4 photos
Isuzu D-MAX RC.I

Isuzu D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

3.9 from 135 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Utes in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Isuzu

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    2.0 (2)
  • Braking
    4.0 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.0 (2)
  • Suspension
    3.5 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (2)
  • Handling
    4.0 (2)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (2)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    3.5 (2)
  • Features
    2.5 (2)
Previous
Next
Sam L.
Sam L.Sydney
  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

It's got its good points and not so good

published

Purchased in April 2016 at Isuzu Dealers for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Dave C
Dave CPerth, WA
  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Is the D-Max a genuine tradesman type vehicle

published

Purchased in March 2016 for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
allan
allanwarragul, vic, 3820
  • 2 reviews

Isuzu canopy

published

the Isuzu canopy is no good , after 3 years the side glass on the r h side of lift up window started to come out of holder, Isuzu would not fix it as canopy is warranted for 3 years or 100,000 km, the repairer told me the frame is buckled and needed a new one. so I will have to keep window closed.not good enough when vehicle is 5 years warranty ,I had it back to Isuzu a few times to stop it leaking .

BadgeLS-U
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Drive4WD
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
LITTLE ACKMAN
LITTLE ACKMANWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

RUST AND GEARBOX PROBLEM

published
BadgeLS
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Drive4WD

Seatbelts Crap

published

Seatbelts lock when you lean forward, pick something up from the floor or go to adjust the mirror. Isuzu says it's a safety feature but as an end user I say safety issue. You have to stop and undo the belt and let it retract right back before putting it back on and its illegal to stop on a motorway. IDIOTS!!!!! Had other issues but can dealt with those as things that just happen!

BadgeLS-T
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2012
Drive4WD

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next

Not a bad truck, but the service is beyond sub-standard

published
BadgeLS
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2014
waza
wazaHunter Region, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Dmax problems from new

published
BadgeLS
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2013
Drive0
Julian S
Julian SSpringwood
  • 13 reviews
  • 4 likes

Ok for what it is

published
BadgeEX
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2015
swampyro
swampyroQueensland
  • 8 reviews
  • 12 likes

1st Ute terrible, second Ute Great.

published
BadgeSX
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD
swampyro
swampyro
swampyro
swampyro
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rob
RobMandurah
  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good Mechanically . Poor paint Quality . Sub - Standard Seats

published

Great Drive . Good Towing . Completely let down by the drivers seat falling apart after less than two years .
Dealer and customer complaints department not interested , claiming it is not a warrenty issue but due to Ware & Tare . How can that be on a ute that is not even a Tradies vehicle

BadgeLS High Ride
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD
steve
steveKimberley, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

10k Replacement LS-M

published

This 2014 model has now got digital press button dash display...pain in the [censor word removed]. 09 model was easy and effective to change. How does "Elapse time" help me drive? new model has steel rim as spare so now unless I replace it with an alloy, I cannot rotate it every 10k to maintain even tyre wear among all 5 wheels. No rear speakers in the doors even though the ports are there!!!! Dust ingress is more evident around doors.
Gear box VERY notchy from 1st to 2nd gear, most times crunches. Must make low rev change very smooth and carefully.
I will not speak kindly to others considering a D-Max. Was very happy with 09 model........why did they mess with it?
aesthetics
Poor warranty backup

BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD
jofo
jofoBellthorpe
  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

2013 SX Space Cab auto cab chassis 4wd

published
BadgeSX
CabCab Chassis
TransmissionAutomatic

Front passenger seat belt locking

published

Front passenger seat belt locks up you cant lean forward to get drink from holder you go over a bump it gets tighter. You have to unclip let it all the way back in and then do it up. Not happy big safety issue.
Who was the bright spark that got that idea through development and into the D-Max!!!

Should have bought 2 Great Walls !!

published
Paddy
PaddyNaracoorte, South Australia

Not so tough D-Max

published

I bought the ute new in January and it's now done 20,000km. It drives better then my car and is comfy on long trips. Truthfully I wouldn't buy another one or recommend one to someone planning on doing a fair bit of four wheel driving, as a trader ute or tow vehicle I would.
Fuel economy, comfort.
On third alternator, diff had problem, not very capable off road, not tough enough off road

Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
See all Isuzu D-MAX reviews

Questions & Answers

Gudge
Gudge asked
D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

Is the 2016 Dmax a great 4x4

2 answers
tdock86
tdock86

Bit too broad of a question sorry Gudge. Depends on what your comparing it with and what your using it for. The clearance isn’t great, the only traction aids off road are a terrible outdated traction control system. No rear limited slip differential or locking diffs. Reliable engine but probably the least torque (380Nm) of its class for the year. I’ve owned a 2017 (430Nm) since new, modified the hell out of it (diff locks, canopy etc) taken a lot of places including NSW, NT but mostly VIC high country and I wouldn’t go near Isuzu again. Poor build quality, average performance for premium price and disgusting customer service if anything goes pear shaped. Reliable engine though so they say

Gudge
Gudge

Thanks ill stay way

Graham C.
Graham C.asked
D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

What does a new auto cost for a 2015 Isuzu dmax 4x4

No answers
Teddy T.
Teddy T.asked
D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

The rear differential has failed again for the second time is this a problem when towing heavy loads I use my D-max for work daily towing a concrete pump

No answers
See all Isuzu D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016) questions

Get an answer from our members and Isuzu representatives

Isuzu D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

Details

Compare all 11 Isuzu D-MAX
CategoryUtes
Engine4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel
Max Power130kW @ 3600rpm
Max Torque380Nm @ 1800-3000rpm
Country of ManufactureThailand
Release dateJune 2012
Discontinuation dateDec 2016
Replaced byIsuzu D-MAX RC.II
Compare all 11 Isuzu D-MAX

Other Utes

Previous
Next
See all Utes

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.