15 photos
Hyundai i30

Hyundai i30

GD, FD, PD
4.2 from 348 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.8 (29)
  • Value for Money
    4.9 (32)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.9 (31)
  • Noise Level
    4.6 (29)
  • Braking
    4.9 (31)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.7 (31)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.8 (29)
  • Suspension
    4.8 (30)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.6 (29)
  • Handling
    4.9 (29)
  • Interior Design
    4.7 (31)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (31)
  • Comfort
    4.8 (31)
  • Features
    4.8 (31)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Luiys Reviews
Luiys Reviews Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Probably the best car I’ve ever had

published

Purchased in January 2012.

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Geoff
GeoffFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Really good buy for the money!

published

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
B. Johnson
B. JohnsonSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very good and simple car

published

Great car that has been easy to drive and own for the last year. The base engine still has enough power and is fuel efficient. Not too expensive to buy.

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Blako
Blako
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car for a great price

published

Have the manual version of this car and it's a pretty good all rounder. It can run on 91 which is odd for a turbo and I was able to get a brand new one for $24k so the value has held up really well.

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Culprit
CulpritGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Next Level Hyundai

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2021 at Berwick Hyundai for $34,094.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Related Articles
Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Little Alexei
Little AlexeiSydney, NSW

What a nice surprise!

published

Purchased in August 2020 at Col Crawford.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Alex
AlexSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car and never misses a beat

published

I use this car to travel to work and home. Also family transport. It never stops. Service it every 10000kms. It is built well, very reliable and very comfortable. Has all the bells and whistles even though it is the base model. . I just replace factory tyres 6 months ago(Bury in mind we are in November 2020 now and I bought it in 2015). I have never replaced the factory brake pads as of yet. It doesn't use a drop of oil. I would recommend this car to anyone who want a reliable hatch back. It has a little 1.8 litre petrol engine and a 6 speed automatic.

Purchased in November 2015 at Hyundai Dealers for $22,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Caitlin W
Caitlin WGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Long term owner, no regrets!

published

Have owned my 2016 activex since new and it has been amazing. I have had no mechanical issues with the car, and have been impressed with servicing through Hyundai as each service has been the exact capped cost with no surprises! Had a slight issue early on with carplay/Bluetooth and bad call quality, however this was rectified promptly with a software update within the cars system. Car drives beautiful both in the city and country highways, nice and quiet and smooth. Very happy with the car and plan on keeping it (even though when I purchased I intended to upgrade at the 4-5 year mark). Boot is very spacious and the flat fold rear seats have been very handy when moving house and could fit large items such as a TV cabinet and hall table!

Purchased in December 2016 for $20,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
brizzyguy2000
brizzyguy2000South East Queensland, QLD

As good as a mercedes.

published

I bought a 2018 2Litre premium and I love it. I came out of a 1994 Falcon which didn't have all the bells and whistles my i30 has. I love all the safety features.....Although I don't use my sunroof and hot and cold seats very much, it is nice to know they are there. The other day I wasn't paying as much attention as I should and alarms went off to tell me I was gaining on the car in front of me too fast!! I also love the adaptive cruise control......it slows and speeds up by itself.
My friend bought a mercedes 250 and is totally jealous as he paid twice as much for much the same features.

Purchased in May 2019 at Hyundai Dealers for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gavman
GavmanPerth, WA
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car for the money and plenty of kit!

published

Purchased in January 2020 at John Hughes Car Sales for $21,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Demetris K.
Demetris K.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Excellent car

published

I use this car for work. It has a kick and good motor.
I drive it every day. Its due for service soon, but seems prefect and can not complain. Very good car

Purchased in January 2020 at Hyundai Dealers for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Zoe D.
Zoe D.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 4 reviews

So happy I went with Hyundai i30

published

This was my first brand new car! I love it
Everyone comments on it
Its amazing value for money and quality!!
I cant believe how big the boot is for a smaller car and its looks are amazing since they updated the model!
Im so happy with it and love driving it!

Purchased in March 2019 at Hyundai Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
ibfragalot
ibfragalotVictoria
  • 14 reviews
  • 3 likes

i30 N Performance - WOW.

published

Incredible car.
+ Over 200kw hot hatch for just 42k on the road
+ Drives like a regular i30 when commuting, then hit N mode, and ___WHAM!!!!____ it just LAUNCHES.
+ Fixed price service for life of car (relatively cheap)
+ Great quality interior
+ Has been reliable so far (12k)
+ Economical, even when sticking the boot in occasionally
+ Kids love it. Perhaps a little too much!
+ Does'nt "stand out", a definite sleeper.
- Did have a wiring issue early on, seatbelt reminder kept going 'bing bing' when I hit a bump, drove me crazy, but Hyundai service team fixed it after 3 short visits (all planned as they worked through simple to more complex troubleshooting processes, which was understandable)

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in April 2019 at Hyundai Dealers for $40,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Byron N.
Byron N.Western Australia
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

The Europe factor without the Euro poverty, my initial impressions.

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
redly
redlyCentral Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

BEST CAR YET

published

Value for money Good warranty Great on fuel Good resale value and Just a totally great family car I have had mine since 2010 and its the family car we use daily

Purchased in January 2010 for $24,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Hatchbacks

Find out how Hyundai i30 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 14
See all Hyundai i30 reviews

Questions & Answers

Jan S
Jan Sasked
i30

I have a 2016 Hyundai i30 which I absolutely love. The paint seal seems to be coming off on the rear door handles and the back of the hatch. Has anyone else had this happen? What can I do about it?

2 answers
John C.
John C.

I have a 2015 i30 and the clear coat (paint) is coming off the roof

Jan S
Jan S

Thanks John do you think a cut and polish would fix it? Have you done anything about it or just left it

Deni
Deniasked
i30 PD (2017-2021)

Hyundai i30 2018 model,, after car service and upgrading radio and navigation system, it now doesn’t give verbal alerts ,, like red light camera school zone warning road narrows. Why is this happening..

2 answers
Luiys Reviews
Luiys Reviews

You should check the settings in the navigation system, sometimes the service guys set it to default.

Deni
Deni

We have since been told that the new update doesn’t have verbal alerts, anymore which we aren’t pleased with this !!

joe
joeasked
i30 GD (2012-2016)

Hi what does the red flashing light above the rev camera gd-02 mean

No answers
See all Hyundai i30 questions

Get an answer from our members

Hyundai i30

Details

Compare all 15 Hyundai i30
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price $23,390$27,790$19,990$32,790
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy17" Alloy16" Steel17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km7.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L50 L50 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Engine CodeG4NCG4NCG4NCG4NC
Max Power120kW @ 6200rpm120kW @ 6200rpm120kW @ 6200rpm120kW @ 6200rpm
Max Torque203Nm @ 4700rpm203Nm @ 4700rpm203Nm @ 4700rpm203Nm @ 4700rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Compare all 15 Hyundai i30
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.