??!
5 photos
iRobot Roomba 800 Series

iRobot Roomba 800 Series

860, 866, 870, 880 and 890
4.1 from 52 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
27
4 star
13
3 star
6
2 star
3
1 star
3

campbell.mckenzie

campbell.mckenziePerth, WA

  • 5 reviews

Perfect

published

The best robot vacuum. When I am tired or when I cannot vacuum. The Roomba does the job very well. When I was watching TV one time I set the Roomba to do the work. About 3 hours later I checked to see how the Roomba was going on my floors were spotless. The Roomba picked up everything and I was super impressed. It gets along edges very well with its side brush and the battery is very long lasting. This is a very good robot vacuum.

Purchased in March 2018 at The Good Guys for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Never
See all answers
1 comment
iRobot
Rebecca B.iRobot

Good Morning Campbell
Thank you for taking the time to review the Roomba 860 series.
Kind regards iRobot


Chris

ChrisSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love my Roomba.

published

I purchased my i Robot Roomba 6 months ago and honestly, it's the best thing I've ever done. Was finding it difficult to push the existing vac due to an injured shoulder. The Roomba does all the work and my carpet has never been so clean. It also transitions to my tiled areas with no problems. Surprisingly, it seems to suck up much more inground dirt than my old Miele. Definitely not cheap to buy but worth every cent. I love it!

Purchased in February 2019 at Harvey Norman Physical Store for $999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers
1 comment
iRobot
Rebecca B.iRobot

Good Afternoon Chris
Thank you for taking the time to review the Roomba 890. These are a fantastic device for maintenance cleaning. We have found from customer that a few vacuums have been out done by the Roomba for cleaning.
Kind regards iRobot

Eily

EilySydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

This is perfect. Love it.

published

Runs over all the exposed areas of the floor. Completely cleans tiles. Fortunately for me it runs beneath the coffee table and also the TV Cabinet. If chairs are put up out of its path (on top of table?) it does my complete area. Even runs over the mat no problem. I'm so happy with it. Ran it for 90 minutes then it takes itself back to base for emptying and recharging as stated in specs.
Couldn't wish for more.

Purchased in July 2019 at Amazon Sydney South for $553.98.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Tiles
System Errors Never
See all answers

A little disappointed

published

I received this Roomba for Christmas and use it often sometimes running it 2 x per day . But the reason I run it 2 x per day is because it misses so much of my house I originally thought that that was just how it was supposed to work but recently I was at a friends house and her unit did an amazing job . This unit does not map out the house and just goes over the same area over and over again.

Purchased in January 2019 at Target .

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
System Errors Often
See all answers
1 comment
iRobot
Rebecca B.iRobot

AKB

AKBQLD, 4500

  • 18 reviews
  • 8 likes

As long as you don't want service.

published

Works reasonably well but doesn't keep a straight line.
Works well on most surfaces.
If you hit a wet patch there is NO support; they will try to sell you another unit even if the repair should be simple.

Purchased in June 2016 for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Tiles
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers
1 comment
iRobot
Rebecca B.iRobot

Reeviewah

ReeviewahCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 15 reviews
  • 8 likes

Drops dirt every time bin is removed

published

This would be an excellent robot cleaner if it didn't keep dropping dirt every time the bin was removed. What do I mean by this? You can't simply leave Roomba where it is and remove the bin as it leaves a pile of debris on the floor. You actually need to pick up the robot and take the whole unit to the rubbish before you remove the bin. I believe the unit has a poor design with the bin as it doesn't capture everything cleanly and seems to make this mess quite often. I had an older model and it didn't have this issue. My guess is iRobot will eventually change the design of the bin but unfortunately it's too late for me.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
See all answers
3 comments
iRobot
Rebecca B.iRobot
Reeviewah
Reeviewah

I empty the bin after every run so the issue is not with how full the bin is but how it 'leaks' debris when the bin is removed. I get around this now by carrying the entire unit to the rubbish bin and emptying it there.

iRobot
Rebecca B.iRobot

ozN

ozNSydney Surrounds, NSW

Very Reliable

published

Had a few robot vacuums and they suffer from reliability issues. But it is worth paying more by buying a brand.
We have a dog and tiled and wooden floors and it just saves so much time.
Just press the button and off it goes and does a great job

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
1 comment
iRobot
Rebecca B.iRobot

Good Morning ozN
Thank you for taking the time to review the Roomba 800 series. These are a fantastic maintenance device, just set and forget :)
Kind regards iRobot


Mrs K

Mrs KSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Good robot

published

Purchased in October 2015 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Battery Life
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
System Errors Occasionally
See all answers
1 comment
iRobot
Rebecca B.iRobot

Good Afternoon Mrs K
Thank you for taking the time to review the Roomba. These are a great maintenance cleaner, so you don't have to bring your hand held vacuum out as often.
Kind regards iRobot

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Rensefx

RensefxMelbourne

  • 10 reviews
  • 8 likes

Just keeps going

published
Date PurchasedJan 2014
1 comment
iRobot
Rebecca B.iRobot
Clare

ClareMERBEIN WEST

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent performance

published
Date PurchasedApr 2016
1 comment
iRobot
Rebecca B.iRobot

Good Morning Clare
Thank you for reviewing the Roomba 880 in relation to the Neato unit.
Kind regards iRobot


Daniella

DaniellaKarrinyup

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect Addition to the Family

published

We purchased the Roomba thinking that it would be good to have something cleaning up the dust from the wooden floors but after a month we are wondering how we coped without it. It keeps our floors clean, tells us when she is done and keeps things tidy. The app and connection to Google is great. We have even given her a name.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
iRobot
Malcolm R.iRobot

HI Daniella
It sure is like that. I was skeptical of the Roomba at the start, but now would not give her back for anything. What did you name her?
Kind regards iRobot


Blake

BlakeSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Mans second best friend

published
Date PurchasedJun 2017
6 comments
iRobot
Malcolm R.iRobot

HI Blake
Thank you for the fantastic review of the Roomba 866.The Roomba can make a good pet, it doesn't talk back, doesn't beg for food, just requires to be cleaned up every now and than.
Kind regards iRobot

Blake
Blake

You’re more than welcome! Such an amazing pet we have and so cheap on the feeding bills. If you have any others you’d like reviewed I’d be more than happy to get little Roomby a brother or sister :).

iRobot
Malcolm R.iRobot

Hi Blake,
Please contact our marketing team by emailing marketing@ixl.com.au as they may be able to have a chat with you.
Kind regards iRobot


Susannah

SusannahSouth Australia

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my Roomba

published

I really love my Roomba. I don't know how floors get so much dust on them, but I'd be hauling my vacuum around every day without Roomba. It gets in nooks and crannies, and goes home when it's finished. He's one of the family. I've now purchased his brother from another mother, Braava.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
1 comment
iRobot
Malcolm R.iRobot

Hi Susannah
Your reviews are awesome. These are fantastic for everyday use. I think it has been almost a year since I have pulled out my vacuum. Hopefully the boys will get alone as brothers should.
Kind regards iRobot


Simon Lim

Simon LimSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Robotic Home Helper

published

Moved into a new (bigger) house and wanted some robotic help to keep the house clean. Overall, happy with the 890. Had some issues with the initial setup, but that was resolve and was due to our setup of our wifi. Have not used the Virtual Wall barrier.
Happy to be able to check on the status of the 890 via the iRobot app & remotely tasked it to clean the house, which can also be scheduled daily. You can hear it when it's running, it's a vacuum after all. Make sure you empty it after each cleaning cycle - it picked up plenty of cat fur, which is what it's intended for. For $2 a day, I reckon it'll pay itself within a year.
Floor type: Hardwood/laminate
Floor area (ground): 130 msq
Floor area (upper): 150 msq

Date PurchasedJul 2018
1 comment
iRobot
Malcolm R.iRobot

Review collected in partnership with iRobot

DavidH9000

DavidH9000Mid North Coast, NSW

  • 26 reviews
  • 28 likes

Not as good as previous models

published

We have had two previous models of the Roomba and this one simply isnt as good as the other (older) models. It doesnt map the rooms as well as the older ones and doesnt seem to cover the entire house, missing entire areas time and again.

It does however do a great job of collecting the dust and dirt from the places it DOES go, but seems to seek out electrical leads to get tangled with and finds ways of getting caught in corners where it gets stuck.

Past models were flawless, so this one has been a bit of a disappointment and will probably stop us buying another iroomba.

I realise it was a model that had been discontinued when we bought it, but that should not have made any difference to its effectiveness as it was a new machine.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
iRobot
Malcolm R.iRobot

Good Morning David
We are very sorry to hear the above. Please contact our office on 1300 727 421 with ref: C0153383 to discuss this further.
Kind regards iRobot

JGE

JGE

  • 8 reviews

Great for daily use

published

Definitely helps keep the dog hair under control. Worth getting extended warranty as it’s been back several times. After 5 years the side wheel is making a weird noise and it’ll be going back for another warranty fix. Has the suction of a dust buster but effectively picks up the dog hair and surface bits etc

Date PurchasedApr 2013
1 comment
iRobot
Malcolm R.iRobot

Good Morning JGE
Thank you for your review of the Roomba. These are a great item for maintenance cleaning, however we do recommend still having your hand vacuum for a thorough clean every so often.
Kind regards iRobot


Cez

CezAU

  • 26 reviews
  • 33 likes

Love this piece of gadget

published

This is a hardworking vacuum cleaner. It’s smart enough to go throught thr edges of the wall. It does love to eat cables so i need to ensure the cables are not on the floor. I’ve hard it more then 3 years but i havent even replaced the batteries. This has made my house chores a lot easier. I also speaks a lot of languages

Date PurchasedDec 2014
1 comment
iRobot
Malcolm R.iRobot

Hi Cez
Thank you for your review of the Roomba 860. We do highly recommend picking up items or cables that may get stuck in the Roomba prior to setting it out on its daily chores.
Kind regards iRobot


Noel R

Noel RAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

The everyday automated housemaid

published

Purchased this in 2017 and has never been happier. Makes my life so much easier with the push of a button. Yes it’s recommended to clear out smaller stuff off the floor before starting a job, but it still goes around obstacles such as table/chair legs perfectly fine. Hence I personally like to do it manually but I’m sure the scheduler also works like a charm. Easy cleaning and not too noisy either.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
iRobot
Malcolm R.iRobot

Hi Noel
Thank you for your review of the Roomba 866. This is a great little machine. We are happy to hear it is making life easier for you and not being too loud whilst it is doing so.
kind regards iRobot


Kim

KimSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect for me. I can’t live without it.

published

I absolutely love my robot vacuum cleaner, so much In fact that I have named her. Vivian. She cleans my floors and my carpeted areas while I sit and have a coffee. She’s so quiet and manovers all around the place. I just set her for the days that I want her to clean. She does it’s with ease. I just love her so much. The best thing I have ever bought.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
1 comment
iRobot
Malcolm R.iRobot

Hi Kim
We are so happy to hear Vivian and working well for you.
If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us on 1300 727 421 or service@ixl.com.au
Kind regards iRobot


Chanti R

Chanti RNewcastle

  • 7 reviews

Great little device.

published

This little vac is very handy, a tad noisy but useful.
You need to ensure it has a clear run with no little kids toys in the way or else it gets very stuck.
It’s great to schedule everyday to tidy the floors. We mainly use it on timber floors and it works well. Carpet is not a challenge for it.

The return to dock function is very useful.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
1 comment
iRobot
Malcolm R.iRobot

Good Afternoon Chanti
Thank you again for your review of the Roomba 890. This is a very new model. We are happy to hear you are happy wiht the job it is doing.
Kind regards iRobot


Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

SirD's Memaw

SirD's Memawasked

I have one. I subscribe to iRobot by email (i.e., I get ads for specials and sales regularly). They still push 600-series and now 900-series, but it seems they do not offer the 800-series machines. I am curious as to what is the explanation for them selling 600 and 900 series but never mentioning the 800 series?

2 answers
Chris
Chris

That's interesting. I hadn't noticed that but will check next time I'm at Harvey Norman. You'd assume the mid range would be popular as it has much better suction and features than the cheapest one and not the $1499 price tag of the top of the range. I have recommended the Roomba 890 to so many people so I'm assuming they are still available. Couldn't live without mine.

iRobot
Rebecca B.iRobot

Good Afternoon SirD's Memaw
Thank you for you question. Currently we are offering a 600, E and I series Roomba's which are our low, mid and higher range Roomba's. Sadly the 800 series has been discontinued in Australia and replaced by the new E series for around the same price.
Kind regards iRobot


Charles Hatchett

Charles Hatchettasked

My Roomba 880 continues to give me brush error messages after replacing the brushes with new brushes, can someone help with a solution? A red triangle error light comes on and the brushing chamber is clean.

1 answer
iRobot
Rebecca B.iRobot

HI Charles
Please contact our office on 1300 727 421 for troubleshooting.
Kind regards iRobot


Gerry

Gerryasked

Roomba 890

We just attempted to use brand new model 895 purchased for Christmas, very disappointing, unit attempts to self dock but keeps pushing docking station aside even though it is located against wall, unit cannot climb on low carpet, unit wanders total random covering some areas many times and not covering other areas. Very disapointed in performance. Question, how can we rectify problems we are experiencing?

1 answer
iRobot
Rebecca B.iRobot

Good Afternoon Gerry
I am not sure why this could be happening. Can you please contact our office directly on 1300 727 421 with reference C0159032, as we would very much like to go through some troubleshooting with you.
Kind regards iRobot


Get an answer from our members and iRobot representatives

Details

iRobot Roomba 860
  • Discontinued

iRobot Roomba 860

3.8
(11)
iRobot Roomba 866
  • Discontinued

iRobot Roomba 866

4.0
(7)
iRobot Roomba 890
  • Discontinued

iRobot Roomba 890

4.1
(8)
iRobot Roomba 880
  • Discontinued

iRobot Roomba 880

4.2
(20)
iRobot Roomba 870
  • Discontinued

iRobot Roomba 870

0.0
(0)
CategoryRobot Vacuum CleanersRobot Vacuum CleanersRobot Vacuum CleanersRobot Vacuum CleanersRobot Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP)$499$1099$1099$599$989
Weight3.8kg3.8kg
Replaced byiRobot Roomba 880

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.