10 photos
Isuzu D-MAX RC.II 4x4

Isuzu D-MAX RC.II 4x4 (2017-2021)

Also referred to as: Isuzu D-MAX RC.II 4x4 2020 and Isuzu D-MAX RC.II 4x4 2022. SX, LS-U, LS-M, etc...
3.3 from 35 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Utes in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Isuzu

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.0 (14)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (14)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (13)
  • Noise Level
    2.6 (14)
  • Braking
    3.9 (14)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.5 (15)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.0 (15)
  • Suspension
    2.9 (15)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.9 (15)
  • Handling
    3.5 (15)
  • Interior Design
    3.5 (13)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (11)
  • Comfort
    3.6 (14)
  • Features
    3.1 (13)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
tdock86
tdock86Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Cracked inner guard. Twice in 12 months

published

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
neil g
neil gGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Now they tell me ......Isuzu big trouble .....

published

Well this looks like trouble !!! First springs rear broken well its going to be the Ute to bet the rest tops at towing will out run Toyota big fail ...... Now Turbo out it goes and only 13000Klms and 4 mths old well what will be next maybe a trade-in to a real ute at Hi Lux ... should of listened

Purchased in June 2020 at Mornington .

Build Quality
Value for Money
Joseph
JosephSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

What a lemon

published

I took a new D'max for a test run and what a piece of rubbish. the manual gearbox is still faulty as it crunches when going from first to second and second to third when cold. This is a problem with the previous models and Isuzu refuse to fix it. Also the consul between the seats is too high and my elbow hits it when trying to go around a corner. The suspension is still the same as previous models so therefore is unable to carry the stated load. Also the brakes are the same as previous so wont pull up the vehicle when fully loaded. Do not know how it received a 5 star safety rating. I suppose if you drive it MT and run into a concrete block then it may be ok but who does that.
Joseph

Purchased in December 2018 for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.II 4x4 compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lisa
LisaPerth, WA

Crap car

published

Faulty Bought 2 brand new Izuzu vehicles last year. D-Max and Mux. Mix all good. D-Max a freaking lemon! Was recalled for rear suspension. Dealership has stuffed me around constantly. My windows stopped working and they don't even have the parts to fix it. Car used 4l of oil between 1st and 2nd service and it has a rattle in engine bay that sounds like a bunch of loose bearings. After sale care non existent! Would not recommend Izuzu to anyone!! No after sale service.

Purchased in August 2019 for $50,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Justin
JustinSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 9 likes

Isuzu D Max - DONT TRUST IT, what’s going wrong with it next?

published

Purchased in December 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Harley
HarleyNorth-West & West coast, TAS
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Dmax the great

published

I've just got my 3rd Dmax and just love it. We tow with it and just love going places. Haven't had any issues with any of em. Great for towing and good off road. Fully recommended Isuzu Dmax.

Purchased in August 2019 for $34,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
DH
DHAuckland
  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Improvement over the last model

published
BadgeLS-U
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Drive4WD
Casey
CaseyPerth, WA

Poor gearbox and ilders high

published

From picking up from the dealership the gearbox clunks into 2nd and 3rd gear and down change back to 1st,The warranty is a waste of time,It ilders up to high and when slowing down with your foot off the accelerator it will take off by itself and may cause a accident

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2020 for $36,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Peter
PeterCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good but could be better with very little effort from Isusu

published

This truck is fully loaded all the time as it has a service body.
Problems specific with this truck are :
1/ Drive by wire throttle has way too much "DELAY OF THE MARK"
2/ Gearing is too tall making 6 gear useless under 110ks... I have to select hold in 5th to stop it hunting.
3/ Little Red display in the middle of the dash is unreadable for any person with over 50s vision.
Apart from the stuff above its great an I trust it to go forever.
The Auto Expert guy on YouTube recons the D-max is like a 10 year old Colorado and that upset me until I realized that he is correct, because I have a 10 year old Colorado and its is bullet proof, so we bought another one.

Purchased in January 2019 at melton isusu.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.II 4x4 compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Adam
AdamGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

2017 X Runner Worst purchase I’ve made .

published

Purchased in April 2017 for $65,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Great Ute!

published

If you want a pretty ute at the sacrifice of reliability, don't buy a DMAX.
Bought my ute brand new in Jan 2019 after driving one for work for a few years and can't fault them!
If you're buying a Dual Cab 4x4 and your decision is influenced by its interior looks, you clearly haven't done your research!

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Wally
WallyMid North Coast, NSW

Very unhappy with the clutch

published

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
James Lee
James Lee
  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Noisy when dling bluetooth phone talk.

published

Use for work, a lot of 4wding and Highway. average 50k per year.
Bluetooth is really bad everyone that I am talking to, they all complain. Diesel noise is loud too in the cabin.

Purchased in July 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Disappointed

published

Purchased in November 2017.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionManual
mike
mikePerth, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Just great stuff

published

Now on my seventh Isuzu 4wd ute.

Just a real honest workhorse.

Great on fuel and great in boggy sand, even with a boat hanging off the back (gotta get the tyre pressure spot on though).

I know that luck is part of the game with any car and I sympathize with anyone who has had problems.

(Had 2 wb holden utes...................one did 400,000 k's and still ran like new........the other blew up at 150,000.........hey go figure that out)

Purchased in December 2018 for $40,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.II 4x4 compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2See all Isuzu D-MAX reviews

Questions & Answers

Meagan L.
Meagan L.asked
D-MAX 4x4 X-Terrain (2020-2021)

I will be towing a caravan with an ATM of 2800kg. What upgrades to suspension etc should I make?

No answers
Max e
Max easked
D-MAX 4x4 LS-M (2017-2021)

is there room to fit an auxillary battery under bonnet of 2021 model or does it need to be placed in cabin.

No answers
See all Isuzu D-MAX questions

Get an answer from our members and Isuzu representatives

Isuzu D-MAX RC.II 4x4 (2017-2021)

Details

Compare all 11 Isuzu D-MAX
CategoryUtesUtesUtesUtes
Starting Price $51,097$55,230$53,512$67,990
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselDiesel
Wheels16" Alloy17" Alloy16" Alloy18" Dark Grey Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors 2 to 42 to 44
Seats 2 to 54 to 55
Fuel Consumption7.9 L/100km7.9 L/100km7.9 L/100km8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 76 L76 L76 L76 L
Engine4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel4 Cylinder 3.0L
Engine Code4JJ1-TC4JJ1-TC4JJ1-TC34JJ1-TCX
Max Power130kW @ 3600rpm130kW @ 3600rpm130kW @ 3600rpm140kW @ 3600 rpm
Max Torque430Nm @ 2000-2200rpm430Nm @ 2000-2200rpm430Nm @ 2000-2200rpm450Nm @ 1600-2600 rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandThailandThailandThailand
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Tray TypeCab Chassis and Pick UpPick UpPick UpCab Chassis
Cab Options Dual, Extra and SingleDual and ExtraDualExtra
Maximum Payload1,034 kg1,029 kg1,049 kg970 kg
Ground Clearance225 mm235 mm225 mm240 mm
Manufacturer Warranty6 year(s)6 year(s)6 year(s)6 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance225 mm235 mm225 mm240 mm
Release dateFeb 2017Feb 2017Feb 2017Aug 2020
Compare all 11 Isuzu D-MAX
Visit official website

Other Utes

Previous
Next
See all Utes

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.