??!
1 photo
InsureandGo Australia

InsureandGo Australia Questions & Answers

International, Domestic
4.1 from 4,521 reviews

262 questions from our users

Mark

Markasked

How much money have you got in the bank ? You will need every penny for the lawyers to fight the class action coming against you

1 answer
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Mark, I understand you are upset, and would recommend you go through the formal channel for complaints, which is to email your policy number to complaints@insureandgo.com.au. Thanks, Anna

Mark

Markasked

International Travel Insurance - Bare Essentials (Single Trip)

Why does your company have no morals or ethics , do you understand people are now unemployed and can’t pay bills yet you won’t refund policy’s or give credit

1 answer
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Mark, I understand you are upset, and would recommend you go through the formal channel for complaints, which is to email your policy number to complaints@insureandgo.com.au. Thanks, Anna

Jo M.

Jo M.asked

My flights and holiday are cancelled because of Coronavirus, So because I can not go do I get a refund for my travel insurance as I can not go now.

4 answers
Jas
Jas

Good luck, you need to call them

Rob S.
Rob S.

Have called them twice, same answer twice, NO. Well that was for our policy. As you can imagine I won't be using them again.

Mark
Mark

Unless you purchased policy less than 14 days ago you will get nothing not even credit for future dates , a class action against this company is coming

Helena D

Helena Dasked

We were due to fly out 30th April with Airasia. We are having problems with them about getting a credit.
How much time are we given with Insure and Go before we lodge a claim? Is there a time limit Knowing Airasia it may take months to hear from them.

1 answer
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Helena, our general position is that you should lodge your claim as soon as is practical, usually within 30 days of returning from your travels. Since you have not yet travelled, and we are in unprecedented times, we will be accomodating with this timeline, so don't worry about your claim being rejected based on this 30 day rule.

I would personally recommend you lodge your claim soon for your peace of mind, despite not having all documents, and once you have your claim number, you can then wait to recieve a response from Airasia.

Thanks, Anna

Greg M

Greg Masked

Gold cruise insurance for Caribbean cruise purchased in May 2019 for cruise in March 2020. Cruise was turned around after 3 days of 11 day cruise with 1 port visited instead of the 5 scheduled. Unsure of the level of refund from the cruise line. Can I claim for missed ports and also the hotel stay while we organised our flights home to be changed and the food costs while in the hotel?

4 answers
richard duldig
richard duldig

Re travel insurance refund if you did not cancel it within 14 days of purchase they will not refund it even though you would not have know about the cancellation then, thieves. Would request a refund, see what you get then lodge a complaint. Good luck

InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Greg, thanks for reaching out. Richard, I believe this question is about a claim, not a refund.

Presuming you are looking to claim for curtailment of your trip, there are 2 relevant issues: the first is when you purchased your policy - if you purchased after 31st January at 4:00pm, your policy excludes claims related to coronavirus. However, if you purchased before this, you are eligible to claim depending on issue 2 - if the level of cover you purchased provided for curtailment of your trip, or missed ports. This will depend on the policy you purchased.

If you would like further information on claiming, let me know and I'd be happy to help.

Thanks, Anna

Greg M
Greg M

Thanks Anna. I purchased Gold Cruise insurance in May last year for the holiday we've just come back from so does this mean I can claim for missed ports and excess accommodation costs as the ship was turned around after 3 days instead of the expected 11. Does any claim also depend on any level of reimbursement (if any) from the cruise line?

Vanessa E

Vanessa Easked

My husband myself and my father purchased insurance on the 24/8/2020 for travel from the 2/5/2020 to 2/6/2020 as there is now a travel ban and do not know when it will be lifted are covered for cancellation.

2 answers
Rachael
Rachael

DO you mean you purchased on 24/8/19?? If so I THINK you should be covered as they had a deadline of 31st January for trips affected by COVID-19. They listed that information on their website retrospectively. I actually managed to get through to someone on the phone yesterday so I would call and cheack, they would probably say "wait and see if the ban is lifted though."

InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Vanessa, thanks for getting in touch, and thanks for helping out Rachael.

I can confirm that if you bought your policy before 4:00pm on 31st January, and the tier of policy you purchased includes cancellation cover (you will need to check your policy to see if it is Gold or Silver as the cover is included on these 2 policy types), you are eligible to claim for cancellation of your trip.

I hope this helps. Thanks, Anna

Helena D

Helena Dasked

We were due to fly out 30th April with Airasia. We are having problems with them about getting a credit.
How much time are we given with Insure and Go before we lodge a claim? Is there a time limit Knowing Airasia it may take months to hear from them.

3 answers
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Helena, if you are having trouble getting evidence, I would start your claim, and then it will be lodged in our system. Then you can send us the required evidence when you have it. Let me know if you need any help with claiming. Thanks, Anna

Helena D
Helena D

Thanks, Anna. What claim form do I need to submit for the airfares and for the hotel. Is it two seperate forms?

InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Helena, the link below should provide all of the information you need to make a claim, and shows the different claim forms you will need to submit depending on the claim you are making.
https://www.insureandgo.com.au/travel-insurance/important-claims-information/manual-submittion.jsp

I hope this helps. Thanks, Anna

Judy Slade

Judy Sladeasked

I bought my gold policy 7/8/2019 for trip to UK. Start date 26/5 to 20/6/2020. Will I be able to claim because I can’t travel because of corona pandemic?

1 answer
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Judy, looking at when you purchased your policy, there is no coronavirus exclusion on your policy. So as long as you purchased a Silver or Gold policy, you are eligible to lodge a claim for cancellation of your trip. I hope this helps. Thanks, Anna

Geoffreyb

Geoffreybasked

I purchased a policy in 2019 to cover a trip from 18th April and returning on 24th May. As destination ports will be closed we are anticipating a full refund from our cruise line and also air line. We have already been told that we will not be able to travel.
In this event can we cancel our policy and receive a refund of premium paid?

8 answers
Sid
Sid

no they will not. there conditions say you only have 14 days from purchase
A joke

InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Geoffrey, you may be able to claim for costs associated with cancelling your trip, depending on the level of cover (Silver or Gold policies only) considering you purchased before 31st January. However, I can confirm that unfortunately, we do not offer refunds if you are outside of the 14 day cooling off period. Thanks, Anna

Geoffreyb
Geoffreyb

In light of the no refund policy am I able to change the dates for travel to later in the year, since no cancelation has taken place and we have transferred the dates with the carriers to September/October this year?

grannyma

grannymaasked

International Travel Insurance - Gold Cruise

Would we be covered by our insurance for a refund fee of $900 per person ($1800)for overseas flights? Policy taken out 15/1/2020. We do not wish for a credit on these flights as we will not be able to travel in the prescribed time given by the airline

2 answers
Kevin
Kevin

grannyma , Ring 1300136374 and ask to speak to Nathan . He will tell you .

InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Grannyma, thanks for reaching out. It's impossible for me to tell without knowing all the details of your claim, but based on your purchase date, you are eligible to claim assuming your level of cover was Silver or Gold.

Please see the below link which includes a list of the documents you will need to submit along with your claim, and the contact details you will need to submit your claim by email or post.
https://www.insureandgo.com.au/travel-insurance/important-claims-information/manual-submittion.jsp

I hope this helps. If you need anything else, just reach out.

Thanks, Anna

Brenda

Brendaasked

If my Bali holiday has been cancelled because of the coronavirus can I get a refund on my silver policy for not using it

1 answer
Spike
Spike

These mongrels will not even give a refund or credit if your policy excludes the corona virus! Don't just bear a grudge, get even, never use them again and tell all your friends to never use them again. Horrible un Australian Japanese company. They have no sense of fairness what so ever.

Robert W.

Robert W.asked

I purchased a Gold AMT 60 day policy on 23rd January 2020 to start on 1st February, am I covered for refund of cruises and tours if the government does not allow me to travel. As the cruise is not till June the cruise company may only offer cruise credit. Am I coverex for a full refund of cruise and tours. Regards Robert

1 answer
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Robert, thank you for getting in touch. Unfortunately, since I'm not part of the claims team, I'm not able to advise you regarding your question of coverage. In order to get an answer on this, please email assistance@insureandgo.com.au. Thanks, Anna

Carol

Carolasked

As our Gold policy was purchased in November 2019 I know that we are covered for Covid. My query is that if an accommodation or airline provider offers us a voucher for a non refundable booking, do we have to accept that voucher or can we simply cancel and we can make a claim for these costs? This is for Bali for next week and I need an answer ASAP and cannot wait for the email query.

2 answers
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Carol, as per our PDS, before claiming, you must attempt to recover costs from other providers, and we will then cover the shortfall. If you find the offer from these providers of credit as opposed to cash unsatisfactory, you will need to detail this in your claim, and this will be assessed as part of your claim. Thanks, Anna

Carol
Carol

Yes, Thankyou that's helpful.

Hec

Hecasked

Hi.
I have changed the dates of my travel due lockdowns and purchase my insurance 28 Feb. Can you still help me ? I have read that if it is beyond 2 weeks you change the date or refund.

3 answers
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Hec, yes, it does sound like you are outside of the 14 day cooling off period. However, if you email info@insureandgo.com.au, they will be able to assist you. Please note that it will take longer than usual for them to reply due to the unprecedented voume of contacts coming through realted to the pandemic. Thanks, Anna

Natalie P.
Natalie P.

Hi Hec
I rang insure and go and am in the same boat as yours and In short they will be keeping the money. We are outside of the 2 weeks and we can’t get credit as they don’t know when the ban will be lifted. In light of what’s happening you would think they would give some sort of voucher yeah

Hec
Hec

Hi Anna and Natalie.

Thanks.. any help means a lot to me and my family. It's been years we have not travel. Again Thank you!!

Libby

Libbyasked

I took out Gold Cover in October 2019 to travel to Morocco. The Moroccan government banned all flights in and out of Morocco at midnight March 16 so travel was impossible before the Level 4 ban announced today by our prime minister. However I cannot get in contact with the trip provider to obtain a cancellation notice. Am I still able to lodge a claim from you or must I wait days/weeks/months for a response from the tour provider. Thanks. Libby E

2 answers
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Libby, I'm not part of the claims team, so I can only speak generally, as I don't have all of the necessary details of your case. But based on the fact that you purchased your policy before 4:00pm on 31st January, and the fact that you have Gold cover, you may be eligible to claim for cancellation in light of the new government advice not to travel. Regarding obtaining evidence of cancelletion: you are able to lodge your claim without this, but you will be asked for it soon after anyway, as the claim won't be able to proceed to meaningful stage without this evidence. Also, our claims team are currently being overwhelmed by the unprecedented volume of claims coming in due the the pandemic and so there will be delays in the claims process. Therefore, my personal advice to you would be to wait until you have the evidence, and then submit your claim with that evidence included. Thanks, Anna

Libby
Libby

Thanks for that. I'll wait a little longer as it's now approaching 30 before we were to travel so perhaps I'll have some clarity before then.

bala

balaasked

Hi there,
I purchased travel insurance with you guys in October well before corona outbreak. Government now upgraded travel ban to level 4 for all countries. We cannot travel because it is not because fear of travel or change of mind by us, but because government restricted our travel. What is your current stand on this? Can we be able to claim cancellation costs.

Bala and sue

1 answer
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Bala and Sue, good question.

I'm not part of the claims team, so I can only give general advice. Since you purchased in October, and the government has now upped their travel advice to 'do not travel', you are eligible to claim for cancellation costs. Also, when claiming, please be aware though that due to the unprecedented increased in claims due to the pandemic, response times may be slower than normal.

Thanks, Anna

Jen F

Jen Fasked

We took out gold travel insurance on 5th February 2020. It was to cover us travelling from 27th April to 17th May 2020. As we can no longer travel abroad can we cancel that insurance?

2 answers
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Jen, unfortunately, generally speaking, we will only allow a full refund within the 14 day cooling off period. However, I would advise you to email info@insureandgo.com.au and the team can assist with your request. Thanks, Anna

Natalie P.
Natalie P.

Hi Jen
I rang insure and go and am in the same boat as yours and In short they will be keeping the money. We are outside of the 2 weeks and we can’t get credit as they don’t know when the ban will be lifted

Deb12

Deb12asked

Hi, We purchased Insure and Go Gold policy on 15 February 2020 for a trip to Europe (with a 28 day guided tour) via Vietnam to and from Australia now fully paid for, and now as of today with the Level 4 travel ban are we able to receive a full refund? What about the agents 10% fee they charge ? .....

1 answer
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Deb, thanks for getting in touch. Unfortunately, policies purchased after 4:00pm on 31st January do not cover cancellation claims related to coronavirus, which was stated in the below travel alert and on the orange bar at the top of the website: https://www.insureandgo.com.au/travel-alerts/update-global-coronavirus-outbreak.jsp

I have sent you a private message to get more information, so we can identify your policy.

Thanks, Anna

VMB

VMBasked

How long does it take for Insureandgo to respond to a travel insurance cancellation claim

5 answers
Mick
Mick

i am a new user so have not submitted any claims but am interested in any responses

InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi there, good question!

Generally speaking, once we have recieved all necessary documents, we can process your claim within 10 business days. Having said that, due to the coronavirus pandemic, we're seeing an unprecedented voume of claims, questions, calls and emails, which is affecting our response times, and so it may take longer than usual.

Thanks, Anna

VMB
VMB

Thank you for your reply. Appreciated :)

jeanette

jeanetteasked

Hi if I am travelling with a friend and we both have insurance cover and one of is unable to go will insurance cover the single supplement as we book a twin room
Or if the person doesn't want to travel on there own as her travelling companion can no longer go will that person get a refund for her trip

1 answer
InsureandGo Australia
Anna J.InsureandGo Australia

Hi Jeanette, thanks for reaching out.

Please note that if your situation is in any way affected by the coronavirus outbreak, you should read the travel alert we have prepared detailing our position on the outbreak: https://www.insureandgo.com.au/travel-alerts/latest_update-global-coronavirus-outbreak.jsp

Although the above information takes precedence over what follows if coronavirus is involved in any way, generally speaking, depending on the level of cover you have purchased (all except Bare Essentials), there may be provisions for cancelling your trip before departure due to the unforeseeable death, injury, or illness of your relative, business associate or travelling companion who is a resident in Australia and who is in Australia at the time the event occurs. However, cancellation for change of mind or fear of travel is excluded from cover.

Thanks, Anna

Page 1 of 14

Get an answer from our members and InsureandGo Australia representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.