1 photo
Isuzu D-MAX RA

Isuzu D-MAX RA (2008-2012)

3.6 from 20 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    5.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    4.5 (2)
  • Braking
    5.0 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.5 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (2)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (2)
  • Handling
    5.0 (2)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (2)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (2)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (1)
  • Features
    4.0 (2)
Previous
Next
Mick
MickPerth, WA
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Best ute I have ever owned

published

Purchased in August 2009 for $26,308.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Hasnt let me down

published

Bought my 2011 Dmax second hand in 2013. Fuel economy is great. Never had any issues other than needing a new clutch after burning the original out on our driveway lugging trailer loads of pavers out in a trailer. Its now done 190,000km and hasnt let me down. Ive had loads of different trucks over the years and isuzu have been the most reliable ive found.

Purchased for $26.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Linda
Linda Illawarra, NSW

Tappet cover removal

published

Has anyone had trouble removing the tappet cover as mine is stuck and don’t want to force it. I have a 2010 Isuzu DMax 3 lt. Any recommendations for loosening it would be great don’t want to crack it.

Purchased in January 2010.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RA compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
jenandcol
jenandcolvic, 3463
  • 3 reviews

d max

published

hi, the isuzu d max 2016 model it is tuff and rough not a family 4x2 or 4x4. i tow for living 5000 km a week ,i did 250000 km before i got some very bad fuel and the motor went bang. one thing that i learnt about dmax push them hard ,change oil/ filter at 15000 k ,auto 30000k diff 30000k

BadgeSX High Ride
Bodyspace cab
CabSpace Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Gary
Gary
  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes

Verry happy

published

I was advised by a few mecanics that the dmax was the best for the price a verry robust and economic diesel iv kept mine well servised and iv had no problems with it at all i get verry good econamy and the extra large tray gives as mutch space as a larger 4x4 the rear springs seam low but that is for ease of loading lifting fence post ect saves liftling so high and the springs take a lot of load and still ride well and handlewell but a rear lift looks better and gives better of road clearance verry practical ute

BadgeSX Farm Mate
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2014
Drive4WD
Related Articles
Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Mal R.
Mal R.Adelaide

Who invented this self locking idiocy?

published

Nearly as good as a HiLux. The key is an absolute pain. The car self locks if I stop to, say, answer a phone call or look at a view. Don't put the key in your pocket or put it on the key rack, it will lock!! A pain. Is there any way to disable this auto lock activity?
Hardest ride of any 4WD that I've ever ridden in. Consumption goes through the roof if you tow anything.
But in 8 years I've not had any major mechanical costs, other than grill trim falling off.

BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2010
Drive4WD

Blown engine

published

I have just ticked over 102,000 k's. Turbo let go shrapnel right through engine, even took out tops of the glow plugs. Costs to date $14,000 and I haven't paid for labour yet. Not happy Alice.
Had to replace engine driven fuel pump, injectors, turbo, water pump, glow plugs and the engine with a long engine not to mention glow plugs. This is my first Isuzu experience and well, what would you think?. The vehicle has been serviced every 10,000 km's.
I am 70 yrs old and use the vehicle for towing 5 mt boat plus general use. Seven years of use only.

BadgeSX
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2010
Drive4WD
Doug Riley
Doug Riley
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

great ute, great service from dealer

published

best towing vehicle I have ever owned ultra reliable;good on and off road fuel costs low , good auto, 12.5 LP100 loaded, 8.1LP100 mt the Dandenong dealer pattersons cant help enough servicing costs are reasonable appointments in cab good handling great finish fuel range extended with long ranger tank once you own one you wont part with it a very happy customer!

BadgeLS-U High Ride
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2010
Halvorsen
Halvorsen
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

BEST MODEL THEY MADE!

published

Bought from new, fitted Work and Leisure canopy..
Fantastic diesel, tough gearbox.
No nonsense very reliable multi purpose vehicle...search Google for reviews and reports of problems in THIS model...there are very very few. Most owners dont sell them for new ones.

No problems at all with any of the problems reported here but imho seats let it down, with no height control or extendable steering column.
Many thousands sold without any problems...a 'salt of the Earth' type of 4wd 'MPV'
Better fuel consumption than current 2.3 L / 2.4 L engines
One of the best looking dc utes ever made and 4wd magazine 4WD of the Year in 2009

BadgeLS
BodyDUAL CAB
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RA compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
macka17
macka17Yeppoon QLD
  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Ideal universal transport for the average male.(or active female)

published
BadgeSX High Ride
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Drive4WD
peter allott
peter allottTorbanlea
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it but some aspects a worry

published

Have a December 2011 Isuzu D-Max crew cab and have found it extremely comfortable and great to drive. It is a manual and has just clicked over 40000 kms. Had twice complained about fuel consumption (10 to 12 ltrs per 100 kms) but now 7.9 to 8 kms, happy with that!! Not happy when told at 40000 km service when told that tappets had to be adjusted! $800 to $1000 dollars! Go away I said. One of the best vehicles I have ever driven as far as braking concerned and very comfortable. Have done Sydney to Hervey Bat 1200 plus kms and no sore back!
Great brakes,comfort and easy to drive
40000 km service very expensive

BadgeLS
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionManual
JBJARROD
JBJARRODSydney
  • 17 reviews
  • 40 likes

Great Reliable Vehicle, Excellent Fuel Economy, Excellent Aftermarket Mods Available

published
TransmissionManual
BadgeLimited Edition III
CabDual Cab
Drive4WD
cath
cathdenman
  • 15 reviews
  • 4 likes

Reliable for the first 100,000

published

This has been a work ute, family vehicle. Completed the telegraph track and the cape with ease towing our camper 7000 kms. The door seals are disappointing as they do let in a fair bit of water and the clutch has just started to give us a little grief. A fan of the Isuzu engine and would consider buying another when due to update.

BadgeLS
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD

D-MAX 2010 39000 klms

published

1. After first two weeks, drivers side window dropped off its supports and down into door cavity. Two trips to Pacific Motors Maroochydore to fix, now passenger side is "Clicking".
2. Aircon fan control has only got 1 speed and thats full blast.
3. Plastic Chrome radiator Grill is so thin they snap at the ends in Auto car wash from jet spray.
4. Hydraulic Clutch has no more free play and cannot be adjusted,and is starting to slip ,oh yes and 27000 klms on new tyres.
5. Water leaks in through Firewall after washing.

It's fair to say I like the Isuzu to drive, but it's also fair to say that a vehicle with this price tag and such low klms with no offroad use is a poor example of quality.

Best ute ever owned

published

2010 2wd now done 145,000km. This ute has not been touched since new. Service it myself 5W30 full synthetic oil, roil platinum metal conditioner, new air and fuel filters every 20,000km. This ute is still brand new. Carry camper on back. Still giving 8L/100 on highway, 6.5L around town.
power

Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RA compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2
See all Isuzu D-MAX reviews

Questions & Answers

Sean Cuffe
Sean Cuffeasked
D-MAX RA (2008-2012)

I'm chasing the roof load capacity, any ideas?

1 answer
christo
christo

The latest Ronny Dahl youtube video goes through this in a bit of detail. I believe the Dmax on road capacity for vortex bars fixed to a canopy is around 70kgs (pared back to 50kg for offroad driving). I believe both must include the weight of the actual roof rack. Total weight of my Batwing Compact and Kickass Shower awning is around 22kgs. I don't plan to put maxtrax on roof as they are prone to fading in the sun. I hope this helps a bit!! I sometimes load the Oztent RV5 but certainly nothing more.

Ross R.
Ross R.asked
D-MAX RA (2008-2012)

i just brought 2009 4x4 it is in low 4 and wont change to 4 high or 2 high

No answers
marvelouscolection
marvelouscolectionasked
D-MAX RA (2008-2012)

Hi Dmax group...how to fix iddle rpm low..
4jj1 2008

No answers
See all Isuzu D-MAX RA (2008-2012) questions

Get an answer from our members and Isuzu representatives

Isuzu D-MAX RA (2008-2012)

Details

Compare all 11 Isuzu D-MAX
CategoryUtes
Release dateOct 2008
Discontinuation dateDec 2012
Replaced byIsuzu D-MAX RC.I
Compare all 11 Isuzu D-MAX

Other Utes

Previous
Next
See all Utes

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.