4 photos
Isuzu D-MAX RC.I

Isuzu D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

4.0 from 138 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Utes in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Isuzu? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.5 (11)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (11)
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (10)
  • Braking
    4.4 (11)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (11)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.1 (11)
  • Suspension
    3.9 (11)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.6 (11)
  • Handling
    4.5 (11)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (11)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (8)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (11)
  • Features
    3.7 (11)
Previous
Clear all
Next
Tony
TonyFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Hard to fault

published

Bought new just over 5 years ago and had no issues. Only taken to dealer for servicing and have no complaints. As others have said the key switches are too easy to switch accidentally and the drivers window switch goes to auto too easily (very annoying) and key in ignition with door open beeper can be annoying. Bought it for travelling and towing which does perfectly. Speak to other travellers with same car they have nothing but praise for their car also. Has 65k and still on original tyres, brakes, battery never had wheel alignment or a/c trouble. No even a flat tyre!

Purchased in November 2016 for $28,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bill F
Bill FSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Great vehicle

published

I use my car to tow a 2100 kg Caravan as well as transport around town
The car gets used daily
It gets serviced normally 10000 ks however when towing get serviced every 5000 ks we have had no problems. Fuel economy around town exceptional

Purchased in March 2019 for $21,500.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Basho81
Basho81AU
  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Honest, Reliable 4x4

published

I use this Ute as my daily and also do alot of offroading in it. I bought the SX base model and then modified it. I can't think of a fault worth noting, only small issues. I have had the ute for 5 years now and have no plans on selling it for atleast another 5 years. I love it. Very reliable. Average service cost is $400. If you want fancy interiors then this Ute is not for you.

Purchased in July 2016 for $37,200.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
christo
christoPerth, WA
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Twin cab with canopy 2014 4wd auto SX

published

Bought for 27000 at about 130000kms done a couple of years ago.About 13000 cheaper than GX diesel Prado. 5spd auto 3 litre turbo diesel.Isuzu canopy .Rated 3500kgs towing but will have 1.2 tonne camper trailer Honestly use 9,2 litres per 100.I’d say between 800 to 900km range on 76 litre tank ( not towing).Very happy with it

Purchased in January 2019 for $27,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Marc
MarcGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Wow. What a ute.

published

Just bought my first max. 2015 ls-u high ride 60000km.
Still looks like new inside and out. 3 lt turbo desiel drives great.
Used for work daily and towing motorbikes on the weekend.
Love it.

Purchased in October 2020 at Genesis isuzu for $29,000.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bateup
BateupSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 10 reviews
  • 11 likes

Tough and Reliable Ute

published

Purchased in November 2013 at Isuzu Dealers for $38,490.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sam L.
Sam L.Sydney
  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

It's got its good points and not so good

published

Purchased in April 2016 at Isuzu Dealers for $40,000.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
Ross
RossSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Dmax Auto

published

Purchased in June 2014 for $48,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dave C
Dave CPerth, WA
  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Is the D-Max a genuine tradesman type vehicle

published

Purchased in March 2016 for $40,000.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
allan
allanwarragul, vic, 3820
  • 2 reviews

Isuzu canopy

published

the Isuzu canopy is no good , after 3 years the side glass on the r h side of lift up window started to come out of holder, Isuzu would not fix it as canopy is warranted for 3 years or 100,000 km, the repairer told me the frame is buckled and needed a new one. so I will have to keep window closed.not good enough when vehicle is 5 years warranty ,I had it back to Isuzu a few times to stop it leaking .

BadgeLS-U
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bigbadal
BigbadalGisborne

Tough

published

Without doubt the most genuine workhorse out there , if you want refinement get an Amarock , if you want reliability and an engine capable of 600k , D Max all the way , I had the first one 240k still on original clutch , rotors and only replaced pads once towing 3 ton regularly.

BadgeLS
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2009
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
DAVO
DAVOWando Bridge
  • 3 reviews

Best truck on the market

published

These vehicles are built to last,I know of allot of farmers who had Rodeos and ran them around for 10-20 years in the paddock so to speak, with minimal problems.
The D Max is basically the same thing.I regularly tow 3 tonne trailer and its still good on fuel.
currently at 60000km after 2years .

BadgeLS-U
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2016
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

A good ute

published
BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Charles
CharlesNerimbera
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

A great ute

published

WE love our d-max that we have now had for seven years. It is totally reliable and is just great and does every thing that we ask of it. The only replacement parts have been front shocks beside replacement tyres and normal servicing. We tow a tractor on a two ton trailer and it handles the job with ease.

BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2011
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Alex
AlexMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 22 reviews
  • 14 likes

When everything fails you, your D-Max won't

published

I bought my D-Max in October 2014 and it never failed me. With 86,000 kms on the odo, I embarked on a risky journey across Australia, moving from Adelaide to Gold Coast for work. I towed 2.5 tonnes over the 2000 kms and the D-Max did it all no fuss. Along the way, I hit three kangaroos without bullbar, however, there is barely any damage on the truck. I also picked up contaminated fuel in Cobar, but the D-Max powered through without any issues. You cannot get a more reliable vehicle.

BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2014
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 6
See all Isuzu D-MAX reviews

Questions & Answers

Reece R.
Reece R.asked
D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

Does anyone know how to pull the airbag off a 2014 sx dmax

No answers
Merlita W.
Merlita W.asked
D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

GPS navigation unit wont go on my 2016 Isuzu D/max . Hardly used it and was told by the dealer was $600 to replace . Also was told this was a common fault . Radio works ................any suggestions. Roy

No answers
Phil P.
Phil P.asked
D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

Has anyone had an issue with the radio cutting out intermittently and getting a loud crackling mouse from the speakers?

1 answer
6wafr
6wafr

Phil I haven’t heard of that problem but I have to ask you this, you weren’t eating a cheese sandwich at that time were you?

See all Isuzu D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016) questions

Get an answer from our members

Isuzu D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

Details

Compare all 13 Isuzu D-MAX
CategoryUtes
Engine4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel
Max Power130kW @ 3600rpm
Max Torque380Nm @ 1800-3000rpm
Country of ManufactureThailand
Release dateJune 2012
Discontinuation dateDec 2016
Replaced byIsuzu D-MAX RC.II
Compare all 13 Isuzu D-MAX

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.