??!
20 photos
Isuzu D-MAX

Isuzu D-MAX (page 4 of 11)

RC.I, RA, RC.II
3.7 from 209 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (30)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (30)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (28)
  • Noise Level
    2.9 (30)
  • Braking
    4.1 (30)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.7 (31)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.4 (31)
  • Suspension
    3.4 (31)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.1 (31)
  • Handling
    3.9 (31)
  • Interior Design
    3.6 (29)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (22)
  • Comfort
    3.7 (30)
  • Features
    3.4 (29)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Victoria

VictoriaWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Beautiful Car to drive and ride in

published

Just purchased a Isuzu Dmax and love it . Good on fuel easy to drive and very comfy.
The towing capacity was what sold us on this vehicle and we have no problem reccomending it to other caravan owners. Only thing lacking was an inbuilt gps but we can live with that. Love the reversing camera and the blue tooth. Should be standard in all new vehicles.

BadgeLS High Ride
BodyUte
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Isuzu D-max Lsm

published
BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Drive4WD
Amanda

Amanda

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

D-Max 4x4 Crew Cab Chasis Automatic

published

Compared a range of 4 x 4 and for our budget, we were down to the Triton and the Isuzu D-Max. Absolutely love the D-Max as the handling of the vehicle was more grounded. The Triton felt very light when travelling at 100km/hr in comparison. The interior of the D-Max is average however was quite impressed that the SX model we purchased had a touch screen radio. Definitely a very reliable and durable vehicle and would highly recommend it.

BadgeSX
BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Drive4WD
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ausborn

AusbornBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

2012 D-Max SX 4X4 excellent for my needs.

published
BadgeSX High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabSpace Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2012
Rachel

RachelPicton

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Absolutely love it

published

Bought brand new in 2014 and couldn't not be happier 4 years on, great fuel consumption and will go anywhere.
I have two young kids both in car restraints, one forward facing and one rear facing, I was concerned that a rear facing seat would not safely fit although it does, and while the MU-X has isofix sadly the dmax doesn't in my model

BadgeLS-T
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2014
Drive4WD
emuman_30

emuman_30AU

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

great vehicle

published

It's the best decision we have made. The D Max drives and runs like a dream. We have a Ford Ranger and a Hilux at work and would buy the D Max anyday. We have owned the cr since 2016 and have 40k on it so far, we are getting around 8.6lt per 100km.

BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Drive4WD
Zipbmx

ZipbmxRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Better off buying a 90s model commodore

published

I have owned my dmax just over two years (2015 model)
Worst purchase I have ever bought. A salute lemon. All components are garbage.
The aireil above the windscreen snapped off when washing the car. The front grill plate fell off after around a year. The metallic paint has absolutely no primer underneath therefore the car rusts when you have a minor scratch. The driver site seat is already ripped just from climbing in and out of the ute.
Would not recommend this ute in any way. I don’t even know how I can get rid of it...

BadgeLS-T
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015
Drive4WD
LITTLE ACKMAN

LITTLE ACKMANWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

RUST AND GEARBOX PROBLEM

published
BadgeLS
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Drive4WD

Gotta love Da Max

published

Got out of a Ford XR6 for the Isuzu Dmax. Want to go off road and this is my first 4wd vehicle. Friend recommended the Dmax and I am extremely happy. Great fuel economy, great ride, lots of fun. Love the sound of the turbo sucking air thru the snorkel.

BadgeLS High Ride
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Seatbelts Crap

published

Seatbelts lock when you lean forward, pick something up from the floor or go to adjust the mirror. Isuzu says it's a safety feature but as an end user I say safety issue. You have to stop and undo the belt and let it retract right back before putting it back on and its illegal to stop on a motorway. IDIOTS!!!!! Had other issues but can dealt with those as things that just happen!

BadgeLS-T
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2012
Drive4WD
Chook Fowler

Chook Fowlermildura

  • 4 reviews
  • 22 likes

No.2 SX D/C

published
BadgeSX High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Matt

MattLaunceston

Car warranty

published

Tried to claim a fault in vehicle but have been denied due to a warranty that is formed to suit company not consumer. Treated like I was lying about cause of damage and then when i requested to talk to actual people who make warranty decisions at Isuzu was advised those that make decisions won't talk to you.

BadgeLS
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Mal R.

Mal R.Adelaide

Who invented this self locking idiocy?

published

Nearly as good as a HiLux. The key is an absolute pain. The car self locks if I stop to, say, answer a phone call or look at a view. Don't put the key in your pocket or put it on the key rack, it will lock!! A pain. Is there any way to disable this auto lock activity?
Hardest ride of any 4WD that I've ever ridden in. Consumption goes through the roof if you tow anything.
But in 8 years I've not had any major mechanical costs, other than grill trim falling off.

BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2010
Drive4WD
Mal

MalHobart, TAS

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Comfortable and economical

published

My Dmax drives like a car and is very economical even towing the caravan around Tasmania it pulls up the hills effortlessly giving me 10.9L/100km. The only dislike is the console is too small, there are 2 glove compartments which are also too small and a lack of storage space

BadgeSX High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Annette

AnnetteBeenleigh

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Love my D-Max ❤️

published
BadgeIsuzu D-Max Dual cab 4wd
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2011
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
goldcoastwestie

goldcoastwestieGold Coast

  • 29 reviews
  • 23 likes

A great addition

published
BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabCrew Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Drive4WD
Granny G

Granny GGold Coast

  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

Love the freedom, strength and reliability our DMax gives us!

published

The DMax handles well, is comfortable and practical. We find it pulls our 18 foot caravan effortlessly. It is stylish and quiet . The interior is rather basic without too many bells and whistles and the back seat is not real comfortable for long trips but it's practical easy to clean and the front seats are comfortable . The tray transports all our bits and pieces and is easy to clean. Ours has a vinyl cover which is good but at some point we would like to get a canopy. There are Isuzu dealers most places so it is easy to get services and spare parts!

Badge$29.500
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Drive4WD
Stephen

StephenPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Dmax will become a legend

published
BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Drive4WD
1 comment
Stephen
Stephen

2017 Auto Trans problems.

published
BadgeSX High Ride
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
DriveRWD
Rob

Robaustralind

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Super happy

published

Little more noisy than other vehicles but fuel economy is terrific compared to my Kluger. Great storage - although cup holders are way too small for most water/drink bottles. great to park, super comfortable to drive. tows 2T no problem. I would definitely buy another if they sort out cup holder issue.

BadgeLS-T
Bodywagon
Cabwagon
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Drive4WD
Page 4 of 11
See all Isuzu D-MAX reviews

Questions & Answers

Ray T.

Ray T.asked

D-MAX

My 2011 D Max has no Cruise Control working !
When the button on the Dad is pressed, a green light comes on, at the button, but nothing shows up on the dash.
A mechanic connected his computer to the car, but no fault showed up!
How can this be and would an auto electrician be the next step ?

No answers
marvelouscolection

marvelouscolectionasked

D-MAX RA (2008-2012)

Hi Dmax group...how to fix iddle rpm low..
4jj1 2008

No answers
Teddy T.

Teddy T.asked

D-MAX RC.I (2012-2016)

The rear differential has failed again for the second time is this a problem when towing heavy loads I use my D-max for work daily towing a concrete pump

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Isuzu representatives

Details

Compare all 10 Isuzu D-MAX
CategoryUtesUtesUtesUtes
Starting Price A$42,649A$26,990A$52,298A$48,367
TransmissionAutomaticManualAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselDiesel
Wheels16" Steel15" Steel18" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors 2 to 4244
Seats 2 to 5255
Fuel Consumption7.7 L/100km7.2 L/100km7.7 L/100km7.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 76 L76 L76 L76 L
Engine4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel
Engine Code4JJ1-TC4JJ1-TC4JJ1-TC4JJ1-TC
Max Power130kW @ 3600rpm130kW @ 3600rpm130kW @ 3600rpm130kw @ 3600rpm
Max Torquee 430Nm @ 2000-2200rpm430Nm @ 2000-2200rpm430Nm @ 2000-2200rpm430Nm @ 2000-2200rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandThailandThailandThailand
Tray TypeCab Chassis and Pick UpCab ChassisPick UpPick Up
Cab Options Dual, Extra and SingleSingleDualDual
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg2,500 kg750 kg750 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,500 kg750 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg
Maximum Payload1,029 kg1,349 kg1,014 kg1,024 kg
Ground Clearance225 mm190 mm235 mm235 mm
Manufacturer Warranty6 year(s)6 year(s)6 year(s)6 year(s)
Release dateFeb 2017Feb 2017Feb 2017Feb 2017
Compare all 10 Isuzu D-MAX

Visit official website

Other Utes

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.