13 photos
Hyundai Kona OS (Petrol)

Hyundai Kona OS (Petrol) (2017-2022)

Also referred to as: Hyundai Kona OS (Petrol) 2021 and Hyundai Kona OS (Petrol) 2023. 2WD 2.0L Petrol, AWD 1.6L Petrol (See All)
4.2 from 33 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Small / Compact SUVs in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Hyundai

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.6 (20)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (20)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.9 (18)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (18)
  • Braking
    4.8 (19)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.6 (20)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (16)
  • Suspension
    4.7 (20)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.6 (21)
  • Handling
    4.7 (20)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (21)
  • Boot Size
    3.6 (21)
  • Comfort
    4.8 (20)
  • Features
    4.6 (20)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Dot J
Dot JGippsland, VIC

Disappointing customer service re cruise control

published

My Kona 2018 cruise control does Not hold its selected speed. Set at 103 and it can get up to 109 without any reason, ie travelling down hill. I have complained with the statement, “ because my Kona is bottom of the range, the cruise control is bottom of the range”.

Purchased in August 2018.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pepita
PepitaSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 10 reviews
  • 16 likes

Fantastic Car!!

published

Absolutely love this fun small SUV! I looked at all the Chinese offerings including the Haval H6 and MG ZST before looking at the Kona Active and I’m so glad I got the Kona instead of the other two. The Kona smarts just felt more tuned to Australian conditions. The Haval and MG need more refinement. The Kona is very economical to drive and love that you’re not forced to use the expensive premium R95 unleaded petrol. The only negative I can think of is the lack of a multi-band audio equaliser in the multimedia system and perhaps a smaller than average boot size. Other than that it’s just an amazing car to drive.

Purchased in September 2021 at Hyundai Dealers for $31,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
June
JuneGippsland, VIC
  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Exceptional motor vehicle

published

Our Kona is used daily for shopping and general driving. It is extremely economical. We get the car serviced by Hyundai as directed and there have never been any issues.

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Mikef50
Mikef50Sydney, NSW
  • 146 reviews
  • 56 likes

Small SUV Fully Loaded

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Suttons for $37,999.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Hyundai Kona OS (Petrol) compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Noozybooshka
NoozybooshkaPeel, WA
  • 7 reviews

This car is such a good car

published

Drives good on the road has that extra zip needed for highway driving. Coasts along on big trips. Smooth ride. Love how the seats wrap around my back making me feel secure. I love all the safety features as well. Fuel wise I get 700+kms per tank fill. It’s roomy for me but my back seat passengers say there isn’t enough room. Only because they are all tall and long legged. But I don’t care cos for me it’s perfect

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rachel T
Rachel THunter Region, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

This car has the space a family of 4 needs, including my tall husband, it's easy to drive and maintain

published

I use my kona on a daily basis
It's serviced every 15000km
No break downs or faults in the 3 years I've owned it
The back seat is the perfect space for kids.
The back seats fold down

Purchased in February 2018 at Hyundai Dealers for $24,999.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
The Meerkat
The MeerkatVictoria
  • 8 reviews
  • 9 likes

Love the car BUT customer care sucks.

published

I bought my Kona a couple of months ago and it has been great. However the windscreen was cracked by a stone and it has been a NIGHTMARE getting a new windscreen for it. It has to come from Perth to Melbourne. And it will take 1 - 2 weeks. I was promised twice by Customer Care that I would be given an ETA for the screen. No response! I think my new Kona is a fine vehicle but there is no way I would recommend people buy one - Hyandai may not have parts if it breaks down, and Customer Care is useless.
UPDATE Now it's up from 1-2 weeks to 3 weeks. Hyandai, this is just plain ridiculous and unacceptable.

Purchased in March 2021.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
KENNETH G.
KENNETH G.
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Took delivery 4 weeks ago, engine died on day 1 while driving, wouldn't start, had to be towed away. 2021 model.

published

Purchased in April 2021 at Westpoint Autos for $28,900.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
SnazzyCarDriver
SnazzyCarDriver
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Disappointing 1st and 2nd gear

published

This car would be a 4.5 star rating EXCEPT for the disappointing performance in 1st and 2nd gear while in sports mode. The car short shifts at less than 2000 revs which is very annoying. Hyundai service (Hobart,Tas) today said this cannot be rectified. After 3rd gear, she drives beautifully. If you want a zippy sporty feeling car your only option is to manually shift it in 1st and 2nd gear.

Purchased in June 2019 for $32,000.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Hyundai Kona OS (Petrol) compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michelle G
Michelle G
  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not built for short people

published

Great features and nice to drive. I've only previously owned small cars, not an SUV, and the interior and boot of this car are less spacious than my previous cars.
The positioning of the headrest is too high if you're 5'3 or shorter. The headrest sticks out from the seat and the bottom part of the headrest (which should be in line with the neck/base of the skull) hits the top of my head, so the only way to drive the car is with my back not touching the seat at all. If I were in a car accident, being thrown back against the headrest would cause my head to be tilted downward and snap my neck. If you're short, avoid this car.

Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gertie
GertieHunter Region, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Absolutely love my Kona!

published

Purchased in September 2020 for $21,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sharon
SharonGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

good little car, but new car duco questionable

published

Purchased car from a dealer as a demo model in their showroom in 2018,this car is a great little car. However for a car that is only 2 years old and gets well looked after the black paintwork around the door frame has already faded and bubbled badly.Also it has rust flecks which have appeared on the bonnet, after inspection they say it is from welding which I questioned the original quality of the duco considering I have 2 other white family cars kept and used in the same way as the Kona. I will definitely look closer when buying my next car. Very slow process in repairs being carried by the dealership.

Purchased in January 2018 at Hyundai Dealers for $28,300.

Incentivised Review No
BoughtNew
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Hyundai Kona OS (Petrol) compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sharon W.
Sharon W.
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Easy to drive and easy on the pocket

published

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Debbie B.
Debbie B.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews

buying

published

l just purchased my second Hyundai and l am just so impressed with it and the experience of the service of all the team l dealt with l use it daily it gets serviced when needed at Hyundai

Purchased in February 2020 at Hyundai Dealers for $36,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Debbie B.
Debbie B.

Tania Hall was just beauitful

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brad W
Brad WVictoria
  • 9 reviews
  • 10 likes

Good Car

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Hyundai Dealers.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Hyundai Kona reviews

Questions & Answers

Tracey L
Tracey Lasked
Kona OS 2WD 2.0L Petrol Highlander (2017-2022)

How do I stop my Kona talking to me all the time? eg Warning Children Crossing Ahead, Warning Narrow Road Ahead, etc... Its driving me crazy!!!

No answers
See all Hyundai Kona questions

Get an answer from our members and Hyundai representatives

Hyundai Kona OS (Petrol) (2017-2022)

Details

Compare all 15 Hyundai Kona
CategorySmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVs
Starting Price $41,990.00$46,490.00$35,390.00$41,990.00
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars
Doors 4444
Seats 5555
Fuel Consumption6.9 L/100km6.9 L/100km6.2 L/100km7.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L50 L50 L
EngineSmartstream G1.6 T-GDiSmartstream G1.6 T-GDiSmartstream G2.0 AtkinsonSmartstream G2.0 Atkinson
Engine CodeGammaGammaG4NHG4NH
Max Power146kW @ 6000rpm146kW @ 6000rpm110kW @ 6200rpm110kW @ 6200rpm
Max Torque265Nm @ 1600-4500rpm265Nm @ 1600-4500rpm180Nm @ 4500rpm180Nm @ 4500rpm
Boot Capacity374 L374 L374 L374 L
Phone ConnectivityAndroid Auto (Wired), Apple CarPlay (Wired) and BluetoothAndroid Auto (Wired), Apple CarPlay (Wired) and BluetoothAndroid Auto (Wired), Apple CarPlay (Wired), Bluetooth and USBAndroid Auto (Wired), Apple CarPlay (Wired), Bluetooth and USB
Wireless ChargerYesYesYesYes
Security FeaturesImmobilizerImmobilizerImmobilizerImmobilizer
RoofHard-TopSunroofHard-TopSunroof
Companion App NoNoNoNo
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,250 kg1,250 kg1,300 kg1,300 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)600 kg600 kg600 kg600 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)
Keyless Features
Keyless Locking/UnlockingYesYesYesYes
IgnitionKeyless Start/Stop and Remote StartKeyless Start/Stop and Remote StartKeyless Start/Stop and Remote StartKeyless Start/Stop and Remote Start
Headlights
TypeLEDLEDLEDLED
Headlight FeaturesAuto-Dimming, Automatic On/Off and Delayed Off When ParkedAuto-Dimming, Automatic On/Off and Delayed Off When ParkedAutomatic On/Off and Delayed Off When ParkedAutomatic On/Off and Delayed Off When Parked
Safety Features
CamerasFront and RearFront and RearFront and RearFront and Rear
Cruise ControlAdaptive (ACC)Adaptive (ACC)Adaptive (ACC)Adaptive (ACC)
Parking SensorsCross-Traffic Alert (Rear), Front and RearCross-Traffic Alert (Rear), Front and RearCross-Traffic Alert (Rear), Front and RearCross-Traffic Alert (Rear), Front and Rear
Hazard PerceptionBlind Spot Monitoring (BSM) and Forward Collision WarningBlind Spot Monitoring (BSM) and Forward Collision WarningBlind Spot Monitoring (BSM) and Forward Collision WarningBlind Spot Monitoring (BSM) and Forward Collision Warning
Lane AssistanceLane Departure Warning (LDW) and Lane Keep Assist (LKA)Lane Departure Warning (LDW) and Lane Keep Assist (LKA)Lane Departure Warning (LDW) and Lane Keep Assist (LKA)Lane Departure Warning (LDW) and Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
Speed Sign RecognitionNoneNoneNoneNone
Dimensions
Kerb Weight1,395 kg1,395 kg1,280 kg1,280 kg
Ground Clearance178 mm178 mm177 mm178 mm
Driver Information
GaugesDigital OnlyDigital Only
Built-In Navigation SystemYesYesYesYes
Heads Up DisplayNoYesNoYes
Voice ControlNoNoNoNo
Digital Radio (DAB+)YesYesYesYes
Release dateNov 2020Nov 2020Oct 2017Oct 2017
Compare all 15 Hyundai Kona
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.