3 photos
Hyundai iMax TQ-W

Hyundai iMax TQ-W (2008-2021)

Also referred to as: Hyundai iMax TQ-W 2020 and Hyundai iMax TQ-W 2022.
3.9 from 40 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best People Movers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Hyundai

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.7 (3)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (2)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (3)
  • Braking
    4.7 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.7 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.7 (3)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.7 (3)
  • Handling
    4.7 (3)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (3)
  • Boot Size
    4.7 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.7 (3)
  • Features
    4.3 (3)
Previous
Next
jules
julesMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • Verified

Happy Hyundai Customer

published

We have this model of Hyundai Imax and we think its brilliant.Used as an about town family van ,uses only unleaded which is great as it has a large tank so we get two weeks running around use out of it.smooth to drive and ease of manoeurvering.Have done all log book servicing through Hyundai which i reccomend.Overall a lovely family vehicle..julie williams

Purchased in January 2019 at Clint's Farm Fresh Produce for $24,000.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Hyundai mum
Hyundai mumSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Great for a big family !!

published

Great for a big family, i have plated 2013 brought early 2014, ive owned since New, never skipped a beat and never let me down . Great to drive & even fits a double mountain buggy in the boot sideways while set up!! a god send with the Twins. Great Mummy van !!

Purchased for $41,990.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Other People Movers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
stop the goats
stop the goatsperth
  • 41 reviews
  • 19 likes

I love my imax

published

Purchased in May 2018 for $20,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
stop the goats
stop the goats
Ruth
Ruth
  • 11 reviews
  • 19 likes

Great spacious car

published
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2017
People Movers

Find out how Hyundai iMax TQ-W compares to other People Movers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JimmyJ
JimmyJNewcastle, NSW
  • 22 reviews
  • 20 likes

The diesel iMax is a great thing. Highly recommended

published
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2015
Cathee
Cathee
  • 5 reviews
  • 11 likes

Great car for tranpoorting people in confort

published

I drove an iMax for several years and found it to be very reliable and easy to drive in all weather. I would often drive the iMax with 7 adult passengers and found there was plenty of space and that it drove well. The only thing I would like to see improved is the very back seats do not fold down to make more room for large items needed to be transported.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2012

Unexplained engine problem

published

Bought a 2014 IMAX which went fine for around 18 months. Inexplicably the fuel consumption has completely fallen off a cliff. We're now getting around 450kms per 70 litre tank. That's 15.5 litres per 100km. Nothing like the manufacturers specs. That's also using 98 octane fuel. The service centre is telling us all the diagnostics are all clear. They are helpful but this feels like a time bomb ticking on a dud vehicle.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
How to be more eco-friendly when you're gifting this Christmas

Christmas seems to go hand in hand with consumption, but that doesn’t mean you can’t be eco-friendly with your gift giving. We’ve got tips for everything from shopping sustainably to zero-waste packaging, so that you can have a greener holiday season.

Clara V.
Clara V.30 Nov 2021
how-to-be-more-eco-friendly-when-youre-gifting-this-christmas
Next
Richard
RichardButler
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic people mover

published

Feels like a car to drive. I've fitted aftermarket cruise control, sunroofs, leather seats and is like nothing available in the market today. Excellent space for 8 people and all imaginable luggage. Fantastic car. Hyundai should offer it in Australia with the Starex Royale finishing also... With the second row captain chairs swivel seats also...

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2015

Other People Movers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
foxvally81
foxvally81Sydney, NSW
  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great Van

published

Drives well - long van but turning circle is excellent in tight spaces - very comfortable and powerful turbo diesel motor perfectly matched to the auto gearbox. Apart from regular service haven't had any problems or cost. Very cheap to run this van. Basic bells and I fitted cruise control after market ($800).
Its my mobile office and it's great to sit up high in Sydney traffic.
Highly recommended.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2011
People Movers

Find out how Hyundai iMax TQ-W compares to other People Movers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nunnington
NunningtonTennant Creek
  • 2 reviews

Very happy

published

Our iMax is now just running out of warranty after 5 years of great service. We are extremely happy with the 130 thousand clicks of work this diesel has done for our large family. I'm still amazed at the power and economy this motor produces. Only problem we have had was at 4 years and 10 months old the a/c blew a compressor. No questions asked, problem was fixed under warranty. I wish there was a new model on the market as I would seriously consider going again with another but the slightly dated look and the lack of mod cons will probably mean we will go with something else.

TransmissionManual

Exceeded Expectations

published

I was dreading having to make the transition to a people mover until I found the Imax. It powers up the hills and handles the corners with ease. Turns on a dime and tows without a whimper. Tyres are expensive to replace. Loving the full sized seats throughout. All it.

TransmissionAutomatic

Other People Movers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Very Good Choice would buy another

published
TransmissionAutomatic
People Movers

Find out how Hyundai iMax TQ-W compares to other People Movers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
a fan now
a fan nowAU
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

exceeded expectations

published
Transmissionauto
Kell Jay
Kell Jay

If you take out the back seats, would it be big enough to fit a single mattress in the back?

Hotglueman
Hotglueman

Imax work and play

published

Having driven Kia, Mitsubishi and chrysler Voyageur, I am extremely happy with the IMAX, Plenty of room. Told to buy the diesel by the dealer, better performance, no problem on the highway hills, does not miss a beat. Great family vehicle

Only faults in my book, barely hear the indicator, and told that the way it is, no Cruise control, would have liked the 9th bench seat in front, and an inbuilt navman would be good

Other than that absolutely fabulous, most practicle vehicle I have owned, and 2 of my other cars are mercs
Reliabilty, room and performnce, lots of space for luggage behind the back seat to accomodate many more suitcases than my voyaguer
lack of cruise, navman and extra quiet indicator

TransmissionAutomatic
CJY
CJY
Martin
Martin

No cruise no buy - not even a test drive for me

Jon from the Gong
Jon from the GongWOLLONGONG
  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Its a weapon

published

We have had our iMax for about 1 year now and it is brilliant. First trip it carried 8 people to the snow, with food and skiis! It is amazing how much stuff you can get in the boot - unlike many other 8 seaters which take a pram and that is about all. The turbo diesel engine pulls well and carries you effortlessly down the freeway at the speed limit quietly. When pushed it will even climb the snowy mountains with ease. It also pulls our caravan up steep hills (not fast but it gets there).

My only niggle is that the little plastic bits fall off - you know those bits that cover screws etc. It does not have too many bells and whistles. It is a big vehicle that carries heaps and plenty of go!
Overall build quality and powerful engine

TransmissionAuto
ray winstanley
ray winstanley

Our IMax now 4 years 102000k it is rubbish motor shot .chew out tyres would not rec to buy.

Greg Floyd
Greg Floyd

Mine is a diesel also - 18 months on (now over 5 yrs old) and still going strong. So smooth and car like compared to the Ford Transit minibus I drove recently!

Questions & Answers

Shane A.
Shane A.asked

How much is the back seats worth alone if you take it out

1 answer
TerryC
TerryC

Don't have a clue because we use ours.

Shane A.
Shane A.asked

How much are the seats worth that you can take of an imax wagon

No answers
Turtle
Turtleasked

Hi I am removing rear roof liner in a Imax 2014 to convert to a camper. Have removed side trims, clips, handles and seatbelts. Liner is lose but won’t drop. Is it glued to aircon ducts ect or are the lights holding it up. If so how do I sort this out please? Mark

1 answer
jules
jules

Sorry i wouldnt know the answer to that but you could refer to manufacturer.

See all Hyundai iMax TQ-W (2008-2021) questions

Get an answer from our members and Hyundai representatives

Details

CategoryPeople Movers
Release dateJan 2008
Visit official website

Other People Movers

Previous
Next
See all People Movers

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.