4 photos
Isuzu D-MAX RC.I

Isuzu D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

3.9 from 135 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Utes in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Isuzu

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (2)
  • Braking
    4.5 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.5 (2)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (2)
  • Handling
    4.0 (2)
  • Interior Design
    3.0 (2)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (2)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (2)
  • Features
    3.5 (2)
Previous
Next
Marc
MarcGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Wow. What a ute.

published

Just bought my first max. 2015 ls-u high ride 60000km.
Still looks like new inside and out. 3 lt turbo desiel drives great.
Used for work daily and towing motorbikes on the weekend.
Love it.

Purchased in October 2020 at Genesis isuzu for $29,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jez
JezSydney, NSW

No fuss ute

published
BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2015
Drive4WD
Bill
BillCanberra

Really good ute let down by very average dealers

published
BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2014
Drive4WD
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Reliable work ute

published

2014 model auto I've found nothing wrong with the d-max a lot better to drive than the triton feels the same as the hi-lux interior as plenty of room front and back drives well
The only thing I've found that's annoying is if you take of quickley the Tyers spin
And the canopy leaks but that's not an Isuzu fault

BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014
Bluey
BlueyDarwin

Good reliable ute in remote area

published
BadgeLS
BodyCab Chassis
CabSpace Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2015

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Rob
Robaustralind
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Super happy

published

Little more noisy than other vehicles but fuel economy is terrific compared to my Kluger. Great storage - although cup holders are way too small for most water/drink bottles. great to park, super comfortable to drive. tows 2T no problem. I would definitely buy another if they sort out cup holder issue.

BadgeLS-T
Bodywagon
Cabwagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Drive4WD
Doggone
Doggone
  • 14 reviews
  • 10 likes

165000 klms in four years and going strong

published

The Dmax does everything i ask her to do every time. I tow a 21.5ft caravan and you can't feel it. Fuel consumption is fantastic compared to its Peers and for a ute its a comfortable drive. The long range tank i had put in makes touring more of a pleasure.

BadgeLS High Ride
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2013
Tim
TimCentral West, NSW
  • 13 reviews
  • 20 likes

Great all round family car and oh it's a Ute too.

published
BadgeLS High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Drive4WD
Saint
SaintBurnie
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Solid D-Max

published

Very reliable, solid vehicle. Goes well off road. It has the largest room in the back and can seat 3 adults to go 3-400kms then they get a bit sore. Servicing is expensive. Controls are good, mine is a 2013 twin cab. It looks good. Don't buy off market accessories but don't work in my opinion. Good car -not sure of its resale value. I will sell it at about 85,000k and see what happens. It badly needs a reversing camera- vision is poor when reversing/parking

BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2013
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
dan55522
dan55522Perth, WA
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Mechanically excellent so far but interior comfort is the worst i ever seen

published
BadgeSX
BodyCab Chassis
CabSpace Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Drive4WD
Gerard
GerardSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Strong, reliable,capable.

published

You can feel the strength of the truck when you drive it. While driving it you realise just how reliable it is , and , won't give you troublesome motoring. With a 3.5 tonne towing capacity, it shows you how capable it really is.

The Woz Review
The Woz ReviewSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 33 reviews
  • 43 likes

Filter Price Discrepancy

published
BadgeSX
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2015
Drive4WD
Neil.W59
Neil.W59South East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

A solid performer - strength not flashy

published
Neil.W59
Neil.W59
Ken
KenRobinvale
  • 12 reviews
  • 8 likes

Fantastic

published

Have now had my D-Max for just over twelve months, have towed our navigator camper for a few 000km in that time and have been rapped with it, great fuel economy, tows like the van is only a very light trailer not the 1.7 Tonne that it is. Have had it in 4 x 4 mode a few times and it has done every thing that we have asked of it.

BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Drive4WD

IT'S REALLY A LUCKY DIP

published
BadgeLS-U High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2012
Drive4WD
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2
See all Isuzu D-MAX reviews

Questions & Answers

Gudge
Gudge asked
D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

Is the 2016 Dmax a great 4x4

2 answers
tdock86
tdock86

Bit too broad of a question sorry Gudge. Depends on what your comparing it with and what your using it for. The clearance isn’t great, the only traction aids off road are a terrible outdated traction control system. No rear limited slip differential or locking diffs. Reliable engine but probably the least torque (380Nm) of its class for the year. I’ve owned a 2017 (430Nm) since new, modified the hell out of it (diff locks, canopy etc) taken a lot of places including NSW, NT but mostly VIC high country and I wouldn’t go near Isuzu again. Poor build quality, average performance for premium price and disgusting customer service if anything goes pear shaped. Reliable engine though so they say

Gudge
Gudge

Thanks ill stay way

Graham C.
Graham C.asked
D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

What does a new auto cost for a 2015 Isuzu dmax 4x4

No answers
Teddy T.
Teddy T.asked
D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

The rear differential has failed again for the second time is this a problem when towing heavy loads I use my D-max for work daily towing a concrete pump

No answers
See all Isuzu D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016) questions

Get an answer from our members and Isuzu representatives

Isuzu D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

Details

Compare all 11 Isuzu D-MAX
CategoryUtes
Engine4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel
Max Power130kW @ 3600rpm
Max Torque380Nm @ 1800-3000rpm
Country of ManufactureThailand
Release dateJune 2012
Discontinuation dateDec 2016
Replaced byIsuzu D-MAX RC.II
Compare all 11 Isuzu D-MAX

Other Utes

Previous
Next
See all Utes

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.