2 photos
Ikea Hemnes Day-bed Frame with 3 Drawers

Ikea Hemnes Day-bed Frame with 3 Drawers

3.5 from 39 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Beds in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for IKEA? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.6 (5)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (5)
  • Ease of Assembly
    2.6 (5)
Previous
Next
Henry. Bilo
Henry. BiloMid North Coast, NSW

Really good day bed

published

I have had this for a while and from the really easy install to how it has held up over the years I would highly recommend it to anyone on the look out.

Incentivised Review No

Solid bed

published

I am not a DIY person but these instructions were amazing, step by step and pictures and all screws in numbered bags, my son in law took 2 hrs on his own and I even done the draws and all tracks, not used the bed yet, hence the 4 stars but it seems solid and wood is lovely and chunky. Never do reviews but had to this time. Well done ikea xx

Purchased in September 2020 at Warrington for $215.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5

Other Beds

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Kerrie M.
Kerrie M.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews

Great for small space !

published

Beautiful looking bed - looks amazing in the room - great storage !
Mattresses very firm but it’s perfectly ok.
Took ages to put together but everything from Ikea does !
Would definitely but another one

Purchased in May 2019 at IKEA for $700.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Ease of Assembly
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Milord
MilordDuffy 2611, ACT
  • 195 reviews
  • 120 likes

A fantastic day bed except for the assembly challenges

published

Purchased in November 2019 at IKEA ACT, Canberra for $757.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Beds

Find out how Ikea Hemnes Day-bed Frame with 3 Drawers compares to other Beds

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jacquie
JacquieSydney, NSW
  • 8 reviews
  • 9 likes

stylish but a bit hard

published

We purchased this as a spare bed, but it became a regular use bed. The bed is beautifully constructed and good quality and stylish. The mattresses are less so. They are quite thin and hard. There is an option to purchase thicker mattresses, but if you ever use it as a day bed and have to stack the thicker mattresses, it will be to high.

Purchased in April 2017 at IKEA NSW, Tempe.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Ahmad F.
Ahmad F.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Best one in the market

published

Since we just moved in from overseas, we had to buy a bed and also a sofa which we put in our living room. So, we searched everywhere and examined thoroughly every option, to be both chic and comfortable for longterm use. This is the one. You sleep on a bed with a firm mattress and sit on a double mattress which is nicely designed. The hardest part is the assembly though, which took me 5 to 6 hours in 2 days and that is why I gave it a 4 star.

Purchased in July 2019 at IKEA VIC, Springvale for $499.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

This will break due to poor design

published

The bed lasted a year of weekend use. The problem starts with how you pull the bed out. If you don't get the exact middle every time it looses at the back. This becomes more problematic over time as the wheels aren't really designed to be pulled on the carpet. This action twists the main support which will eventually pop out leading to the screws (attached to the back of the drawers) to eventually fail and rip out (destroying the bed). It looks pretty but because the wheels are crap and the main support area isn't thick nor actual wood the whole thing will break.

Style over function.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
How to be more eco-friendly when you're gifting this Christmas

Christmas seems to go hand in hand with consumption, but that doesn’t mean you can’t be eco-friendly with your gift giving. We’ve got tips for everything from shopping sustainably to zero-waste packaging, so that you can have a greener holiday season.

Clara V.
Clara V.30 Nov 2021
how-to-be-more-eco-friendly-when-youre-gifting-this-christmas
Next

Awful.

published

this bed is absolutely terrible, it looks great when it’s first put together ( which takes ages! ) however, drawers broke straight away and i can’t even sleep on it anymore! The two compartments just came apart!! absolutely awful quality, having to buy a new bed now as i am unable to sleep on this bed anymore.

Date PurchasedJuly 2018

Other Beds

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
RossS
RossSPerth
  • 2 reviews

Great all rounder

published

Love love love this piece. I was lucky enough to find one in the as is section in the Dove Grey colour. Absolutely nothing wrong with it. Purchased the harder memory foam mattresses to go with it. Looks great all compact in the daybed setup in my home office, easily converts to a King Bed.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Beds

Find out how Ikea Hemnes Day-bed Frame with 3 Drawers compares to other Beds

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MishB
MishBGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Ikea Day bed - really good

published

Takes ages to build but definitely worth it.
We have it in our spare room, and use it for guests. I have bought a foam mattress topper to put on top as the thin mattresses didn't cut it. Just have to store it when the topper isn't being used.
Haven't had any issues with the slats. However I have pulled the trundle out too far a couple of times, but I'm not sure if this has happened because I missed something when building it!!

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Great choice!

published

Great choice! We have a small bedroom and my husband and I open it and use it as a king bed every night! We've been using it for almost a year and we're so happy with the quality and practicality of it!

Date PurchasedSept 2017

Other Beds

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Worst bed ever

published

This bed started out as a great.
Priced right although assembly was necessary.
It's a trundle and the slats are not sturdy.
My daughter cannot use the additional bed because it's bows in the middle. Had this bed a little over a year and within the first six months the drawers brok;They most likely cannot be replaced. The wholes make it essentially impossible to glue back together.
I have searched for replacement but have not found any. I will try to replace but unhappy with the quality of this bed.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Beds

Find out how Ikea Hemnes Day-bed Frame with 3 Drawers compares to other Beds

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Clark
ClarkWA, 6102
  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Looks great!

published

Love this day bed. Bought it for my toddler and so glad we did! Great for a day bed or child's bed. Had a couple stay in it 2 weeks and it was fine but any longer and it would of been too hard. Perfect for a wee one. And will come in handy when she's old enough for sleep overs with friends. It's huge when extended!

Date PurchasedApr 2017
newhome
newhomeAU
  • 2 reviews

very nice and efficient

published

for the price we pay, it is probably worth of it, bed and sofa easy to install and expand.
however, if you are looking for something very soft, probably not a good idea.

Date PurchasedJuly 2013
deanosimmo
deanosimmoIllawarra, NSW
  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Versatile bed

published

Bought this for my daughter and she loves it. She uses the bed during the day as a sofa, hanging out with friends, watching TV or doing homework on. Great addition of pull-out bed underneath and as storage. It is very solid. Easy to build.

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Elizabeth D.
Elizabeth D.asked

Can the trundle be pulled out completely separately so that it's two separate singles or can it only be a single or double?

No answers
Anne
Anneasked

I have an ikea daybed but the slats do not come out even. One side is lower then the other. How can i make it even please

1 answer
michelle
michelle

Having similar issues...at a loss as to why. Crap flimsy design.

Lonnie B.
Lonnie B.asked

Assembled this but the trundle part has a half inch gap when closed on the left. Right side closes against the frame just fine. Does anyone know a way to adjust it?

No answers
See all Ikea Hemnes Day-bed Frame with 3 Drawers questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryBeds
Release dateJan 2011
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.