??!
5 photos
Isuzu D-MAX

Isuzu D-MAX (page 2 of 10)

RC (2012-Present) and RA (2008-2012)
3.8 from 192 reviews

See the Best Utes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
92
4 star
40
3 star
23
2 star
9
1 star
28

JimmyJ

JimmyJNewcastle, NSW

  • 20 reviews
  • 16 likes

Love it! Great ute for this price range

published
BadgeSX
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Gary

Gary

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like

Verry happy

published

I was advised by a few mecanics that the dmax was the best for the price a verry robust and economic diesel iv kept mine well servised and iv had no problems with it at all i get verry good econamy and the extra large tray gives as mutch space as a larger 4x4 the rear springs seam low but that is for ease of loading lifting fence post ect saves liftling so high and the springs take a lot of load and still ride well and handlewell but a rear lift looks better and gives better of road clearance verry practical ute

BadgeSX Farm Mate
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2014
Drive4WD
DAVO

DAVOWando Bridge

  • 2 reviews

Best truck on the market

published

These vehicles are built to last,I know of allot of farmers who had Rodeos and ran them around for 10-20 years in the paddock so to speak, with minimal problems.
The D Max is basically the same thing.I regularly tow 3 tonne trailer and its still good on fuel.
currently at 60000km after 2years .

BadgeLS-U
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2016
Drive4WD
Garry B.

Garry B.

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

The Hardware is Great, Software Needs Work

published
BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabSpace Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

A good ute

published
BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016

Dr Steve

Dr Steve

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Before 1000km fantastic - after 1000km terrible

published
BadgeLS-T
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018
Drive4WD

Worst car I have ever owned

published

Been back close to 20 times for various faults and most of them
Still have not been fixed . Worst choice of car I have ever made . Almost 70000 on it and have had nothing but issues with Isuzu . Every time I take my car for a service it comes back with damage to it . At what point can you get your money back for a lemon car ? A car worth $56k to buy is apparently worth under 30k 18 months later and made to be my problem and loss . Please don’t make the same mistake as I did people . Fuel economy is false in there stats also . Buy a ranger or lux

BadgeLS X-Runner
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Drive4WD

Charles

CharlesNerimbera

  • 3 reviews

A great ute

published

WE love our d-max that we have now had for seven years. It is totally reliable and is just great and does every thing that we ask of it. The only replacement parts have been front shocks beside replacement tyres and normal servicing. We tow a tractor on a two ton trailer and it handles the job with ease.

BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2011

Good quality build but seriously uncomfortable

published
BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabSpace Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Drive4WD
Dsanj

DsanjGregory Hills

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Strong reliable Ute And easy to put fun 4x4 Accesorys and and go explore.

published
BadgeSX
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018
Drive4WD

Alex

AlexGold Coast

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

When everything fails you, your D-Max won't

published

I bought my D-Max in October 2014 and it never failed me. With 86,000 kms on the odo, I embarked on a risky journey across Australia, moving from Adelaide to Gold Coast for work. I towed 2.5 tonnes over the 2000 kms and the D-Max did it all no fuss. Along the way, I hit three kangaroos without bullbar, however, there is barely any damage on the truck. I also picked up contaminated fuel in Cobar, but the D-Max powered through without any issues. You cannot get a more reliable vehicle.

BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2014
Drive4WD

No fuss ute

published
BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2015
Drive4WD

Warranty ambiguous and misleading

published
BadgePoor
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2014

Bill

BillCanberra

Really good ute let down by very average dealers

published
BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2014
Drive4WD

Expected a basic level

published
BadgeSX High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabSpace Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Piece of junk

published
BadgeSX
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Drive4WD

no customers service

published

Paid for Ute and still waiting for delivery been 6weeks and I have had to do all the contacting and still can't get the Ute.
Worst company ever to deal with do not use Black locks Albury. Very poor service and no customers relation. Imagine if the Ute has problems it will be impossible to get anything done.

BadgeEX Farm Mate
BodyUte
CabSpace Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Try Blue Ribbon Motors Yamanto.

published

Try Blue Ribbon Motors Yamanto. Bought our 2018 Isusu D-Max single cab 4x4 there and can't fault their help and after sales service. Picked up vehicle and drove 1200 klms home. Unlike other vehicles we have owned, I alighted from the vehicle without any back pain. The vehicle is user friendly with good pick up speed on hills and turns on a dime. Which of course is great for parking. We spend over half a tank less to travel 800 klms, than our other vehicles. Plenty of leg room an room behing the seats.

Badge$48000
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Reliable work ute

published

2014 model auto I've found nothing wrong with the d-max a lot better to drive than the triton feels the same as the hi-lux interior as plenty of room front and back drives well
The only thing I've found that's annoying is if you take of quickley the Tyers spin
And the canopy leaks but that's not an Isuzu fault

BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014

Bluey

BlueyDarwin

Good reliable ute in remote area

published
BadgeLS
BodyCab Chassis
CabSpace Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2015

Page 2 of 10

Questions & Answers

Brett

Brettasked

Are the 2019 manual transmissions tough and longlasting

1 answer
Annie
Annie

As far as I know they haven't been any issues. The only issues I have commonly heard of is turbos in 2017,2018 and 2019 models which Isuzu replaces under warranty.


Ebrahim A.

Ebrahim A.asked

I schemed my discs nd replace brake pads finish the job when I driving forward it goes into Limp Mode.What is causing it to be doing that?

No answers

leigh j

leigh jasked

D-MAX RC (2012-Present)

on cold mornings it takes 6or 7 goes to go from 1st to 2nd ok after car has done 10 km

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Isuzu representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.