2 photos
Ikea Hemnes Day-bed Frame with 3 Drawers

Ikea Hemnes Day-bed Frame with 3 Drawers

3.5 from 39 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Beds in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for IKEA? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (5)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (5)
  • Ease of Assembly
    3.0 (5)
Previous
Next

Solid bed

published

I am not a DIY person but these instructions were amazing, step by step and pictures and all screws in numbered bags, my son in law took 2 hrs on his own and I even done the draws and all tracks, not used the bed yet, hence the 4 stars but it seems solid and wood is lovely and chunky. Never do reviews but had to this time. Well done ikea xx

Purchased in September 2020 at Warrington for $215.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Milord
MilordDuffy 2611, ACT
  • 195 reviews
  • 120 likes

A fantastic day bed except for the assembly challenges

published

Purchased in November 2019 at IKEA ACT, Canberra for $757.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5

Other Beds

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Auspex
AuspexSydney, NSW

Slopes!

published

There is a slight but definite slope as the slats are designed to be slightly higher at the back to allow the bed to go in and out. You can see this with a spirit level. Makes you feel like you are rolling out of bed.

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Jacquie
JacquieSydney, NSW
  • 8 reviews
  • 9 likes

stylish but a bit hard

published

We purchased this as a spare bed, but it became a regular use bed. The bed is beautifully constructed and good quality and stylish. The mattresses are less so. They are quite thin and hard. There is an option to purchase thicker mattresses, but if you ever use it as a day bed and have to stack the thicker mattresses, it will be to high.

Purchased in April 2017 at IKEA NSW, Tempe.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Beds

Find out how Ikea Hemnes Day-bed Frame with 3 Drawers compares to other Beds

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ahmad F.
Ahmad F.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Best one in the market

published

Since we just moved in from overseas, we had to buy a bed and also a sofa which we put in our living room. So, we searched everywhere and examined thoroughly every option, to be both chic and comfortable for longterm use. This is the one. You sleep on a bed with a firm mattress and sit on a double mattress which is nicely designed. The hardest part is the assembly though, which took me 5 to 6 hours in 2 days and that is why I gave it a 4 star.

Purchased in July 2019 at IKEA VIC, Springvale for $499.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Designed to be looked at, not used.

published

Had the bed just over a year before I noticed some sagging in the middle. Removed the mattresses to find that all the screws had worn and fallen out and the frame had completely come apart. The wheels on the drawer had also twisted and fallen apart. It was put together perfectly well and I'm by no means too heavy, it's just poorly design for frequent use. The pull out section is not designed to hold weight properly. Clearly only effective as a single bed or decor.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

This will break due to poor design

published

The bed lasted a year of weekend use. The problem starts with how you pull the bed out. If you don't get the exact middle every time it looses at the back. This becomes more problematic over time as the wheels aren't really designed to be pulled on the carpet. This action twists the main support which will eventually pop out leading to the screws (attached to the back of the drawers) to eventually fail and rip out (destroying the bed). It looks pretty but because the wheels are crap and the main support area isn't thick nor actual wood the whole thing will break.

Style over function.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Next

Awful.

published

this bed is absolutely terrible, it looks great when it’s first put together ( which takes ages! ) however, drawers broke straight away and i can’t even sleep on it anymore! The two compartments just came apart!! absolutely awful quality, having to buy a new bed now as i am unable to sleep on this bed anymore.

Date PurchasedJuly 2018

Other Beds

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
MishB
MishBGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Ikea Day bed - really good

published

Takes ages to build but definitely worth it.
We have it in our spare room, and use it for guests. I have bought a foam mattress topper to put on top as the thin mattresses didn't cut it. Just have to store it when the topper isn't being used.
Haven't had any issues with the slats. However I have pulled the trundle out too far a couple of times, but I'm not sure if this has happened because I missed something when building it!!

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Beds

Find out how Ikea Hemnes Day-bed Frame with 3 Drawers compares to other Beds

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Beautiful and practical but terrible quality

published

It is just above one year old, we keep it in guest room so it was used only few times and two slots are already broken. Hope I can buy new ones otherwise it is a fraud!

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Keeps getting worse

published

Even though the bed looks great it gives you such bad back ake, I have had this bed for a year and from the cost thought it would be a great bed for everyday use, it is not my back has never been worse and I can barley sleep on the product, i do not recommend this product.

Date PurchasedJan 2015

Other Beds

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Worst bed ever

published

This bed started out as a great.
Priced right although assembly was necessary.
It's a trundle and the slats are not sturdy.
My daughter cannot use the additional bed because it's bows in the middle. Had this bed a little over a year and within the first six months the drawers brok;They most likely cannot be replaced. The wholes make it essentially impossible to glue back together.
I have searched for replacement but have not found any. I will try to replace but unhappy with the quality of this bed.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Beds

Find out how Ikea Hemnes Day-bed Frame with 3 Drawers compares to other Beds

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Clark
ClarkWA, 6102
  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Looks great!

published

Love this day bed. Bought it for my toddler and so glad we did! Great for a day bed or child's bed. Had a couple stay in it 2 weeks and it was fine but any longer and it would of been too hard. Perfect for a wee one. And will come in handy when she's old enough for sleep overs with friends. It's huge when extended!

Date PurchasedApr 2017
deanosimmo
deanosimmoIllawarra, NSW
  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Versatile bed

published

Bought this for my daughter and she loves it. She uses the bed during the day as a sofa, hanging out with friends, watching TV or doing homework on. Great addition of pull-out bed underneath and as storage. It is very solid. Easy to build.

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Emily
EmilyToowoomba
  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Functional bed for sunroom/guest bedroom

published
Date PurchasedJuly 2013

Questions & Answers

Elizabeth D.
Elizabeth D.asked

Can the trundle be pulled out completely separately so that it's two separate singles or can it only be a single or double?

No answers
Anne
Anneasked

I have an ikea daybed but the slats do not come out even. One side is lower then the other. How can i make it even please

1 answer
michelle
michelle

Having similar issues...at a loss as to why. Crap flimsy design.

Lonnie B.
Lonnie B.asked

Assembled this but the trundle part has a half inch gap when closed on the left. Right side closes against the frame just fine. Does anyone know a way to adjust it?

No answers
See all Ikea Hemnes Day-bed Frame with 3 Drawers questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryBeds
Release dateJan 2011
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.