4 photos
Isuzu D-MAX RC.I

Isuzu D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016) (page 3 of 5)

3.9 from 137 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Utes in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Isuzu

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (9)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (9)
  • Noise Level
    3.2 (9)
  • Braking
    4.0 (9)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.1 (9)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (9)
  • Suspension
    3.6 (9)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.4 (9)
  • Handling
    4.3 (9)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (9)
  • Boot Size
    4.8 (6)
  • Comfort
    3.6 (9)
  • Features
    3.4 (9)
Previous
Clear all
Next

Very reliable. Does what it says it will do..

published
BadgeLS-U High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2014
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Yablett
YablettAU
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love the D Max.

published

This is the second Isuzu LS-M D max that we have bought and could not be happier. The power is ample and the towing with our 2.9 tonne van is carefree and safe.
We have averaged 12.4 ltr/100klms over the 20,000 klms that we have travelled since purchasing the vehicle in December 2015.
The interior is adequate and is easy to keep clean with the vinyl floor and the dashboard is workable an easy to read.
Keep up the good work.

BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ewan32
Ewan32AU
  • 4 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great Ute, Love it

published

Have done 10,000Km. No hassles great ute to drive on long trips, comfortable ride, fuel varies from 8 to 9.5L/100km. Plenty of leg room, could easily fit 3 kids Seats in the back. Dislikes, the side mirrors make objects look soooo far away I don't see cars sneaking up behind me, also needs mudguards at the front of the rear tyres as they throw mud onto the side steps. Overall just love this ute so much I convinced my parents to buy the M-UX which they enjoy as well. I don't know of any real bad points to say about it. Would definitely recommend to anyone, family, tradie, farmer.

BadgeLS-U High Ride
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
DriveRWD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Very poor hand brake.

published

Probably the worse hand brake I've ever looked at. Parked on my drive which is a 1-4 slope. Sat there for about 4 mins and then ran away hitting my house. Narrowly missing one of my boys. Isuzu and dealer washing there hands with it saying it driver error not putting hand brake on properly. The rachet and pawl in them is very poorly designed. If the rest are like it it's only time before someone gets killed. Don't let it be your kids.

BadgeEX Farm Mate
BodyUte
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

2015 D max . Would not buy or recommend

published
BadgeSX
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2015
DriveRWD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Destroyed our lives, frustrating vehicle and company

published
BadgeX-Runner
BodyUte
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
MrRodeo
MrRodeoAU
  • 7 reviews
  • 17 likes

Why would you buy anything else!

published
BadgeSX High Ride
BodyUte
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
DriveRWD
Date PurchasedJan 2016
MrRodeo
MrRodeo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
swampyro
swampyroQueensland
  • 9 reviews
  • 12 likes

1st Ute terrible, second Ute Great.

published
BadgeSX
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD
swampyro
swampyro
swampyro
swampyro
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Richie
Richieperth

Crap company! Crap car!!

published

I convinced 2 mates to buy a dmax after I bought one. And 2 of us have the same shudder in the automatic gear box. Mine started at about 20 to 30 000 hour s at 5000. Isuzu wiping its hands of it. The dealer is doing the same. I have got independent analysis from a gearbox specialist to fix with a cost of $6000.00. Pathetic company and pathetic service. I recommend you stay clear.

BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Timmy2Dogs
Timmy2DogsSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

2013 Dual Cab LSM ... Awesome vehicle - should have bought one sooner

published
BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chappo
ChappoRutherford
  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

Big mistake, buy something else.

published

Gearbox issues from new. Gearbox notchy and noisy. Changed oil and it was full of metal Rebuilt the box, got the car back and it was worse. Eventually got a new gearbox, got treated by servicing department like I was the problem. New gearbox got noisy, sold the car after just 1 year lost $12,000, good riddance.

BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

2015 xrunner

published

Had our 15 xrunner for 14000kms and my wife and myself love it. Suspension bit bumpy but it is a ute with no weight in the back. As it gets older have noticed fuel economy getting better, tows well, sat nav good, stereo could be better, rear camera good, good on the beach.

BadgeX-Runner
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rob
RobMandurah
  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good Mechanically . Poor paint Quality . Sub - Standard Seats

published

Great Drive . Good Towing . Completely let down by the drivers seat falling apart after less than two years .
Dealer and customer complaints department not interested , claiming it is not a warrenty issue but due to Ware & Tare . How can that be on a ute that is not even a Tradies vehicle

BadgeLS High Ride
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Tuff 2014 Isuzu dmax x runner ute

published

I have owned my dmax x runner manuel for a year now with only 16000 ks so far to good being in the trucking industrie everyone knows Isuzu build good trucks and have been for decades I have driven navaras hiluxes patrols and landcruisers but I went with isuzu cause of the history best ute I have ever bought I haven't had any problems will be a keeper till I go

BadgeX-Runner
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tez
TezVictoria
  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great, should have bought one ages ago

published

Vehicle handles very well, has good leg room front and back and is extremely economical. We have travelled 6,000 ks over the last two months and it has not missed a beat. The D-Max has been bought for towing a caravan and we cannot wait to hit the road on one our adventures.

BadgeLS-U High Ride
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
G'Banger
G'Bangerwhyalla, sa

An absolute GEM.

published

Done 28000 kms, towed tandem trailer from Whyalla to Qld twice. Great fuel economy, comfort, no rattles or problems. Will be towing a c'van starting 2016 and i reckon will cruise with confidence with the choice. Will change tyres before setting out on the hwy. Thank you Pt Augusta Isuzu, great team you guys/gals are.

BadgeLS-U High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabSpace Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

2013 LS-M dual cab. Wouldn't buy another one

published
TransmissionManual
BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Not impressed with its lack of guts.

published
BadgeSX 5 speed manual
DriveRWD
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
addo
addotamworth

My d-max

published

2012 model lsm twin cab ute, bought new feb 2013, I don' believe any other brand of ute could be any better than this one, we have been all over oz towing 16ft poptop and there is no way any other ute could do the job as good as this one, 15,000k las trip with a lot of weight on van and ute for 11.3lt 100k, very comfortable and smooth. Love it! Due for new ute next year and it will be another d-max, wouldn't consider anything else, bought it from Gilbert and roach at hunting dale, they were great to deal with and I'll get the next on there, it's very satisfying to to purchase something which is great value for money.

BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

2012 Isuzu D-Max

published
BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
rob
rob
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Paul B
Paul BBrisbane

Absolutley love it !

published

I love my D- Max . It now has 50k on the clock. Average consumption is at 8.2l/100k.. As an off road vechile this is perfect for the family when we go camping.. I also tow my heavy fibreglass boat at almost 2tonne and I have to remind myself there is a boat on the back when on the highway.. Just love it.. Has that mix of a truck like feel with comfort which suits me perfectly. Not to mention I just love the shape and look with the chrome grill!

BadgeLS-U
Body0
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
steve
steveKimberley, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

10k Replacement LS-M

published

This 2014 model has now got digital press button dash display...pain in the [censor word removed]. 09 model was easy and effective to change. How does "Elapse time" help me drive? new model has steel rim as spare so now unless I replace it with an alloy, I cannot rotate it every 10k to maintain even tyre wear among all 5 wheels. No rear speakers in the doors even though the ports are there!!!! Dust ingress is more evident around doors.
Gear box VERY notchy from 1st to 2nd gear, most times crunches. Must make low rev change very smooth and carefully.
I will not speak kindly to others considering a D-Max. Was very happy with 09 model........why did they mess with it?
aesthetics
Poor warranty backup

BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ansi
AnsiMt. Gambier
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Cant wait!!!

published

Just signed up for a new Dmax space cab auto! Wanted a red one, there is one on the boat so need to wait 6/7 weeks. Traded my 2012 Triton which, while being a reliable vehicle, is thirstier than a camel at a waterhole. 11/12 L/100k's sitting on 105KPH on the highway. I am SO looking forward to the fuel savings!!!! Will update as I go.

BadgeSX
CabSpace Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Drive4WD
Ansi
Ansi

Taking delivery this coming Monday. Any tips on the running in procedure?

Ansi
Ansi
Ansi
Ansi
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

cheap to run

published
BadgeSX High Ride
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rob Hughes
Rob HughesOatley
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

What a great ute!

published

I have now driven almost 14,000 km in my new D-max Ute. It is comfortable, roomy, powerful and relatively light on fuel. At the first service, the dealership at Sutherland Isuzu was friendly and most professional. I've taken it into some challenging situations in the Vic High Country, where it has proved to be an outstanding performer.

BadgeLS-U High Ride
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Drive4WD
BodyDual cab ute
Date PurchasedAug 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Isuzu D-MAX reviews

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.