3 photos
Hyundai iMax TQ-W

Hyundai iMax TQ-W (2008-2022)

Also referred to as: Hyundai iMax TQ-W 2021 and Hyundai iMax TQ-W 2023.
3.9 from 40 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best People Movers in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Hyundai

Reviews

Previous
Clear all
Next
Anon
AnonSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Good engine poor plastic

published

We bought this car in 2014 and recently we started having issues where the dashboard fascia crashed and started to fall apart, cup holder also broke in the second year or so, power outlet socket came off in the third year.

I've also been extremely disappointed with the service centre where I take the car to get maintenance done but that's a different story.

The pros of this car is the space and and engine reliability.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mongrel
MongrelPerth

blown injectors therefore blown engine

published

anyone have a similar problem? imax less than 70,000km blown injectors and had to have the engine rebuilt. Always serviced with Hyundai around 15,000-17,000km traveled per year. It was less than a year out of warranty and their "Customers, we dont Care" department said bad luck out of warranty, When issue was escalated (which took around 2 months to talk to a so called manager) they then said bad luck because I authorised the repair!! Never have I had such an ordinary experience with a manufacturer and vow that there will be no Hyundais in my shed ever again. So to let everyone know about this issue and caveat emptor

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Unexplained engine problem

published

Bought a 2014 IMAX which went fine for around 18 months. Inexplicably the fuel consumption has completely fallen off a cliff. We're now getting around 450kms per 70 litre tank. That's 15.5 litres per 100km. Nothing like the manufacturers specs. That's also using 98 octane fuel. The service centre is telling us all the diagnostics are all clear. They are helpful but this feels like a time bomb ticking on a dud vehicle.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
HPLB
HPLBSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Another blown turbo and ceased engine victim!

published
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2011
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
People Movers

Find out how Hyundai iMax TQ-W compares to other People Movers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Renae.c
Renae.cshellcove

So many good features but terrible problems

published

Bought imax at 57,000km and it's been fantastic. Run it on 98 fuel. All of a sudden the power just cuts out when I've been making a turn. Scary. Starts again and away it goes. 84,000km all.of a sudden the check engine light came on. Used all the oil and has low power. Mechanic is baffled. Computer said crankshaft sensor and some other sensor. Both replaced. Still coming up with same computer messages and still has no get up and go. Help!

TransmissionAutomatic
Renae.c
Renae.c

Lucky we have a great mechanic who dealt with an equally matched engineer. New timing chain $1600 later problem fixed. Happy days bus is all good again.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Clutch Problems with 75000km

published

75000km and the clutch is gone, have been told by Hyundai this is wear & tear cost $7050.00 big and lots of room but never again I am going to have an Hyundai. Reading the forums it looks like it is hit and miss if you purchase a Hyundai. Do your homework.

TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Adam 78
Adam 78Sydney

Was...The Best Family Vehicle

published
Transmissionmanual
Adam 78
Adam 78
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next

Unreliable but roomy

published
TransmissionAuto
Martin
Martin

We are looking for cruise control included and have not looked at this van because it does not consider driver comforts.

Mike_Hunt
Mike_Hunt

We hired one for a day from Airlie Beach and it was great for us, so much so that I was considering buying one.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

60000problems

published

We had one of these cars as a taxi we had high hopes for it however at 60000klms we had heaps of trouble with injectors turbo and general motor probs. We had another taxi owner ring us and he had the same kind of problems. We had to take it off the road after 1 year it was costing too much in repairs.
Heaps of luggage space and people space
too expensive

David G.
David G.

Was it not covered by warranty? because it was a taxi? also what did you end up using instead? how is that going.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
People Movers

Find out how Hyundai iMax TQ-W compares to other People Movers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Colin G.
Colin G.asked

The lights on the gears have stopped working on my 2016 Imax , can someone tell me if this is just a fuse issue or something bigger?

No answers
Jodi B.
Jodi B.asked

What is the real word fuel consumption of the petrol versus diesel?

What is the real world servicing costs of the petrol versus diesel?

Looking at one for rideshare and do about 5,000klms a month.

2 answers
TerryC
TerryC

Here in Australia they are only Diesel, and with normal driving give approx 10litres per 100km.

Jodi B.
Jodi B.

There are petrol and diesel in the prior models. The new vehicles are diesel only.

Mark
Markasked

I have a 2015 imax, I’m trying to remove the sliding tracks out of the floor from the muddy row of seats. I have removed the two star headed screws but still not budging. What else do I have to do??? HELP

No answers
See all Hyundai iMax TQ-W (2008-2022) questions

Get an answer from our members and Hyundai representatives

Details

CategoryPeople Movers
Release dateJan 2008
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.