4 photos
Isuzu D-MAX RC.I

Isuzu D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016) (page 2 of 4)

3.9 from 137 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Utes in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Isuzu

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.8 (6)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (6)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (6)
  • Braking
    4.3 (6)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (6)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.7 (6)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (6)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.8 (6)
  • Handling
    4.8 (6)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (6)
  • Boot Size
    4.8 (5)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (6)
  • Features
    4.0 (6)
Previous
Next
Sammy A
Sammy AAdelaide
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing Car

published

Performance is great
Handling is easy
Noise is minimal for a diesel
Received free dash mats so the dashboard is good, has touch screen and phone connectivity.
large amount of leg room in both front and back.
Very reliable and havent had an issue since the day we brought it.

BadgeLS-U High Ride
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Drive4WD
jason
jasonBelconnen 2615, ACT
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Should have bought one years ago

published

Brought a lsu crew cab about 12 months ago and love it handles great tows great has great fuel economy when towing our 2.5 camper on and off road . Have owned 5 different land cruisers over the years and wish I had brought a dmax earlier a very good car for the family or work

BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2016
Drive4WD

Other Utes

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
oldgrey
oldgreyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

i would buy another one

published

good on open road- a handful in coles carpark. tis a bit noisier than i expected.
comfortable seating- good vision
fuel economy is great
comes with 17 inch alloy road wheels and 16 inch steel spare!!- 4 highway terrain and 1 all terrain
key is very sensitive- can unlock car with key in pocket

BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Bianca
BiancaSouthern and Hills, SA
  • 21 reviews
  • 8 likes

Amazing Car!!

published

Car drives well! My wife can even drive it (and she couldnt drive manual before this car!) Handles well and drives smooth, one tank lasts a long time as well! Great family car, my little one fits comfortably in the back and loves being able to look out the windows!

BadgeLS-U High Ride
BodyUte
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Drive4WD
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
TonyL
TonyLCOFFS HARBOUR
  • 17 reviews
  • 15 likes

Reliabilty Plus

published

I have put this vehicle thru heaps, travelled the Cape, Camerons Corner, Tassie back blocks and got over BIG RED first attempt.
On the bitumen and absolute pleasure to drive.
My only reservation, not a negative but suspension a little rigid for passenger comfort..
However 9.5 out of 10

Bryan
BryanBallarat
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love my D-Max

published

We went to have a look at the Isuzu because we needed something better to tow our caravan with, we only went to look, and we came home with a new D-Max, we fell in love with the X-Runner as soon as we saw it. It tows our caravan beautifully, has everything we want, really quiet inside, and really economical. Really good purchase price.

BadgeX-Runner
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
hawky73
hawky73COOKTOWN

Blown head at 47000 kms

published

Car appears to have blown a head gasket at 47000km. Whilst returning from a family holiday. We were stranded at Airlie Beach with no after sales back-up. It has now been two weeks, having just returned from Airlie by hire car, which I was forced to return from Cooktown, over 1000km. The vehicle has not even been dismantled for a proper diagnosis. I still have no vehicle for work as a self-employed electrician. I have always kept up to date with my services with approved Isuzu dealers.

BadgeLS-T
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Drive4WD

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
How to be more eco-friendly when you're gifting this Christmas

Christmas seems to go hand in hand with consumption, but that doesn’t mean you can’t be eco-friendly with your gift giving. We’ve got tips for everything from shopping sustainably to zero-waste packaging, so that you can have a greener holiday season.

Clara V.
Clara V.30 Nov 2021
how-to-be-more-eco-friendly-when-youre-gifting-this-christmas
Next
Norman Spencer
Norman SpencerWide Bay-Burnett, QLD
  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

It's the best Tug I have had

published

After getting rid of a Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland (that could not pull pussy up a hill) and purchasing the new LS-T Isuzu D Max 4 Door Ute,it was the best move I have ever made. I have traveled over the state of Tasmania and it hasn't missed a beat. I don't even know the van is behind me. We started in QLD and come down through NSW and VIC on our trip.

BadgeLS-Terrain
BodyUte
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Drive4WD

Other Utes

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Kim
Kim
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent on and off road

published

Excellent vehicle, can't fault. It is also excellent on and off road. We have the automatic transmission and I would recommend a oil cooler for towing with an automatic of any vehicle brand. This vehicle has been up to Kalumburu and back without any problems (can't say the same with the Kimberley Kamper) Would purchase again.

BadgeNot sure
BodyCab Chassis
CabSpace Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
margie
margiePeel, WA
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

after 45 years..our first choice for a new vehicle

published
BadgeSX
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Gustaph
GustaphSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very comfortable and fantastic to drive. Love it!!

published
BadgeLS-U High Ride
BodyUte
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Drive4WD

Other Utes

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
tccack
tccackAdelaide
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Great ute. Very economical and capable of tough tasks

published

My vehicle has the Pedders GVM upgrade which does result in some rigidity in the ride when empty. However when loaded to capacity, this vehicle doesnt miss a beat. Very stable. Full loading barely affects fuel economy either which was a pleasant surprise. 800km from a tank of diesel is no problem. Very reliable versus Ranger and much better value for money than Hilux. Great farm ute overall and highly recommended.

BadgeSX High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Drive4WD
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Beck
BeckRichmond-Tweed, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

The best 4WD & family vehicle

published

Beautiful car to drive, handles the road smoothly not bumpy at all like other 4WD's. Interior is nice and simple in a charcoal, comfy seats, it's a pity the back seat isn't a splitting seat as it would make putting car seats in a lot easier. Very reliable car, a full tank of diesel gets us about 850 kilometres we do a lot of highway driving. She handles off road like a dream, beach driving was very smooth.

BadgeLS-M
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Drive4WD
Hazadad
HazadadSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

By far the best ute I have had

published
BadgeLS-T
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Drive4WD
John
JohnKurrajong

Problem with radio reception

published

After sale service from dealer and head office was appalling no one ever returns a call .After i had the problem fixed by a radio specalist and gave the dealer the bill they sent it to head office who refused to pay .After 4 x radios and 3 x areials the service manager paid the bill but i had to fight to get a warranty problem fixed and paid for .Not very happy with dealer or head office.

BadgeLS High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2016
DriveRWD
Vince05
Vince05South Yarra
  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

After service is terrible including head office

published

Purchased a new dmax, and within 2 months the dealer closed shop at city Isuzu. Had issue with the bars on the vehicle and have been trying to resolve the issue for months. Head office in QLD was just Terrible. Considering we have a fleet of these at work we will never be purchasing again!!!

BadgeSX High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
DriveRWD

Very reliable. Does what it says it will do..

published
BadgeLS-U High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2014
Drive4WD
Yablett
YablettAU
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love the D Max.

published

This is the second Isuzu LS-M D max that we have bought and could not be happier. The power is ample and the towing with our 2.9 tonne van is carefree and safe.
We have averaged 12.4 ltr/100klms over the 20,000 klms that we have travelled since purchasing the vehicle in December 2015.
The interior is adequate and is easy to keep clean with the vinyl floor and the dashboard is workable an easy to read.
Keep up the good work.

BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Drive4WD
Ewan32
Ewan32AU
  • 4 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great Ute, Love it

published

Have done 10,000Km. No hassles great ute to drive on long trips, comfortable ride, fuel varies from 8 to 9.5L/100km. Plenty of leg room, could easily fit 3 kids Seats in the back. Dislikes, the side mirrors make objects look soooo far away I don't see cars sneaking up behind me, also needs mudguards at the front of the rear tyres as they throw mud onto the side steps. Overall just love this ute so much I convinced my parents to buy the M-UX which they enjoy as well. I don't know of any real bad points to say about it. Would definitely recommend to anyone, family, tradie, farmer.

BadgeLS-U High Ride
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
DriveRWD

Very poor hand brake.

published

Probably the worse hand brake I've ever looked at. Parked on my drive which is a 1-4 slope. Sat there for about 4 mins and then ran away hitting my house. Narrowly missing one of my boys. Isuzu and dealer washing there hands with it saying it driver error not putting hand brake on properly. The rachet and pawl in them is very poorly designed. If the rest are like it it's only time before someone gets killed. Don't let it be your kids.

BadgeEX Farm Mate
BodyUte
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2016

2015 D max . Would not buy or recommend

published
BadgeSX
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2015
DriveRWD

Destroyed our lives, frustrating vehicle and company

published
BadgeX-Runner
BodyUte
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD
MrRodeo
MrRodeoAU
  • 7 reviews
  • 17 likes

Why would you buy anything else!

published
BadgeSX High Ride
BodyUte
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
DriveRWD
Date PurchasedJan 2016
MrRodeo
MrRodeo
Richie
Richieperth

Crap company! Crap car!!

published

I convinced 2 mates to buy a dmax after I bought one. And 2 of us have the same shudder in the automatic gear box. Mine started at about 20 to 30 000 hour s at 5000. Isuzu wiping its hands of it. The dealer is doing the same. I have got independent analysis from a gearbox specialist to fix with a cost of $6000.00. Pathetic company and pathetic service. I recommend you stay clear.

BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Drive4WD
Timmy2Dogs
Timmy2DogsSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

2013 Dual Cab LSM ... Awesome vehicle - should have bought one sooner

published
BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD
Page 2 of 4
See all Isuzu D-MAX reviews

Other Utes

Previous
Next
See all Utes

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.