4 photos
Isuzu D-MAX RC.I

Isuzu D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016) (page 2 of 3)

3.9 from 137 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Utes in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Isuzu

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.8 (6)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (6)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (6)
  • Braking
    4.3 (6)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (6)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.7 (6)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (6)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.8 (6)
  • Handling
    4.8 (6)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (6)
  • Boot Size
    4.8 (5)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (6)
  • Features
    4.0 (6)
Previous
Next
TonyL
TonyLCOFFS HARBOUR
  • 16 reviews
  • 15 likes

Reliabilty Plus

published

I have put this vehicle thru heaps, travelled the Cape, Camerons Corner, Tassie back blocks and got over BIG RED first attempt.
On the bitumen and absolute pleasure to drive.
My only reservation, not a negative but suspension a little rigid for passenger comfort..
However 9.5 out of 10

Bryan
BryanBallarat
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love my D-Max

published

We went to have a look at the Isuzu because we needed something better to tow our caravan with, we only went to look, and we came home with a new D-Max, we fell in love with the X-Runner as soon as we saw it. It tows our caravan beautifully, has everything we want, really quiet inside, and really economical. Really good purchase price.

BadgeX-Runner
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Norman Spencer
Norman SpencerWide Bay-Burnett, QLD
  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

It's the best Tug I have had

published

After getting rid of a Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland (that could not pull pussy up a hill) and purchasing the new LS-T Isuzu D Max 4 Door Ute,it was the best move I have ever made. I have traveled over the state of Tasmania and it hasn't missed a beat. I don't even know the van is behind me. We started in QLD and come down through NSW and VIC on our trip.

BadgeLS-Terrain
BodyUte
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Drive4WD
Kim
Kim
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent on and off road

published

Excellent vehicle, can't fault. It is also excellent on and off road. We have the automatic transmission and I would recommend a oil cooler for towing with an automatic of any vehicle brand. This vehicle has been up to Kalumburu and back without any problems (can't say the same with the Kimberley Kamper) Would purchase again.

BadgeNot sure
BodyCab Chassis
CabSpace Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
margie
margiePeel, WA
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

after 45 years..our first choice for a new vehicle

published
BadgeSX
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Gustaph
GustaphSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very comfortable and fantastic to drive. Love it!!

published
BadgeLS-U High Ride
BodyUte
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Drive4WD
tccack
tccackAdelaide
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Great ute. Very economical and capable of tough tasks

published

My vehicle has the Pedders GVM upgrade which does result in some rigidity in the ride when empty. However when loaded to capacity, this vehicle doesnt miss a beat. Very stable. Full loading barely affects fuel economy either which was a pleasant surprise. 800km from a tank of diesel is no problem. Very reliable versus Ranger and much better value for money than Hilux. Great farm ute overall and highly recommended.

BadgeSX High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Drive4WD

Related Articles

Previous
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Beck
BeckRichmond-Tweed, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

The best 4WD & family vehicle

published

Beautiful car to drive, handles the road smoothly not bumpy at all like other 4WD's. Interior is nice and simple in a charcoal, comfy seats, it's a pity the back seat isn't a splitting seat as it would make putting car seats in a lot easier. Very reliable car, a full tank of diesel gets us about 850 kilometres we do a lot of highway driving. She handles off road like a dream, beach driving was very smooth.

BadgeLS-M
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Drive4WD
Hazadad
HazadadSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

By far the best ute I have had

published
BadgeLS-T
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Drive4WD
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John
JohnKurrajong

Problem with radio reception

published

After sale service from dealer and head office was appalling no one ever returns a call .After i had the problem fixed by a radio specalist and gave the dealer the bill they sent it to head office who refused to pay .After 4 x radios and 3 x areials the service manager paid the bill but i had to fight to get a warranty problem fixed and paid for .Not very happy with dealer or head office.

BadgeLS High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2016
DriveRWD

Very reliable. Does what it says it will do..

published
BadgeLS-U High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2014
Drive4WD
Yablett
YablettAU
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love the D Max.

published

This is the second Isuzu LS-M D max that we have bought and could not be happier. The power is ample and the towing with our 2.9 tonne van is carefree and safe.
We have averaged 12.4 ltr/100klms over the 20,000 klms that we have travelled since purchasing the vehicle in December 2015.
The interior is adequate and is easy to keep clean with the vinyl floor and the dashboard is workable an easy to read.
Keep up the good work.

BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Drive4WD
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ewan32
Ewan32AU
  • 4 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great Ute, Love it

published

Have done 10,000Km. No hassles great ute to drive on long trips, comfortable ride, fuel varies from 8 to 9.5L/100km. Plenty of leg room, could easily fit 3 kids Seats in the back. Dislikes, the side mirrors make objects look soooo far away I don't see cars sneaking up behind me, also needs mudguards at the front of the rear tyres as they throw mud onto the side steps. Overall just love this ute so much I convinced my parents to buy the M-UX which they enjoy as well. I don't know of any real bad points to say about it. Would definitely recommend to anyone, family, tradie, farmer.

BadgeLS-U High Ride
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
DriveRWD
MrRodeo
MrRodeoAU
  • 7 reviews
  • 17 likes

Why would you buy anything else!

published
BadgeSX High Ride
BodyUte
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
DriveRWD
Date PurchasedJan 2016
MrRodeo
MrRodeo
Timmy2Dogs
Timmy2DogsSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

2013 Dual Cab LSM ... Awesome vehicle - should have bought one sooner

published
BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD

2015 xrunner

published

Had our 15 xrunner for 14000kms and my wife and myself love it. Suspension bit bumpy but it is a ute with no weight in the back. As it gets older have noticed fuel economy getting better, tows well, sat nav good, stereo could be better, rear camera good, good on the beach.

BadgeX-Runner
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Drive4WD

Tuff 2014 Isuzu dmax x runner ute

published

I have owned my dmax x runner manuel for a year now with only 16000 ks so far to good being in the trucking industrie everyone knows Isuzu build good trucks and have been for decades I have driven navaras hiluxes patrols and landcruisers but I went with isuzu cause of the history best ute I have ever bought I haven't had any problems will be a keeper till I go

BadgeX-Runner
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD
Tez
TezVictoria
  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great, should have bought one ages ago

published

Vehicle handles very well, has good leg room front and back and is extremely economical. We have travelled 6,000 ks over the last two months and it has not missed a beat. The D-Max has been bought for towing a caravan and we cannot wait to hit the road on one our adventures.

BadgeLS-U High Ride
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Drive4WD
G'Banger
G'Bangerwhyalla, sa

An absolute GEM.

published

Done 28000 kms, towed tandem trailer from Whyalla to Qld twice. Great fuel economy, comfort, no rattles or problems. Will be towing a c'van starting 2016 and i reckon will cruise with confidence with the choice. Will change tyres before setting out on the hwy. Thank you Pt Augusta Isuzu, great team you guys/gals are.

BadgeLS-U High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabSpace Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
addo
addotamworth

My d-max

published

2012 model lsm twin cab ute, bought new feb 2013, I don' believe any other brand of ute could be any better than this one, we have been all over oz towing 16ft poptop and there is no way any other ute could do the job as good as this one, 15,000k las trip with a lot of weight on van and ute for 11.3lt 100k, very comfortable and smooth. Love it! Due for new ute next year and it will be another d-max, wouldn't consider anything else, bought it from Gilbert and roach at hunting dale, they were great to deal with and I'll get the next on there, it's very satisfying to to purchase something which is great value for money.

BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Drive4WD

2012 Isuzu D-Max

published
BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
rob
rob
Paul B
Paul BBrisbane

Absolutley love it !

published

I love my D- Max . It now has 50k on the clock. Average consumption is at 8.2l/100k.. As an off road vechile this is perfect for the family when we go camping.. I also tow my heavy fibreglass boat at almost 2tonne and I have to remind myself there is a boat on the back when on the highway.. Just love it.. Has that mix of a truck like feel with comfort which suits me perfectly. Not to mention I just love the shape and look with the chrome grill!

BadgeLS-U
Body0
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Ansi
AnsiMt. Gambier
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Cant wait!!!

published

Just signed up for a new Dmax space cab auto! Wanted a red one, there is one on the boat so need to wait 6/7 weeks. Traded my 2012 Triton which, while being a reliable vehicle, is thirstier than a camel at a waterhole. 11/12 L/100k's sitting on 105KPH on the highway. I am SO looking forward to the fuel savings!!!! Will update as I go.

BadgeSX
CabSpace Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Drive4WD
Ansi
Ansi

Taking delivery this coming Monday. Any tips on the running in procedure?

Ansi
Ansi
Ansi
Ansi

cheap to run

published
BadgeSX High Ride
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Drive4WD
Rob Hughes
Rob HughesOatley
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

What a great ute!

published

I have now driven almost 14,000 km in my new D-max Ute. It is comfortable, roomy, powerful and relatively light on fuel. At the first service, the dealership at Sutherland Isuzu was friendly and most professional. I've taken it into some challenging situations in the Vic High Country, where it has proved to be an outstanding performer.

BadgeLS-U High Ride
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Drive4WD
BodyDual cab ute
Date PurchasedAug 2014
Page 2 of 3
See all Isuzu D-MAX reviews

Other Utes

Previous
Next
See all Utes

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.