the new update doesn’t have verbal alerts, anymore which we aren’t pleased with this !!

joe
joeasked
i30 GD (2012-2016)

Hi what does the red flashing light above the rev camera gd-02 mean

No answers
See all Hyundai i30 questions

Get an answer from our members

Hyundai i30

Details

Compare all 15 Hyundai i30
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price $23,390$27,790$19,990$32,790
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy17" Alloy16" Steel17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L50 L50 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Engine CodeG4NCG4NCG4NCG4NC
Max Power120kW @ 6200rpm120kW @ 6200rpm120kW @ 6200rpm120kW @ 6200rpm
Max Torque203Nm @ 4700rpm203Nm @ 4700rpm203Nm @ 4700rpm203Nm @ 4700rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Compare all 15 Hyundai i30
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.