??!
4 photos
Isuzu D-MAX RC.II 4x4 SX

Isuzu D-MAX RC.II 4x4 SX (2017-2021)

Also referred to as: Isuzu D-MAX RC.II 4x4 SX 2020 and Isuzu D-MAX RC.II 4x4 SX 2022.
3.2 from 13 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.2

13 reviews
  • Build Quality
    2.5 (4)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (4)
  • Noise Level
    1.8 (4)
  • Braking
    4.0 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    2.8 (4)
  • Suspension
    2.8 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (4)
  • Handling
    3.3 (4)
  • Interior Design
    3.0 (4)
  • Boot Size
    4.7 (3)
  • Comfort
    3.3 (4)
  • Features
    2.7 (3)
Previous
Next
neil g

neil gGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Now they tell me ......Isuzu big trouble .....

published

Well this looks like trouble !!! First springs rear broken well its going to be the Ute to bet the rest tops at towing will out run Toyota big fail ...... Now Turbo out it goes and only 13000Klms and 4 mths old well what will be next maybe a trade-in to a real ute at Hi Lux ... should of listened

Purchased in June 2020 at Mornington .

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Cab TypeDual
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Casey

CaseyPerth, WA

Poor gearbox and ilders high

published

From picking up from the dealership the gearbox clunks into 2nd and 3rd gear and down change back to 1st,The warranty is a waste of time,It ilders up to high and when slowing down with your foot off the accelerator it will take off by itself and may cause a accident

Purchased in January 2020 for A$36,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Peter

PeterCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good but could be better with very little effort from Isusu

published

This truck is fully loaded all the time as it has a service body.
Problems specific with this truck are :
1/ Drive by wire throttle has way too much "DELAY OF THE MARK"
2/ Gearing is too tall making 6 gear useless under 110ks... I have to select hold in 5th to stop it hunting.
3/ Little Red display in the middle of the dash is unreadable for any person with over 50s vision.
Apart from the stuff above its great an I trust it to go forever.
The Auto Expert guy on YouTube recons the D-max is like a 10 year old Colorado and that upset me until I realized that he is correct, because I have a 10 year old Colorado and its is bullet proof, so we bought another one.

Purchased in January 2019 at melton isusu.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.II 4x4 SX compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
James Lee

James Lee

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Noisy when dling bluetooth phone talk.

published

Use for work, a lot of 4wding and Highway. average 50k per year.
Bluetooth is really bad everyone that I am talking to, they all complain. Diesel noise is loud too in the cabin.

Purchased in July 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers

Disappointed

published

Purchased in November 2017.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
See all answers
Dennis Bant

Dennis BantWestern District, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Outback vehicle, simply great.

published

We use the Dmax as our only car. We have altered it slightly by adding a canopy and a few extras for outback travelling. But we also use it for normal driving as it is a four door and it is quite comfortable. It is economical on fuel, even when towing a Caravan offroad. It is a great workhorse and will go where many other trucks breakdown. The price is better than a few other vehicles in the same range and it also has a capped service for 5 years. We have had no problems with it and although large it is a dream to drive.

Purchased for A$48,000.00.

JimmyJ

JimmyJNewcastle, NSW

  • 20 reviews
  • 19 likes

Love it! Great ute for this price range

published
BadgeSX
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Dsanj

DsanjGregory Hills

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Strong reliable Ute And easy to put fun 4x4 Accesorys and and go explore.

published
BadgeSX
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018
Drive4WD

Piece of junk

published
BadgeSX
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Drive4WD
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX RC.II 4x4 SX compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Try Blue Ribbon Motors Yamanto.

published

Try Blue Ribbon Motors Yamanto. Bought our 2018 Isusu D-Max single cab 4x4 there and can't fault their help and after sales service. Picked up vehicle and drove 1200 klms home. Unlike other vehicles we have owned, I alighted from the vehicle without any back pain. The vehicle is user friendly with good pick up speed on hills and turns on a dime. Which of course is great for parking. We spend over half a tank less to travel 800 klms, than our other vehicles. Plenty of leg room an room behing the seats.

Badge$48000
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Just a regular customer

Just a regular customerBrisbane

  • 8 reviews
  • 8 likes

Bulletproof and unstoppable towing capabilities.

published
BadgeSX High Ride
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Drive4WD
Amanda

Amanda

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

D-Max 4x4 Crew Cab Chasis Automatic

published

Compared a range of 4 x 4 and for our budget, we were down to the Triton and the Isuzu D-Max. Absolutely love the D-Max as the handling of the vehicle was more grounded. The Triton felt very light when travelling at 100km/hr in comparison. The interior of the D-Max is average however was quite impressed that the SX model we purchased had a touch screen radio. Definitely a very reliable and durable vehicle and would highly recommend it.

BadgeSX
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Drive4WD

Gotta love Da Max

published

Got out of a Ford XR6 for the Isuzu Dmax. Want to go off road and this is my first 4wd vehicle. Friend recommended the Dmax and I am extremely happy. Great fuel economy, great ride, lots of fun. Love the sound of the turbo sucking air thru the snorkel.

BadgeLS High Ride
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
See all Isuzu D-MAX reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Isuzu D-MAX RC.II 4x4 SX (2017-2021) but you can read 282 questions about Isuzu D-MAX.

Get an answer from our members and Isuzu representatives

Details

Compare all 10 Isuzu D-MAX
CategoryUtes
Starting Price A$51,097
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDiesel
Wheels16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Doors 2 to 4
Seats 2 to 5
Fuel Consumption7.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 76 L
Engine4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel
Engine Code4JJ1-TC
Max Power130kW @ 3600rpm
Max Torque430Nm @ 2000-2200rpm
Country of ManufactureThailand
Tray TypeCab Chassis and Pick Up
Cab Options Dual, Extra and Single
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,500 kg
Maximum Payload1,034 kg
Ground Clearance225 mm
Manufacturer Warranty6 year(s)
Release dateFeb 2017
Compare all 10 Isuzu D-MAX

Visit official website

Other Utes

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.