4 photos
Isuzu D-MAX RC.I

Isuzu D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

4.0 from 138 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Utes in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Isuzu? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.4 (5)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (5)
  • Noise Level
    2.6 (5)
  • Braking
    3.8 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.0 (5)
  • Suspension
    3.4 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (5)
  • Handling
    3.6 (5)
  • Interior Design
    3.4 (5)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (3)
  • Comfort
    3.2 (5)
  • Features
    2.8 (5)
Previous
Clear all
Next
Nick S
Nick SHunter Region, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Quite disappointing for a 2016 vehicle.

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Isuzu Mebourne for $40,000.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Marc
MarcGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Wow. What a ute.

published

Just bought my first max. 2015 ls-u high ride 60000km.
Still looks like new inside and out. 3 lt turbo desiel drives great.
Used for work daily and towing motorbikes on the weekend.
Love it.

Purchased in October 2020 at Genesis isuzu for $29,000.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sam L.
Sam L.Sydney
  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

It's got its good points and not so good

published

Purchased in April 2016 at Isuzu Dealers for $40,000.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dave C
Dave CPerth, WA
  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Is the D-Max a genuine tradesman type vehicle

published

Purchased in March 2016 for $40,000.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
allan
allanwarragul, vic, 3820
  • 2 reviews

Isuzu canopy

published

the Isuzu canopy is no good , after 3 years the side glass on the r h side of lift up window started to come out of holder, Isuzu would not fix it as canopy is warranted for 3 years or 100,000 km, the repairer told me the frame is buckled and needed a new one. so I will have to keep window closed.not good enough when vehicle is 5 years warranty ,I had it back to Isuzu a few times to stop it leaking .

BadgeLS-U
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jez
JezSydney, NSW

No fuss ute

published
BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2015
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Warranty ambiguous and misleading

published
BadgePoor
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
Bill
BillCanberra

Really good ute let down by very average dealers

published
BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2014
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Reliable work ute

published

2014 model auto I've found nothing wrong with the d-max a lot better to drive than the triton feels the same as the hi-lux interior as plenty of room front and back drives well
The only thing I've found that's annoying is if you take of quickley the Tyers spin
And the canopy leaks but that's not an Isuzu fault

BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bluey
BlueyDarwin

Good reliable ute in remote area

published
BadgeLS
BodyCab Chassis
CabSpace Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Unreliable

published
Badge£0
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Zipbmx
ZipbmxRichmond-Tweed, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Better off buying a 90s model commodore

published

I have owned my dmax just over two years (2015 model)
Worst purchase I have ever bought. A salute lemon. All components are garbage.
The aireil above the windscreen snapped off when washing the car. The front grill plate fell off after around a year. The metallic paint has absolutely no primer underneath therefore the car rusts when you have a minor scratch. The driver site seat is already ripped just from climbing in and out of the ute.
Would not recommend this ute in any way. I don’t even know how I can get rid of it...

BadgeLS-T
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
LITTLE ACKMAN
LITTLE ACKMANWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

RUST AND GEARBOX PROBLEM

published
BadgeLS
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Seatbelts Crap

published

Seatbelts lock when you lean forward, pick something up from the floor or go to adjust the mirror. Isuzu says it's a safety feature but as an end user I say safety issue. You have to stop and undo the belt and let it retract right back before putting it back on and its illegal to stop on a motorway. IDIOTS!!!!! Had other issues but can dealt with those as things that just happen!

BadgeLS-T
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2012
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rob
Robaustralind
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Super happy

published

Little more noisy than other vehicles but fuel economy is terrific compared to my Kluger. Great storage - although cup holders are way too small for most water/drink bottles. great to park, super comfortable to drive. tows 2T no problem. I would definitely buy another if they sort out cup holder issue.

BadgeLS-T
Bodywagon
Cabwagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 3
See all Isuzu D-MAX reviews

Questions & Answers

Reece R.
Reece R.asked
D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

Does anyone know how to pull the airbag off a 2014 sx dmax

No answers
Merlita W.
Merlita W.asked
D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

GPS navigation unit wont go on my 2016 Isuzu D/max . Hardly used it and was told by the dealer was $600 to replace . Also was told this was a common fault . Radio works ................any suggestions. Roy

No answers
Phil P.
Phil P.asked
D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

Has anyone had an issue with the radio cutting out intermittently and getting a loud crackling mouse from the speakers?

1 answer
6wafr
6wafr

Phil I haven’t heard of that problem but I have to ask you this, you weren’t eating a cheese sandwich at that time were you?

See all Isuzu D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016) questions

Get an answer from our members

Isuzu D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

Details

Compare all 13 Isuzu D-MAX
CategoryUtes
Engine4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel
Max Power130kW @ 3600rpm
Max Torque380Nm @ 1800-3000rpm
Country of ManufactureThailand
Release dateJune 2012
Discontinuation dateDec 2016
Replaced byIsuzu D-MAX RC.II
Compare all 13 Isuzu D-MAX

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.