4 photos
Isuzu D-MAX RC.I

Isuzu D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016) (page 3 of 6)

4.0 from 138 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Utes in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Isuzu? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (12)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (12)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (11)
  • Braking
    4.2 (12)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (12)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.9 (12)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (12)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (12)
  • Handling
    4.3 (12)
  • Interior Design
    3.9 (12)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (8)
  • Comfort
    3.8 (12)
  • Features
    3.6 (12)
Previous
Clear all
Next
Kim
Kim
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent on and off road

published

Excellent vehicle, can't fault. It is also excellent on and off road. We have the automatic transmission and I would recommend a oil cooler for towing with an automatic of any vehicle brand. This vehicle has been up to Kalumburu and back without any problems (can't say the same with the Kimberley Kamper) Would purchase again.

BadgeNot sure
BodyCab Chassis
CabSpace Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
margie
margiePeel, WA
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

after 45 years..our first choice for a new vehicle

published
BadgeSX
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gustaph
GustaphSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very comfortable and fantastic to drive. Love it!!

published
BadgeLS-U High Ride
BodyUte
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gerard
GerardSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Strong, reliable,capable.

published

You can feel the strength of the truck when you drive it. While driving it you realise just how reliable it is , and , won't give you troublesome motoring. With a 3.5 tonne towing capacity, it shows you how capable it really is.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Not a bad truck, but the service is beyond sub-standard

published
BadgeLS
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
tccack
tccackAdelaide
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Great ute. Very economical and capable of tough tasks

published

My vehicle has the Pedders GVM upgrade which does result in some rigidity in the ride when empty. However when loaded to capacity, this vehicle doesnt miss a beat. Very stable. Full loading barely affects fuel economy either which was a pleasant surprise. 800km from a tank of diesel is no problem. Very reliable versus Ranger and much better value for money than Hilux. Great farm ute overall and highly recommended.

BadgeSX High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
The Woz Review
The Woz ReviewSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 35 reviews
  • 50 likes

Filter Price Discrepancy

published
BadgeSX
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2015
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
Neil.W59
Neil.W59South East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

A solid performer - strength not flashy

published
Neil.W59
Neil.W59
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Beck
BeckRichmond-Tweed, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

The best 4WD & family vehicle

published

Beautiful car to drive, handles the road smoothly not bumpy at all like other 4WD's. Interior is nice and simple in a charcoal, comfy seats, it's a pity the back seat isn't a splitting seat as it would make putting car seats in a lot easier. Very reliable car, a full tank of diesel gets us about 850 kilometres we do a lot of highway driving. She handles off road like a dream, beach driving was very smooth.

BadgeLS-M
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
waza
wazaHunter Region, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Dmax problems from new

published
BadgeLS
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2013
Drive0
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ken
KenRobinvale
  • 13 reviews
  • 8 likes

Fantastic

published

Have now had my D-Max for just over twelve months, have towed our navigator camper for a few 000km in that time and have been rapped with it, great fuel economy, tows like the van is only a very light trailer not the 1.7 Tonne that it is. Have had it in 4 x 4 mode a few times and it has done every thing that we have asked of it.

BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hazadad
HazadadSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

By far the best ute I have had

published
BadgeLS-T
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John
JohnKurrajong

Problem with radio reception

published

After sale service from dealer and head office was appalling no one ever returns a call .After i had the problem fixed by a radio specalist and gave the dealer the bill they sent it to head office who refused to pay .After 4 x radios and 3 x areials the service manager paid the bill but i had to fight to get a warranty problem fixed and paid for .Not very happy with dealer or head office.

BadgeLS High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2016
DriveRWD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Julian S
Julian SSpringwood
  • 13 reviews
  • 4 likes

Ok for what it is

published
BadgeEX
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vince05
Vince05South Yarra
  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

After service is terrible including head office

published

Purchased a new dmax, and within 2 months the dealer closed shop at city Isuzu. Had issue with the bars on the vehicle and have been trying to resolve the issue for months. Head office in QLD was just Terrible. Considering we have a fleet of these at work we will never be purchasing again!!!

BadgeSX High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
DriveRWD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Very reliable. Does what it says it will do..

published
BadgeLS-U High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2014
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Yablett
YablettAU
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love the D Max.

published

This is the second Isuzu LS-M D max that we have bought and could not be happier. The power is ample and the towing with our 2.9 tonne van is carefree and safe.
We have averaged 12.4 ltr/100klms over the 20,000 klms that we have travelled since purchasing the vehicle in December 2015.
The interior is adequate and is easy to keep clean with the vinyl floor and the dashboard is workable an easy to read.
Keep up the good work.

BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

IT'S REALLY A LUCKY DIP

published
BadgeLS-U High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2012
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ray
RayAthelstone
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fuel gauge/ range estimator

published

Have a show special 2016 d max which when 1/4 full of fuel leaps around giving a range of 210 to 150 to 200 then low fuel etc., all in the space of a few Kms at steady speed,gauge also goes off the screen, then reappears.
Isuzu not helpful dealer trying hard to get reason, other owners I have spoken to have not had the problem, even 2 dealers unaware.
Isuzu state can only fix if a problem, their correspondence is woeful.
Hesitant to get uhf, reversing camera fitted and draws/ sliders fitted in rear until resolved.

BadgeLS
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ewan32
Ewan32AU
  • 4 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great Ute, Love it

published

Have done 10,000Km. No hassles great ute to drive on long trips, comfortable ride, fuel varies from 8 to 9.5L/100km. Plenty of leg room, could easily fit 3 kids Seats in the back. Dislikes, the side mirrors make objects look soooo far away I don't see cars sneaking up behind me, also needs mudguards at the front of the rear tyres as they throw mud onto the side steps. Overall just love this ute so much I convinced my parents to buy the M-UX which they enjoy as well. I don't know of any real bad points to say about it. Would definitely recommend to anyone, family, tradie, farmer.

BadgeLS-U High Ride
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
DriveRWD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Very poor hand brake.

published

Probably the worse hand brake I've ever looked at. Parked on my drive which is a 1-4 slope. Sat there for about 4 mins and then ran away hitting my house. Narrowly missing one of my boys. Isuzu and dealer washing there hands with it saying it driver error not putting hand brake on properly. The rachet and pawl in them is very poorly designed. If the rest are like it it's only time before someone gets killed. Don't let it be your kids.

BadgeEX Farm Mate
BodyUte
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

2015 D max . Would not buy or recommend

published
BadgeSX
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2015
DriveRWD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bobsky
BobskyMid North Coast, NSW
  • 14 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great vehicle and well built.

published
BadgeSX
BodyCab Chassis
CabSpace Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJuly 2016
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Destroyed our lives, frustrating vehicle and company

published
BadgeX-Runner
BodyUte
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
MrRodeo
MrRodeoAU
  • 7 reviews
  • 17 likes

Why would you buy anything else!

published
BadgeSX High Ride
BodyUte
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
DriveRWD
Date PurchasedJan 2016
MrRodeo
MrRodeo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 3 of 6
See all Isuzu D-MAX reviews

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.