??!
5 photos
Isuzu D-MAX

Isuzu D-MAX (page 2 of 10)

RC (2012-Present) and RA (2008-2012)
3.9 from 183 reviews

Strong reliable Ute And easy to put fun 4x4 Accesorys and and go explore.

There is a lot a like about this UTE i considered buying a used UTE for carting some heavy loads out to the property , my original thought was just a basic Ute , however i did a full shocks and suspension upgrade and found its actually very capable 4wd as well.
Compared to the other Utes even the current LSU version it has not much tech i think only traction control. but it no less capable on hill descent jut using i1gear (sports mode).
It tows well, I have had it loaded to 1tonne payload plus 750FG trailer in tow , it gets a bit heavy on the juice but its to be expected. However Car does not miss a beat with all that load no creaks and no uncomfortable feelings when going around bumpy bends.
Its just a champion Ute.
I plan to do a bit of offroad stuff soon and update this review than.
D

BadgeSX
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018
Drive4WD

When everything fails you, your D-Max won't

I bought my D-Max in October 2014 and it never failed me. With 86,000 kms on the odo, I embarked on a risky journey across Australia, moving from Adelaide to Gold Coast for work. I towed 2.5 tonnes over the 2000 kms and the D-Max did it all no fuss. Along the way, I hit three kangaroos without bullbar, however, there is barely any damage on the truck. I also picked up contaminated fuel in Cobar, but the D-Max powered through without any issues. You cannot get a more reliable vehicle.

BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2014
Drive4WD

No fuss ute

Bought my 2015 Dmax second hand. Still had 3 years warranty on it (2020). I have travelled all of the state of NSW and Victoria without an issue. I've driven it on sand and through the Vic High Country. Thes are mechanically sound vehicles. The 5 speed automatic isn't bad but it could use the extra cog (2017 onwards has a 6 speed). In saying that it cruises under 2000rpm at 100 and has excellent fuel economy. The car can feel a little under powered at times but this may be fixed with the extra 50NM from 2017 onwards.

All these people are complaining about little things. You knew the car had those seats, didn't have a rest for your right arm etc. That's why you test drive a car. These are no surprises. That's what you get with a Dmax, it's mostly basic but it is unlikely to surprise you with any major issues unlike the Ranger I had.

Yes the seats are a little uncomfortable but for me they are just hard and I don't have any issues with my back. The interior is hard plastic, like every other ute bar the Amarok. I agree that the Bluetooth is rubbish.

If you want to buy a personal ute that you plan on keeping for ten years and putting 250k on the clock, then buy one of these or a Hilux. If you are buying a brand new company car that you will trade in after three years, buy a Ranger. The Ranger is more comfortable, drives better and has more power. However, I trust my Dmax more than my Ranger and I know it will still be running after those ten years.

BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2015
Drive4WD

Warranty ambiguous and misleading

2014 4x4 60000kms and the diff-axle housing exploded 700km east of Alice Springs what a nightmare sitting in remote Australia on three wheels Had to activate recovery and pay for it as sat company had not activated our renewal even though we had paid for it,so couldn’t contact isuzu assist
Eventually got back to Alice Springs and discovered that Isuzu would not warranty the claim even though the dealer had suggested to upgrade the GVM to legally carry the weight,Isuzu denied the claim because the suspension had been altered
It was fitted by ARB ,engineer certified and approved by Vic roads who issued a new rego certificate and compliance plate
The dealer in Alice Springs wanted $7000 to affect the repair and failed to give a written quote ,or repair warranty and remarked that nobody would tow it away because it was on three wheels
Isuzu Ute assist helped us with costs to get it back to Melbourne
I have [name removed] booked to do the repair for $4300 ,somewhat different than Centralian motors in Alice Springs Furthermore it was offered that if I could procure second hand parts ie the housing that it would be alright
With our contribution to towing and supply of parts it is going to cost $4500 using some second hand parts
Buyers beware apparently I’m not the only one who has had diff related axle problems with no support from isuzu
I do not tow anything and am a very experienced and qualified 4x4 driver with over 100,000km experience on outback roads
Ironically I was about to order a new isuzu and was again told by the dealer that they would organise the GVM upgrade and that it would be covered by isuzu warranty
What a disappointment so much for we have been building trucks for a hundred years so a utility is easy

BadgePoor
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2014

Really good ute let down by very average dealers

I've owned my D-Max for nearly four years and have found it to be a very good ute that does everything asked of it without a fuss. It has done a lot of trips from southern NSW to far north Queensland and back on highways, dirt tracks and everything in between and has never missed a beat on these long runs, while being comfortable and easy to drive. It's quite capable on 4wd tracks too, though I've never really had a need to bother with low range 4wd.

Seat comfort is an individual thing, but I've done 10 and 12 hour days in the driver's seat - over multiple days - and been very happy with the comfort. Fuel economy is good, about 7.5 to 8.5 l/100 km on average with premium diesel. An aftermarket steel bullbar and decent lightbar tidied up the front end and gave a bit more defence against the suicidal western plains kangaroos, though they knocked about 0.4 l/100 km off the fuel economy at highway speeds. Aftermarket side steps were much cheaper and tougher than the Isuzu variety, stopped the stones on dirt roads chipping the sills, and fitted on within about half an hour.

The manual gearbox had an early issue with jumping out of 2nd/3rd gear on long downhill runs, fixed under warranty after about a month total for diagnosis (it was related to the synchromesh mechanism) and repairs. Dealership took a bit of convincing to fix it, they (a) tried to tell me nothing was wrong with it (b) clutch adjustment would fix it (c) problem would be fixed at next service, before finally conceding that (d) the box would need to be pulled out and substantially rebuilt with new parts by a specialist gearbox workshop (which took a week). No problems in the three years since, but after one further service where the bash plate under the sump was left barely attached (three bolts missing and the fourth only finger tight), following a non-oil change service, I've given up on the dealership, so it's being better maintained as well.

Engine is strong, a bit noisy, definitely more like a commercial small truck unit, but under-stressed and happily runs all day with no load, half a load, or close to GCM when towing. Handles pretty well for a dual cab ute, suspension is a bit jiggly when empty, but that's expected with a live axle.

Interior is no great shakes, lots of hard plastics, bluetooth for the phone needs a bit of work with the mic gain and still isn't great, and I fitted an aftermarket reversing camera to make life a bit easier. Plenty of room, though, lots of places to put small items and mostly pretty comfortable.

All in all, I'm still very happy with my D-Max, coming up on 80,000 kms. If not for the gearbox issue (which, to be fair, never stopped it) and the very average service from the dealership, it would have been five stars. Very likely to buy another D-Max, but next time I'll buy an auto and take it to a decent mechanic from the very start!

BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2014
Drive4WD

Expected a basic level

Bottom of the range ute, Space Cab 4x2 ---- 2017 model

First thoughts, being the bottom of the range work ute, one cannot expect too much.
Was driving it around for about a month as its my workplace/office, virtually my home away from home.

The interior itself is severely lacking, no real comfortable place to rest your right arm. The blind spots through the A-pillar's are embarrassing. Have to be extra wary at pedestrian crossings and even cyclists/motorcycles are easily obscured.
Talking on the phone using Bluetooth is beyond a joke, voice sounds robotic, even peaky, with the system picking up more road noise than your actual voice. Bluetooth has gone backwards considerably, a car 10 years old has a much better system.

Lastly the seats. Completely lacking any support whatsoever, going around a corner, you'll move around considerably in your seat.
Whoever designed these seats completely forgot about ergonomics as the lower back support is non-existent. Its a really soft lower back cushion region that sinks in considerably. You do however get a fantastic metal bar that extends across the lower back that digs into you considerably.
If you have one of these cars, sitting on a towel or having one rolled up behind your lower back will help. Other blokes at work are starting to have the similar issues (back pain).

With aftermarket seats costing thousands and Police cracking down on mobile phone use. You would be better off looking around for something more suitable unless you want a bad back or a non existent licence.
The top of the range utes have the better adjustable seats, can only assume they would be more ergonomically designed.

Mechanically speaking it doesn't seem like a bad car, you won't be outrunning any coppers but it does have enough grunt to get you through the day.

Save your money, and look around for something that will meet your needs. If you're spending a lot of time in the vehicle seriously look at the top of the range DMAX, as it has electrically adjustable seats or be prepared to spend 5K on Recaro/Stratos replacement seats.

As I thought for a bottom of the range vehicle, one doesn't get too much so there would be a few small issues here and there. But definitely not to the extent as what I've had to deal with.
Now its spending many hours stretching trying to rid myself of this back pain hopefully it goes away sooner rather than later

BadgeSX High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabSpace Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Piece of junk

I’ve owned 11 vehicle’s in the past and this is by far the worst.
3k service both outer cv boots were buggered
Done 14k and suspension is shot.
Cannot drive for more than 30 min without getting severe back pain due to rubbish seats.
Back doors don’t close properly.
Auto gearbox is crap, changes gears randomly.
Radio screen doesn’t turn off, terrible for night driving.
Seat belt alarm for passenger gets set off if you have more than 3kg on seat.
No LSD, traction control is rubbish.
Bluetooth hands free doesn’t work properly.
Interior is cheap plastic that scratched easily.
Sold my 2004 hilux for this and regretted it since day 1.
Will buy a Great Wall Ute next time, will be equally disappointing but only cost half as much.

BadgeSX
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Drive4WD

no customers service

Paid for Ute and still waiting for delivery been 6weeks and I have had to do all the contacting and still can't get the Ute.
Worst company ever to deal with do not use Black locks Albury. Very poor service and no customers relation. Imagine if the Ute has problems it will be impossible to get anything done.

BadgeEX Farm Mate
BodyUte
CabSpace Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Try Blue Ribbon Motors Yamanto.

Try Blue Ribbon Motors Yamanto. Bought our 2018 Isusu D-Max single cab 4x4 there and can't fault their help and after sales service. Picked up vehicle and drove 1200 klms home. Unlike other vehicles we have owned, I alighted from the vehicle without any back pain. The vehicle is user friendly with good pick up speed on hills and turns on a dime. Which of course is great for parking. We spend over half a tank less to travel 800 klms, than our other vehicles. Plenty of leg room an room behing the seats.

Badge$48000
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Reliable work ute

2014 model auto I've found nothing wrong with the d-max a lot better to drive than the triton feels the same as the hi-lux interior as plenty of room front and back drives well
The only thing I've found that's annoying is if you take of quickley the Tyers spin
And the canopy leaks but that's not an Isuzu fault

BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014

Good reliable ute in remote area

As a repairer with over 39 years in the industry I will chime in. Regional & remote Australia. No frills Isuzu utes are one of the best value for money units arround for remote area use. Tyres & suspension will need a upgrade if you spend more time on corragated unsealed roads. But, this cost still out weighs in long term value over other brands that can't handle off road conditions. I won't mention them because I make money on repairing them. Even those $80,000 + & over Dmax class , suffer from broken or cracked chassis & mounts, radiator support panels, apron panels & wheel arches, battery trays, windscreen pillars & door apertures. Never seen this on a Dmax ute. My opinion is for value they punch well above their weight & knock the most popular ute in their class out cold. Engines seem more a commercial unit & very reliable. My hope is Isuzu don't give up on a good reliable town or remote work ute & buckle to unreliable gadgets or weight saving by compramising chassis strength. PS. I had to select make/model in drop boxes but my post relates to all model Dmax utes.

BadgeLS
BodyCab Chassis
CabSpace Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2015

Bulletproof and unstoppable towing capabilities.

After suffering numerous issues with my old 2013 Holden Colorado including a new engine due to oil issues, I moved into a dmax and had no problems what so ever. In comparison to the Colorado, the Dmax has been cheaper to maintain and seemed to tow the 2tonne boat with ease. I recently upgraded to a new Dmax and it’s been bulletproof like the first one.

The drive is fairly bumpy, but thats expected of a decent 1-tonne Ute. The engine is louder than most Passenger cars, but again that’s expected of a Ute. The interior is all plastic, hardy durable plastic with carpet on the bits and pieces that need it. It’s a no frills interior that does the job nicely. I figured I needed a Ute without the gadgets that I could depend on, and this is it.

Running costs are pretty good, considering it’s size — usually getting 7.8 - 8.2 litres per 100kms. Servicing is around. $350 per service, and done each year.

Very happy with my dmax and have recommended them to everyone I know that needed a real tough Ute.

BadgeSX High Ride
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Drive4WD

Unreliable

Had to be repaired after 3 days, still not repaired can't tow as not enough power many electrical breakdowns now after 23 months Isuzu have give up so I am left with a vehicle that I can't use and needs a new engine after 20,000 miles. Unlucky for me I spent £30,000 on a Isuzu.

May 6th 2018 Update: Keeps breaking down

Only 23months old has been back to dealer many times now a non runner at 20000 miles and not getting repaired. Had to be towed in by a ford sadly. Dealer has give up seams that the warranty is worth less and I am left with no vehicle that I can use.

September 6th 2018 Update: Non stop problems

Brought new, problems from new had to sell at a massive loss as never worked properly and brought a ford had new clutch at 20,000 MLS engine and electronic problems that warranty did not want to repair. Warranty is such a battal to get, fuel filters are always need changing. Brought 4 D-MAX but the later blade was good as useless and had to get towed in by a ford at times, bit bad for new vehicle.

Badge£0
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Drive4WD

Beautiful Car to drive and ride in

Just purchased a Isuzu Dmax and love it . Good on fuel easy to drive and very comfy.
The towing capacity was what sold us on this vehicle and we have no problem reccomending it to other caravan owners. Only thing lacking was an inbuilt gps but we can live with that. Love the reversing camera and the blue tooth. Should be standard in all new vehicles.

BadgeLS High Ride
BodyUte
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Isuzu D-max Lsm

I have mixed feelings about my D'max, I love and dislike this ute, The Isuzu dealers, I have been dealing with are rude and have a don't care attitude also they treat you like idiot. But its a awesome ute with a strong engine and great on fuel. very tuff solid build car.

Dislike's

1. seats are horrible for long trips

2.Expensive aftermarket and not a lot available

3. It does strange things while driving

4. Inside starchers really easy

5. Head unit is hard to use

6. Need to spend quite alot of money, to get to a safe point to go of road

7. Rude, Staff in the dealers

8, Don't care attitude

9. Dislike brakes and suspension not overly great

Like's

1. Engine

2. Feels like a truck

3. Great on fuel

4. Awesome room in the back seats

5. Good leg room in the front

6. Good door pockets and cubby's

7. Good ac

8. Great speakers

9. Great Frist time ute

Underside if I would buy another

BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Drive4WD

D-Max 4x4 Crew Cab Chasis Automatic

Compared a range of 4 x 4 and for our budget, we were down to the Triton and the Isuzu D-Max. Absolutely love the D-Max as the handling of the vehicle was more grounded. The Triton felt very light when travelling at 100km/hr in comparison. The interior of the D-Max is average however was quite impressed that the SX model we purchased had a touch screen radio. Definitely a very reliable and durable vehicle and would highly recommend it.

BadgeSX
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Drive4WD

2012 D-Max SX 4X4 excellent for my needs.

My 2012 manual SX 4X4 Spacecab has done over 55,000ks and the only fail was the driver's side seat belt stalk which was fixed under warranty. It has taken me 25,000ks around the country including Cape York and remote areas of the Kimberley and Pilbara without any problems and fuel consumption was excellent given the load. Accessories included a bull-bar, lights, tow-bar, jack-off canopy, fridge, and a roof rack, so by the time you add tools, spares, camping and retrieval gear, plus water and spare fuel you're up to your GVM. The stock rear suspension appeared at its limits so was replaced by Kings Springs (excellent job). I bought 2nd hand rims and I had them fitted with Bridgestone A/T Light Truck for outback work which are fine, and have retained the originals for city. The Isuzu bull-bar has proven effective against an unfortunate kangaroo. I had initially considered a Mazda BT50 but didn't like the gearbox, plus Isuzu has a reputation for building good engines. Despite a bad back I have found the seats to be good, but I have fitted canvas seat covers to protect against dust and mud. If I have a complaint it is the cost of servicing but I think that is true of all dealers, it's where they make their money so that's not going to change soon. Now long out of warranty so am considering options.

BadgeSX High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabSpace Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2012

Absolutely love it

Bought brand new in 2014 and couldn't not be happier 4 years on, great fuel consumption and will go anywhere.
I have two young kids both in car restraints, one forward facing and one rear facing, I was concerned that a rear facing seat would not safely fit although it does, and while the MU-X has isofix sadly the dmax doesn't in my model

BadgeLS-T
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2014
Drive4WD

great vehicle

It's the best decision we have made. The D Max drives and runs like a dream. We have a Ford Ranger and a Hilux at work and would buy the D Max anyday. We have owned the cr since 2016 and have 40k on it so far, we are getting around 8.6lt per 100km.

BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Drive4WD

Better off buying a 90s model commodore

I have owned my dmax just over two years (2015 model)
Worst purchase I have ever bought. A salute lemon. All components are garbage.
The aireil above the windscreen snapped off when washing the car. The front grill plate fell off after around a year. The metallic paint has absolutely no primer underneath therefore the car rusts when you have a minor scratch. The driver site seat is already ripped just from climbing in and out of the ute.
Would not recommend this ute in any way. I don’t even know how I can get rid of it...

BadgeLS-T
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015
Drive4WD

Page 2 of 10

Questions & Answers

hi. has anyone had vibration issues in a 11/18 6 auto lsu dual cab. standard suspension,factory wheels and tyres?
No answers

My wife is interested in purchasing a second hand Isuzu D-Max diesel with rear canopy and use it to tow a Horse Float occasionally and regularly travel up in the high country of NSW/ACT. What are we expected to pay for a vehicle that has around 100 to 150 thousand klms on the clock?
No answers

My wife is interested in purchasing a second hand Isuzu D-Max diesel with rear canopy and use it to tow a Horse Float occasionally and regularly travel up in the high country of NSW/ACT. What are we expected to pay for a vehicle that has around 100 to 150 thousand klms on the clock?
2 answers
I have just traded my 2015 Isuzu D Max extra cab 4x4 with 141,000km's and received $16,000. So based on that it will probably sell in a car yard for about $20,000.Thanks Dave...

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.