2 photos
Ikea Hemnes Day-bed Frame with 3 Drawers

Ikea Hemnes Day-bed Frame with 3 Drawers

3.5 from 39 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Beds in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for IKEA? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (1)
  • Ease of Assembly
    3.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Auspex
AuspexSydney, NSW

Slopes!

published

There is a slight but definite slope as the slats are designed to be slightly higher at the back to allow the bed to go in and out. You can see this with a spirit level. Makes you feel like you are rolling out of bed.

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5

Designed to be looked at, not used.

published

Had the bed just over a year before I noticed some sagging in the middle. Removed the mattresses to find that all the screws had worn and fallen out and the frame had completely come apart. The wheels on the drawer had also twisted and fallen apart. It was put together perfectly well and I'm by no means too heavy, it's just poorly design for frequent use. The pull out section is not designed to hold weight properly. Clearly only effective as a single bed or decor.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Other Beds

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

This will break due to poor design

published

The bed lasted a year of weekend use. The problem starts with how you pull the bed out. If you don't get the exact middle every time it looses at the back. This becomes more problematic over time as the wheels aren't really designed to be pulled on the carpet. This action twists the main support which will eventually pop out leading to the screws (attached to the back of the drawers) to eventually fail and rip out (destroying the bed). It looks pretty but because the wheels are crap and the main support area isn't thick nor actual wood the whole thing will break.

Style over function.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Awful.

published

this bed is absolutely terrible, it looks great when it’s first put together ( which takes ages! ) however, drawers broke straight away and i can’t even sleep on it anymore! The two compartments just came apart!! absolutely awful quality, having to buy a new bed now as i am unable to sleep on this bed anymore.

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Beds

Find out how Ikea Hemnes Day-bed Frame with 3 Drawers compares to other Beds

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Beautiful and practical but terrible quality

published

It is just above one year old, we keep it in guest room so it was used only few times and two slots are already broken. Hope I can buy new ones otherwise it is a fraud!

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Keeps getting worse

published

Even though the bed looks great it gives you such bad back ake, I have had this bed for a year and from the cost thought it would be a great bed for everyday use, it is not my back has never been worse and I can barley sleep on the product, i do not recommend this product.

Date PurchasedJan 2015

Worst bed ever

published

This bed started out as a great.
Priced right although assembly was necessary.
It's a trundle and the slats are not sturdy.
My daughter cannot use the additional bed because it's bows in the middle. Had this bed a little over a year and within the first six months the drawers brok;They most likely cannot be replaced. The wholes make it essentially impossible to glue back together.
I have searched for replacement but have not found any. I will try to replace but unhappy with the quality of this bed.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Very weak slats

published

Shockingly weak slate tiles have always replaced them without quibble but it's a real pain having to go to Southampton every time they break. Intended to be used by visiting parents but worried more slats will break.hqve also tried to get softer mattress which was available when we purchased in February but these mattresses no longer available and have been told that the make that IKEA now sell with it would not work alongside it .very disappointed in these beds as I had assured my reluctant husband IKEA was good quality .

Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Other Beds

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Awful

published

I regret buying this. Got a couple months ago and it keeps breaking. The boards aren't even close to strong enough. Very disappointed in this. Not worth the money.

Beds

Find out how Ikea Hemnes Day-bed Frame with 3 Drawers compares to other Beds

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Loloyo123
Loloyo123Seattle, Washington

Broke after 6 months.

published

When i first assembled the bed it took 8 hours! I have purchased and assembled many ikea items and this one took forever, not just that but when you pull out the drawers to make the bed into a queen its very flimsy! When just a twin the bed works as a bed just fine, a little tight even for one but it can work. When you make the bed bigger thats when problems start, because too much weight is put on the metal frame part of the bed it bends down. I literally had a night when i ended up on the floor because of this. I would not recommend this bed, it is beautiful and pretty cost efficient but in the long run NOT worth it at ALL!!

Questions & Answers

Anne
Anneasked

I have an ikea daybed but the slats do not come out even. One side is lower then the other. How can i make it even please

1 answer
michelle
michelle

Having similar issues...at a loss as to why. Crap flimsy design.

Lonnie B.
Lonnie B.asked

Assembled this but the trundle part has a half inch gap when closed on the left. Right side closes against the frame just fine. Does anyone know a way to adjust it?

No answers
Amy W
Amy Wasked

Please can someone tell me the true measurements of this bed? Online it states that it is 209cm long however, this seems massive. Is this correct?

No answers
See all Ikea Hemnes Day-bed Frame with 3 Drawers questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryBeds
Release dateJan 2011
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.