4 photos
Isuzu D-MAX RC.I

Isuzu D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016) (page 3 of 6)

3.9 from 135 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Utes in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Isuzu

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.1 (9)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (9)
  • Noise Level
    3.2 (9)
  • Braking
    4.1 (9)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (9)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.8 (9)
  • Suspension
    3.7 (9)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.4 (9)
  • Handling
    4.2 (9)
  • Interior Design
    3.8 (9)
  • Boot Size
    4.7 (6)
  • Comfort
    3.6 (9)
  • Features
    3.4 (9)
Previous
Next
Gerard
GerardSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Strong, reliable,capable.

published

You can feel the strength of the truck when you drive it. While driving it you realise just how reliable it is , and , won't give you troublesome motoring. With a 3.5 tonne towing capacity, it shows you how capable it really is.

Not a bad truck, but the service is beyond sub-standard

published
BadgeLS
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2014
tccack
tccackAdelaide
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Great ute. Very economical and capable of tough tasks

published

My vehicle has the Pedders GVM upgrade which does result in some rigidity in the ride when empty. However when loaded to capacity, this vehicle doesnt miss a beat. Very stable. Full loading barely affects fuel economy either which was a pleasant surprise. 800km from a tank of diesel is no problem. Very reliable versus Ranger and much better value for money than Hilux. Great farm ute overall and highly recommended.

BadgeSX High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Drive4WD
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
The Woz Review
The Woz ReviewSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 33 reviews
  • 43 likes

Filter Price Discrepancy

published
BadgeSX
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2015
Drive4WD
Neil.W59
Neil.W59South East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

A solid performer - strength not flashy

published
Neil.W59
Neil.W59

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Beck
BeckRichmond-Tweed, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

The best 4WD & family vehicle

published

Beautiful car to drive, handles the road smoothly not bumpy at all like other 4WD's. Interior is nice and simple in a charcoal, comfy seats, it's a pity the back seat isn't a splitting seat as it would make putting car seats in a lot easier. Very reliable car, a full tank of diesel gets us about 850 kilometres we do a lot of highway driving. She handles off road like a dream, beach driving was very smooth.

BadgeLS-M
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Drive4WD
waza
wazaHunter Region, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Dmax problems from new

published
BadgeLS
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2013
Drive0
Ken
KenRobinvale
  • 12 reviews
  • 8 likes

Fantastic

published

Have now had my D-Max for just over twelve months, have towed our navigator camper for a few 000km in that time and have been rapped with it, great fuel economy, tows like the van is only a very light trailer not the 1.7 Tonne that it is. Have had it in 4 x 4 mode a few times and it has done every thing that we have asked of it.

BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Drive4WD
Hazadad
HazadadSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

By far the best ute I have had

published
BadgeLS-T
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Drive4WD
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John
JohnKurrajong

Problem with radio reception

published

After sale service from dealer and head office was appalling no one ever returns a call .After i had the problem fixed by a radio specalist and gave the dealer the bill they sent it to head office who refused to pay .After 4 x radios and 3 x areials the service manager paid the bill but i had to fight to get a warranty problem fixed and paid for .Not very happy with dealer or head office.

BadgeLS High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2016
DriveRWD
Julian S
Julian SSpringwood
  • 13 reviews
  • 4 likes

Ok for what it is

published
BadgeEX
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2015
Vince05
Vince05South Yarra
  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

After service is terrible including head office

published

Purchased a new dmax, and within 2 months the dealer closed shop at city Isuzu. Had issue with the bars on the vehicle and have been trying to resolve the issue for months. Head office in QLD was just Terrible. Considering we have a fleet of these at work we will never be purchasing again!!!

BadgeSX High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
DriveRWD

Very reliable. Does what it says it will do..

published
BadgeLS-U High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2014
Drive4WD
Yablett
YablettAU
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love the D Max.

published

This is the second Isuzu LS-M D max that we have bought and could not be happier. The power is ample and the towing with our 2.9 tonne van is carefree and safe.
We have averaged 12.4 ltr/100klms over the 20,000 klms that we have travelled since purchasing the vehicle in December 2015.
The interior is adequate and is easy to keep clean with the vinyl floor and the dashboard is workable an easy to read.
Keep up the good work.

BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Drive4WD

IT'S REALLY A LUCKY DIP

published
BadgeLS-U High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2012
Drive4WD
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ray
RayAthelstone
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fuel gauge/ range estimator

published

Have a show special 2016 d max which when 1/4 full of fuel leaps around giving a range of 210 to 150 to 200 then low fuel etc., all in the space of a few Kms at steady speed,gauge also goes off the screen, then reappears.
Isuzu not helpful dealer trying hard to get reason, other owners I have spoken to have not had the problem, even 2 dealers unaware.
Isuzu state can only fix if a problem, their correspondence is woeful.
Hesitant to get uhf, reversing camera fitted and draws/ sliders fitted in rear until resolved.

BadgeLS
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Ewan32
Ewan32AU
  • 4 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great Ute, Love it

published

Have done 10,000Km. No hassles great ute to drive on long trips, comfortable ride, fuel varies from 8 to 9.5L/100km. Plenty of leg room, could easily fit 3 kids Seats in the back. Dislikes, the side mirrors make objects look soooo far away I don't see cars sneaking up behind me, also needs mudguards at the front of the rear tyres as they throw mud onto the side steps. Overall just love this ute so much I convinced my parents to buy the M-UX which they enjoy as well. I don't know of any real bad points to say about it. Would definitely recommend to anyone, family, tradie, farmer.

BadgeLS-U High Ride
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
DriveRWD

Very poor hand brake.

published

Probably the worse hand brake I've ever looked at. Parked on my drive which is a 1-4 slope. Sat there for about 4 mins and then ran away hitting my house. Narrowly missing one of my boys. Isuzu and dealer washing there hands with it saying it driver error not putting hand brake on properly. The rachet and pawl in them is very poorly designed. If the rest are like it it's only time before someone gets killed. Don't let it be your kids.

BadgeEX Farm Mate
BodyUte
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2016

2015 D max . Would not buy or recommend

published
BadgeSX
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2015
DriveRWD
Bobsky
BobskyMid North Coast, NSW
  • 13 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great vehicle and well built.

published
BadgeSX
BodyCab Chassis
CabSpace Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJuly 2016
Drive4WD

Destroyed our lives, frustrating vehicle and company

published
BadgeX-Runner
BodyUte
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD
MrRodeo
MrRodeoAU
  • 7 reviews
  • 17 likes

Why would you buy anything else!

published
BadgeSX High Ride
BodyUte
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
DriveRWD
Date PurchasedJan 2016
MrRodeo
MrRodeo
swampyro
swampyroQueensland
  • 8 reviews
  • 12 likes

1st Ute terrible, second Ute Great.

published
BadgeSX
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD
swampyro
swampyro
swampyro
swampyro

Bilstien suspension recommended &fittedby Dale at Ballarat Driveline has transformed a perambulator

published
BadgeLS-Terrain
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Drive4WD

No problems what so ever, towed 22ft caravan no problems, great fuel economy, turbo diesel, great d

published

Look after the vehicle and it will serve you well, never any problems except we sold it.. Great salesman in Shane at Harrison Isuzu Ute, Melton. SHANE ALWAYS LOOKS AFTER Us. Thankyou Harrison Isuzu, a great representative. Nonw we went back to you and you have given us a great deal on a 7 seater MUX Isuzu, diesel, great leg room for everyone. So happy we went back n got a grest deal on an Isuzu Ute for hubby, both tow up to 3 ton, all good n turbo diesal a good engine, thankyou Harrison Isuzu, Melton. N,, salesman Shane.

Page 3 of 6
See all Isuzu D-MAX reviews

Questions & Answers

Gudge
Gudge asked
D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

Is the 2016 Dmax a great 4x4

2 answers
tdock86
tdock86

Bit too broad of a question sorry Gudge. Depends on what your comparing it with and what your using it for. The clearance isn’t great, the only traction aids off road are a terrible outdated traction control system. No rear limited slip differential or locking diffs. Reliable engine but probably the least torque (380Nm) of its class for the year. I’ve owned a 2017 (430Nm) since new, modified the hell out of it (diff locks, canopy etc) taken a lot of places including NSW, NT but mostly VIC high country and I wouldn’t go near Isuzu again. Poor build quality, average performance for premium price and disgusting customer service if anything goes pear shaped. Reliable engine though so they say

Gudge
Gudge

Thanks ill stay way

Graham C.
Graham C.asked
D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

What does a new auto cost for a 2015 Isuzu dmax 4x4

No answers
Teddy T.
Teddy T.asked
D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

The rear differential has failed again for the second time is this a problem when towing heavy loads I use my D-max for work daily towing a concrete pump

No answers
See all Isuzu D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016) questions

Get an answer from our members and Isuzu representatives

Isuzu D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

Details

Compare all 11 Isuzu D-MAX
CategoryUtes
Engine4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel
Max Power130kW @ 3600rpm
Max Torque380Nm @ 1800-3000rpm
Country of ManufactureThailand
Release dateJune 2012
Discontinuation dateDec 2016
Replaced byIsuzu D-MAX RC.II
Compare all 11 Isuzu D-MAX

Other Utes

Previous
Next
See all Utes

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.