22 photos
Isuzu D-MAX

Isuzu D-MAX

RC.I, RA, RC.II
3.8 from 222 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Utes in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Isuzu

Expert Review

D-MAX X-Terrain

Check out our in-depth expert review of the best Isuzu has to offer; the 2021 D-MAX X-Terrain. Our article and accompanying video take you through everything you need to know about one of Australia's most popular 4x4 utes.

Read Now

D-MAX SX

The base model D-MAX has plenty to offer. We gave the D-MAX SX a full write-up and put everything you need to see on video so you can decide if this 4x2 ute is right for you.

Read Now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.6 (5)
  • Value for Money
    2.4 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (3)
  • Noise Level
    2.4 (5)
  • Braking
    2.8 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    2.8 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    2.0 (5)
  • Suspension
    2.2 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.2 (5)
  • Handling
    2.8 (5)
  • Interior Design
    3.0 (5)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (3)
  • Comfort
    2.6 (5)
  • Features
    2.4 (5)
Previous
Next
tdock86
tdock86Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Cracked inner guard. Twice in 12 months

published

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Nick S
Nick SHunter Region, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Quite disappointing for a 2016 vehicle.

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Isuzu Mebourne for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
jasmoonee
jasmooneeMid North Coast, NSW
  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Test drive first

published

Purchased in November 2020.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
Joseph
JosephSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

What a lemon

published

I took a new D'max for a test run and what a piece of rubbish. the manual gearbox is still faulty as it crunches when going from first to second and second to third when cold. This is a problem with the previous models and Isuzu refuse to fix it. Also the consul between the seats is too high and my elbow hits it when trying to go around a corner. The suspension is still the same as previous models so therefore is unable to carry the stated load. Also the brakes are the same as previous so wont pull up the vehicle when fully loaded. Do not know how it received a 5 star safety rating. I suppose if you drive it MT and run into a concrete block then it may be ok but who does that.
Joseph

Purchased in December 2018 for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Wally
WallyMid North Coast, NSW

Very unhappy with the clutch

published

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5

Uncomfortable, slow and noisy

published

Seriously uncomfortable. I do long driving and this Ute is the worse vehicle for comfort. The engine is hideously noisy and the transmission is terribly slow. The engine is horribly noisy and underpowered. The road noise is dreadful. The ride will make you feel sick on poor rod surfaces. Other than that it is a great car : /

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Chappo
ChappoRutherford
  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Big mistake, buy something else.

published

Gearbox issues from new. Gearbox notchy and noisy. Changed oil and it was full of metal Rebuilt the box, got the car back and it was worse. Eventually got a new gearbox, got treated by servicing department like I was the problem. New gearbox got noisy, sold the car after just 1 year lost $12,000, good riddance.

BadgeLS-U
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD

Related Articles

Previous
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next

2013 LS-M dual cab. Wouldn't buy another one

published
TransmissionManual
BadgeLS-M
BodyUte
CabDual Cab

Not impressed with its lack of guts.

published
BadgeSX 5 speed manual
DriveRWD
TransmissionManual
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Paul Prz
Paul PrzMoonta SA
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Isuzu D-Max 2013

published

Bought an Isuzu D-Max SX demo, it's a good car but the seats are very uncomfortable!!! We travelled for 4 hours on our first trip after purchasing it and both had back pain! Have complained to Isuzu who said the seats were the same throughout the fleet and can't be changed, so it looks like we are going to have to get aftermarket seats installed at a cost of approx. $3000 for both seats, we found this very disappointing especially for a near new vehicle.

TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeSX
ProHilux
ProHiluxLismore

2013 Isuzu D-Max SX crew cab chassis

published
TransmissionManual
BadgeSX
STEPHEN
STEPHENbarossa

Fuel Consumption Poor

published

2010 D-Max LSU thought I purchased a family car with nothing to spend. Very wrong besides the 13L per 100K and that's just with me in it, they say 9.5L what [censored word removed]. Then I tried putting a medium load in the back thanks to the [censored word removed] up suspension it came home on its bump stops. Ute has only done 51000km and now needs $2000.
Suspension up grade and possibly air bags for towing boat's or van's. One more thing the speedo is out by at least 5%. Thanks to other people giving [censored word removed] reviews I have a nice white ute that loves diesel and super great suspension???

BadgeLS-U
JBJARROD
JBJARROD
FNQ Peter G
FNQ Peter G
DCM4805
DCM4805

Thanks for your reviews. FNQ Peter G, we are also from far nth and looking at taking this up the cape. Would love to know more about how your Dmax is set up. Currently we are looking at buying a 2011 Dmax that is pretty standard.

Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Erin80
Erin80Tas
  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

2012 Isuzu D-MAX LSU Space Cab (new model)

published
BadgeLS-U
JBJARROD
JBJARROD
dizzy
dizzy
Display Name
Display Name

Speedo being out conforms with the ADR for speedos. Take it up with them. Most new vehicles do not have an accurate speedo.

Questions & Answers

Tom J.
Tom J.asked
D-MAX 4x4 LS-U (2017-2021)

blew my diff, just wondering if a LSD rodeo diff would bolt straight in?

No answers
Phillip J.
Phillip J.asked
D-MAX 4x4 X-Terrain (2020-2021)

I am traveling around northern Australia and have found that many sealed roads and highways are not on the sat nav. Can this be upgraded?

2 answers
FoxReviews
FoxReviews

The updates would be available when the GPS service is updated, either Tom Tom or Navman company must create this update for the native gps to reflect this.

Google Maps seem to be better with the unsealed roads in my experience, and you can download your maps for offline use.

tdock86
tdock86

I upgraded mine and it seemed to fix it. Can’t speak for where you are but definitely helped on the East Coast of Oz and through Sydney. I have a 2017 LSU. Popped out the as card, put it into the computer and paid $160 for 3 or so years worth of free updates? Bit of a rip off in hindsight but worth it plus do a lot of driving with no reception and love the offline maps on gps. Also I’ve heard dealers quoting anywhere from $350-$1000 to do what I did... pretty sure I got the name of the nav website from Isuzu website FAQ. Good luck.

Mick D
Mick Dasked
D-MAX

i have a 2021 Dmax LSU space cab, it only has rear parking sensors can i add front parking sensors ?

2 answers
tdock86
tdock86

No idea sorry Mick D, I have a 2017 LS-U. They were pretty basic compared to the new ones.

Mick D
Mick D

thanks, was thinking they might have the wiring loom there but as its not an X Terrain no front sensors

See all Isuzu D-MAX questions

Get an answer from our members and Isuzu representatives

Isuzu D-MAX

Details

Compare all 11 Isuzu D-MAX
CategoryUtesUtesUtesUtes
Starting Price $38,513$53,369$51,097$55,230
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselDiesel
Wheels16" Steel17" Alloy16" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors 2 to 442 to 42 to 4
Seats 2 to 552 to 54 to 5
Fuel Consumption7.7 L/100km7.7 L/100km7.9 L/100km7.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 76 L76 L76 L76 L
Engine4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel
Engine Code4JJ1-TCX4JJ1-TCX4JJ1-TC4JJ1-TC
Max Power140kW @ 3600 rpm140kW @ 3600 rpm130kW @ 3600rpm130kW @ 3600rpm
Max Torque450Nm @ 1600-2600 rpm450Nm @ 1600-2600 rpm430Nm @ 2000-2200rpm430Nm @ 2000-2200rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandThailandThailandThailand
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Tray TypeCab Chassis and Pick UpPick UpCab Chassis and Pick UpPick Up
Cab Options Dual, Extra and SingleDualDual, Extra and SingleDual and Extra
Maximum Payload1,300 kg1,040 kg1,034 kg1,029 kg
Ground Clearance225 mm235 mm225 mm235 mm
Manufacturer Warranty6 year(s)6 year(s)6 year(s)6 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance225 mm235 mm225 mm235 mm
Release dateFeb 2017Feb 2017Feb 2017Feb 2017
Compare all 11 Isuzu D-MAX
Visit official website

Other Utes

Previous
Next
See all Utes

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.