??!
20 photos
Isuzu D-MAX

Isuzu D-MAX (page 2 of 11)

RC.I, RA, RC.II
3.7 from 209 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (30)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (30)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (28)
  • Noise Level
    2.9 (30)
  • Braking
    4.1 (30)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.7 (31)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.4 (31)
  • Suspension
    3.4 (31)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.1 (31)
  • Handling
    3.9 (31)
  • Interior Design
    3.6 (29)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (22)
  • Comfort
    3.7 (30)
  • Features
    3.4 (29)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Great Ute!

published

If you want a pretty ute at the sacrifice of reliability, don't buy a DMAX.
Bought my ute brand new in Jan 2019 after driving one for work for a few years and can't fault them!
If you're buying a Dual Cab 4x4 and your decision is influenced by its interior looks, you clearly haven't done your research!

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Wally

WallyMid North Coast, NSW

Very unhappy with the clutch

published

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Annie

Annie

  • 4 reviews
  • 11 likes

2017 Isuzu dmax

published

Vehicle is used mostly for highway driving and towing a boat. Overall I am very happy with my purchase. Truck engine so it is loud in the cabin, Bluetooth doesn't work very well. Fuel economy with mixture of highway local driving 850km to the tank. If you are looking for a reliable ute I recommend the dmax. Interior is cheap however it's not family vehicle. If you want pretty plastic I suggest you buy something else. If you want a work horse then it's a easy choice good old dmax

Purchased in April 2017 at Isuzu Dealers for A$34,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Deb.B

Deb.BSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Isuzu d max

published

My husband bought an Isuzu d max in 2013.
What a Ute. We use it for work and play.
We tow our 14ft Caravan with ease. A very comfortable 4wd to travel in.

Purchased in March 2013 at Hyundi gympie.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
James Lee

James Lee

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Noisy when dling bluetooth phone talk.

published

Use for work, a lot of 4wding and Highway. average 50k per year.
Bluetooth is really bad everyone that I am talking to, they all complain. Diesel noise is loud too in the cabin.

Purchased in July 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers

Uncomfortable, slow and noisy

published

Seriously uncomfortable. I do long driving and this Ute is the worse vehicle for comfort. The engine is hideously noisy and the transmission is terribly slow. The engine is horribly noisy and underpowered. The road noise is dreadful. The ride will make you feel sick on poor rod surfaces. Other than that it is a great car : /

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Sam L.

Sam L.Sydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

It's got its good points and not so good

published

Purchased in April 2016 at Isuzu Dealers for A$40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

Disappointed

published

Purchased in November 2017.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
See all answers
mike

mikePerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Just great stuff

published

Now on my seventh Isuzu 4wd ute.

Just a real honest workhorse.

Great on fuel and great in boggy sand, even with a boat hanging off the back (gotta get the tyre pressure spot on though).

I know that luck is part of the game with any car and I sympathize with anyone who has had problems.

(Had 2 wb holden utes...................one did 400,000 k's and still ran like new........the other blew up at 150,000.........hey go figure that out)

Purchased in December 2018 for A$40,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ross

RossSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Dmax Auto

published

Purchased in June 2014 for A$48,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Dave C

Dave CPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Is the D-Max a genuine tradesman type vehicle

published

Purchased in March 2016 for A$40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
Features
See all answers
sue

sueCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

BUYING A NEW D-MAX SX SPACE CAB UTE

published

It was obvious that Doug at Harrison Isuzu believed in the product he was selling, listened to our questions and was very helpful in the lead up to our eventual purchase of our new D-MAX SU ute.

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Peter c

Peter cGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

3 months and counting. What a joke. You buy a new ute so you dont have problems. Not happy

published

Hi i haven't even had my ute for more than two years yet and it been sitting at the dealer for the last 3 months. It continues to go into limp mode when you first start it in the mornings. They still cant give me answers to why this is occurring. I can't believe that with technology they have these days, you would think that the problem could be found. Izuzu Australia haven't even had the courtesy to call me back. It shows that they just want your money when you purchase a vehicle. But when there's a problem they dont care if it jeopardises you're likely hood. I really on my ute. But i can't really on izuzu

Purchased in May 2017 for A$50,000.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Barry L

Barry LCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Updating previous post.

published

Further to previous listing of serious problems with 2017 6 spd auto not changing properly when towing, and overheating transmission light coming on if in manual mode etc, last years trip towing same caravan, well within weight ratings, proved to be more like should be, even using 5th gear instead of going straight from 4th to 6th. 3 Isuzu dealerships failed to find a problem, and blamed the driver. Last trip vehicle had reached 16.000km before setting out. Still has overheating light problem, but returned a burn rate of 15 ltrs per 100km instead of the previous trip of 16.5. Still, when travelling without trailer using cruise control, vehicle constantly changing from 6th to 4th on shortest and slightest rises.
Hope this is helpful.

Purchased in June 2017.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
jenandcol

jenandcolvic, 3463

  • 3 reviews

d max

published

hi, the isuzu d max 2016 model it is tuff and rough not a family 4x2 or 4x4. i tow for living 5000 km a week ,i did 250000 km before i got some very bad fuel and the motor went bang. one thing that i learnt about dmax push them hard ,change oil/ filter at 15000 k ,auto 30000k diff 30000k

BadgeSX High Ride
Bodyspace cab
CabSpace Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
allan

allanwarragul, vic, 3820

  • 2 reviews

Isuzu canopy

published

the Isuzu canopy is no good , after 3 years the side glass on the r h side of lift up window started to come out of holder, Isuzu would not fix it as canopy is warranted for 3 years or 100,000 km, the repairer told me the frame is buckled and needed a new one. so I will have to keep window closed.not good enough when vehicle is 5 years warranty ,I had it back to Isuzu a few times to stop it leaking .

BadgeLS-U
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Drive4WD
Bigbadal

BigbadalGisborne

Tough

published

Without doubt the most genuine workhorse out there , if you want refinement get an Amarock , if you want reliability and an engine capable of 600k , D Max all the way , I had the first one 240k still on original clutch , rotors and only replaced pads once towing 3 ton regularly.

BadgeLS
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2009
Drive4WD
Dennis Bant

Dennis BantWestern District, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Outback vehicle, simply great.

published

We use the Dmax as our only car. We have altered it slightly by adding a canopy and a few extras for outback travelling. But we also use it for normal driving as it is a four door and it is quite comfortable. It is economical on fuel, even when towing a Caravan offroad. It is a great workhorse and will go where many other trucks breakdown. The price is better than a few other vehicles in the same range and it also has a capped service for 5 years. We have had no problems with it and although large it is a dream to drive.

Purchased for A$48,000.00.

Nathan

NathanSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 12 likes

Quite simply a great ute...

published
BadgeLS-M
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
JimmyJ

JimmyJNewcastle, NSW

  • 20 reviews
  • 19 likes

Love it! Great ute for this price range

published
BadgeSX
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Page 2 of 11
See all Isuzu D-MAX reviews

Questions & Answers

Teddy T.

Teddy T.asked

D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

The rear differential has failed again for the second time is this a problem when towing heavy loads I use my D-max for work daily towing a concrete pump

No answers
AmyG

AmyGasked

D-MAX

My partner has a 2021 LSU and we’re trying to figure out how to take the dash apart to install a UHF/Trailer brake. Any help?

No answers
ernie

ernieasked

D-MAX

i have a squeaking type squealing noise coming from right hand side of the dash

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Isuzu representatives

Details

Compare all 10 Isuzu D-MAX
CategoryUtesUtesUtesUtes
Starting Price A$42,649A$26,990A$52,298A$48,367
TransmissionAutomaticManualAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselDiesel
Wheels16" Steel15" Steel18" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors 2 to 4244
Seats 2 to 5255
Fuel Consumption7.7 L/100km7.2 L/100km7.7 L/100km7.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 76 L76 L76 L76 L
Engine4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel
Engine Code4JJ1-TC4JJ1-TC4JJ1-TC4JJ1-TC
Max Power130kW @ 3600rpm130kW @ 3600rpm130kW @ 3600rpm130kw @ 3600rpm
Max Torquee 430Nm @ 2000-2200rpm430Nm @ 2000-2200rpm430Nm @ 2000-2200rpm430Nm @ 2000-2200rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandThailandThailandThailand
Tray TypeCab Chassis and Pick UpCab ChassisPick UpPick Up
Cab Options Dual, Extra and SingleSingleDualDual
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg2,500 kg750 kg750 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,500 kg750 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg
Maximum Payload1,029 kg1,349 kg1,014 kg1,024 kg
Ground Clearance225 mm190 mm235 mm235 mm
Manufacturer Warranty6 year(s)6 year(s)6 year(s)6 year(s)
Release dateFeb 2017Feb 2017Feb 2017Feb 2017
Compare all 10 Isuzu D-MAX

Visit official website

Other Utes

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.