4 photos
Isuzu D-MAX RC.I

Isuzu D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

3.9 from 137 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Utes in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Isuzu

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (3)
  • Noise Level
    2.0 (3)
  • Braking
    3.3 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.7 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    2.7 (3)
  • Suspension
    3.0 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.7 (3)
  • Handling
    3.3 (3)
  • Interior Design
    3.7 (3)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    2.7 (3)
  • Features
    2.3 (3)
Previous
Clear all
Next
Nick S
Nick SHunter Region, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Quite disappointing for a 2016 vehicle.

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Isuzu Mebourne for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sam L.
Sam L.Sydney
  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

It's got its good points and not so good

published

Purchased in April 2016 at Isuzu Dealers for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dave C
Dave CPerth, WA
  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Is the D-Max a genuine tradesman type vehicle

published

Purchased in March 2016 for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
allan
allanwarragul, vic, 3820
  • 2 reviews

Isuzu canopy

published

the Isuzu canopy is no good , after 3 years the side glass on the r h side of lift up window started to come out of holder, Isuzu would not fix it as canopy is warranted for 3 years or 100,000 km, the repairer told me the frame is buckled and needed a new one. so I will have to keep window closed.not good enough when vehicle is 5 years warranty ,I had it back to Isuzu a few times to stop it leaking .

BadgeLS-U
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Warranty ambiguous and misleading

published
BadgePoor
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Unreliable

published
Badge£0
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Zipbmx
ZipbmxRichmond-Tweed, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Better off buying a 90s model commodore

published

I have owned my dmax just over two years (2015 model)
Worst purchase I have ever bought. A salute lemon. All components are garbage.
The aireil above the windscreen snapped off when washing the car. The front grill plate fell off after around a year. The metallic paint has absolutely no primer underneath therefore the car rusts when you have a minor scratch. The driver site seat is already ripped just from climbing in and out of the ute.
Would not recommend this ute in any way. I don’t even know how I can get rid of it...

BadgeLS-T
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
LITTLE ACKMAN
LITTLE ACKMANWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

RUST AND GEARBOX PROBLEM

published
BadgeLS
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Seatbelts Crap

published

Seatbelts lock when you lean forward, pick something up from the floor or go to adjust the mirror. Isuzu says it's a safety feature but as an end user I say safety issue. You have to stop and undo the belt and let it retract right back before putting it back on and its illegal to stop on a motorway. IDIOTS!!!!! Had other issues but can dealt with those as things that just happen!

BadgeLS-T
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2012
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Macca
MaccaWarrnambool
  • 3 reviews
  • 11 likes

Dont buy a D max

published
BadgeLS High Ride
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSept 2016
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
hawky73
hawky73COOKTOWN

Blown head at 47000 kms

published

Car appears to have blown a head gasket at 47000km. Whilst returning from a family holiday. We were stranded at Airlie Beach with no after sales back-up. It has now been two weeks, having just returned from Airlie by hire car, which I was forced to return from Cooktown, over 1000km. The vehicle has not even been dismantled for a proper diagnosis. I still have no vehicle for work as a self-employed electrician. I have always kept up to date with my services with approved Isuzu dealers.

BadgeLS-T
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Not a bad truck, but the service is beyond sub-standard

published
BadgeLS
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
waza
wazaHunter Region, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Dmax problems from new

published
BadgeLS
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2013
Drive0
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Julian S
Julian SSpringwood
  • 13 reviews
  • 4 likes

Ok for what it is

published
BadgeEX
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vince05
Vince05South Yarra
  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

After service is terrible including head office

published

Purchased a new dmax, and within 2 months the dealer closed shop at city Isuzu. Had issue with the bars on the vehicle and have been trying to resolve the issue for months. Head office in QLD was just Terrible. Considering we have a fleet of these at work we will never be purchasing again!!!

BadgeSX High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
DriveRWD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2
See all Isuzu D-MAX reviews

Questions & Answers

Phil P.
Phil P.asked
D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

Has anyone had an issue with the radio cutting out intermittently and getting a loud crackling mouse from the speakers?

1 answer
6wafr
6wafr

Phil I haven’t heard of that problem but I have to ask you this, you weren’t eating a cheese sandwich at that time were you?

Gudge
Gudge asked
D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

Is the 2016 Dmax a great 4x4

2 answers
tdock86
tdock86

Bit too broad of a question sorry Gudge. Depends on what your comparing it with and what your using it for. The clearance isn’t great, the only traction aids off road are a terrible outdated traction control system. No rear limited slip differential or locking diffs. Reliable engine but probably the least torque (380Nm) of its class for the year. I’ve owned a 2017 (430Nm) since new, modified the hell out of it (diff locks, canopy etc) taken a lot of places including NSW, NT but mostly VIC high country and I wouldn’t go near Isuzu again. Poor build quality, average performance for premium price and disgusting customer service if anything goes pear shaped. Reliable engine though so they say

Gudge
Gudge

Thanks ill stay way

Graham C.
Graham C.asked
D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

What does a new auto cost for a 2015 Isuzu dmax 4x4

No answers
See all Isuzu D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016) questions

Get an answer from our members and Isuzu representatives

Isuzu D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

Details

Compare all 11 Isuzu D-MAX
CategoryUtes
Engine4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel
Max Power130kW @ 3600rpm
Max Torque380Nm @ 1800-3000rpm
Country of ManufactureThailand
Release dateJune 2012
Discontinuation dateDec 2016
Replaced byIsuzu D-MAX RC.II
Compare all 11 Isuzu D-MAX

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.