15 photos
Hyundai i30

Hyundai i30

GD, FD, PD
4.2 from 348 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.9 (9)
  • Value for Money
    4.6 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (9)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (8)
  • Braking
    4.6 (7)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.4 (7)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (6)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (6)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.1 (7)
  • Handling
    4.3 (7)
  • Interior Design
    4.1 (7)
  • Boot Size
    4.4 (7)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (7)
  • Features
    4.3 (7)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
luke
lukemelbourne
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good cheap runabout

published

Purchased for $21,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
i30 Driver
i30 DriverHunter Region, NSW

Much better than expected

published

Bought the car, a 2007 build 2.0 litre petrol 5 speed manual hatch just over a year ago with about 315,000 km up. Now at 325,000 kays. Going well, no real problems. Good reliable vehicle and fairly economical - just under 7L/100k fuel consumption.
Handles quite well and is fairly nippy on the road.
Engine is powerful enough without being amazing.
Clutch and gearbox pretty good, gearbox much better after an oil change.
Pretty roomy inside and carries big stuff without problems thru the hatch and folding rear seats.
Didn't cost much so I didn't expect much but it's been way better than I would've believed.
Good little car.

Purchased in October 2019 at Facebook Marketplace for $3,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Sj W.
Sj W.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great little car

published

This car is the perfect run around car. I don't recommend for families at all. It is quite small trying to get babies in and out, you end up hurting your back.

Smooth driving. Perfect for learner or first cars.

Purchased in February 2015 at Hyundai Dealers for $12,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Vin
VinGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 30 reviews
  • 5 likes

Smooth driving...

published

It has a spacious boot load capacity and the features are very useful and it’s recommended for a family who loves travelling even in long trips carrying a lot of baggage.

  • Thumbnail
Build Quality
Value for Money
GiG
GiGVIC, 3109
  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Running good since 2010

published

In the beginning, I under estimate Korean car. I bought SLX 2.0L Fuel model that came with leather steering cover and leather gear handle.
It's been 9 years still running great. low maintenance service. Big space for luggage.
The fuel ratio is around 10/100KM.

Related Articles
Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Edocs
Edocs
  • 2 reviews

It’s a good everyday vehicle.

published

My organisation has the Hyundai i30 as their company car of choice. It’s quite comfortable and the CarPlay feature is great, especially for my iPhone and the longer drives. It’s relatively economical for a car of its size.

Purchased in July 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
fook
fookSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

ticks all the boxes except one

published

I love this car, has features that are helpful like the speed camera warnings. I use the car for Ubering so fuel cost are noticeably higher. At start of refueling you can reset the mileage use per full tank, it reads around 643km but at best I get
480kms. Eco mode and normal mode makes no difference so I drive in normal to get the car's full power out of it, Eco mode restricts the acceleration resulting in cars behind are tailgating at times. Otherwise would definitely recommend this car.

Purchased in January 2019 for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Michael
MichaelSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews

Good car but disappointing Hyundai Customer Care

published

My Hyundai I30 has done 45,000km and at its' service I noticed a paint defect (see photo) on the column behind the driver's seat. The Hyundai dealer sent photos to Hyundai and I communicated with their Customer Care as well. Two panel beaters said the defect was due to "exteranl influences" - ? rubbing. I have driven for more than 50 years and have never had this issue before. The only thing I can guess as a possible cause was the seat belt flicking back and hitting this column when released, when the car was new.
Hyundai have declined to assist me in any way. The repair will cost $150. Their attitude is disappointing as I do not feel that I have caused the defect by recklessness or lack of care.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in April 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Reasons
ReasonsAdelaide
  • 14 reviews
  • 21 likes

Really Good Car for the Money!

published

Purchased in January 2018 at Adrian Brien Hyundai for $22,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great little car!

published

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Justin
Justin
  • 26 reviews
  • 1 like

Great little car, a few minor issues however

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSR
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Rachel
RachelBrisbane

Great car, I love it!

published

The 2017 I30 has proven to be a great little car, I get approximately 9L of fuel to every 100kms. The seats are comfy, it has great Bluetooth and steering wheel accessories. It shows you tyre pressures and has warning lights when they get low. I have only had one service so far and there was no issues. The only downfall I can point out is the GPS device, the issue with this is it does not recognise a lot of addresses, even addresses that are old and should be on there. Overall I would give it 4 stars (would be 5 if the GPS Was more efficient)

BodyHatch
BadgeActive
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Sohel
SohelSydney
  • 15 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great car but still can be improved!

published

I bought this car brand new in 2016. It’s great little car with lots of boot space and leg rooms. But not enough power and torque!! On the highway and up the hill with 3 adults on board this car really short of breath! And the road noise from the tyre is little annoying. Apart from this two issues, it’s a fantastic car.

BodyHatch
BadgeActive X
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Over it
Over it
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Enjoying the vehicle

published

We purchased the car due to needing a runabout rather than rely on the family vehicle. We haven't been disappointed. Cheap on fuel, travels well. Suits the drops offs and pick ups along with taking the kids to their after school and weekend activities. Nothing but praise. Enjoy the experience.

BodyHatch
BadgeActive
Engine Size1.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Lorax1
Lorax1Geelong
  • 4 reviews

Great fuel economy

published

Rented this on a recent trip to Brisbane - Wowo I loved it. Boy has this brand come along since I was a kid and they are getting into the performance side of things with the N series too now which are rivalling VW Golf. I really couldn't fault the car in any way - perhaps finish quality on some of the internal surfaces if you pushed me but it was not a problem. Mine was an auto an it was getting under 6l per100kms on the freeway - outstanding!

BodyHatch
BadgeActive
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 5
See all Hyundai i30 reviews

Questions & Answers

Jan S
Jan Sasked
i30

I have a 2016 Hyundai i30 which I absolutely love. The paint seal seems to be coming off on the rear door handles and the back of the hatch. Has anyone else had this happen? What can I do about it?

2 answers
John C.
John C.

I have a 2015 i30 and the clear coat (paint) is coming off the roof

Jan S
Jan S

Thanks John do you think a cut and polish would fix it? Have you done anything about it or just left it

Deni
Deniasked
i30 PD (2017-2021)

Hyundai i30 2018 model,, after car service and upgrading radio and navigation system, it now doesn’t give verbal alerts ,, like red light camera school zone warning road narrows. Why is this happening..

2 answers
Luiys Reviews
Luiys Reviews

You should check the settings in the navigation system, sometimes the service guys set it to default.

Deni
Deni

We have since been told that the new update doesn’t have verbal alerts, anymore which we aren’t pleased with this !!

joe
joeasked
i30 GD (2012-2016)

Hi what does the red flashing light above the rev camera gd-02 mean

No answers
See all Hyundai i30 questions

Get an answer from our members

Hyundai i30

Details

Compare all 15 Hyundai i30
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price $23,390$27,790$19,990$32,790
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy17" Alloy16" Steel17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L50 L50 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Engine CodeG4NCG4NCG4NCG4NC
Max Power120kW @ 6200rpm120kW @ 6200rpm120kW @ 6200rpm120kW @ 6200rpm
Max Torque203Nm @ 4700rpm203Nm @ 4700rpm203Nm @ 4700rpm203Nm @ 4700rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Compare all 15 Hyundai i30
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.