22 photos
Isuzu D-MAX

Isuzu D-MAX

RC.I, RA, RC.II
3.8 from 226 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Utes in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Isuzu

Expert Review

D-MAX X-Terrain

Check out our in-depth expert review of the best Isuzu has to offer; the 2021 D-MAX X-Terrain. Our article and accompanying video take you through everything you need to know about one of Australia's most popular 4x4 utes.

Read Now

D-MAX SX

The base model D-MAX has plenty to offer. We gave the D-MAX SX a full write-up and put everything you need to see on video so you can decide if this 4x2 ute is right for you.

Read Now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (12)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (9)
  • Noise Level
    2.9 (11)
  • Braking
    3.9 (11)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.5 (12)
  • Gear Shifting
    2.8 (12)
  • Suspension
    3.3 (12)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (12)
  • Handling
    3.6 (12)
  • Interior Design
    3.3 (11)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (8)
  • Comfort
    3.4 (11)
  • Features
    3.1 (12)
Previous
Next
Darryl R.
Darryl R.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Error lights on dash

published

I use cruise control in all my cars everyday for safety of speeding.
Also I purchased this Ute for its 5 star safety rating.When it rains Or has been raining I get 3 error lights on the dash which disengages the cruise and crash midagation due to the clean windscreen needing cleaning ?? My Ute has 2,000klms on it and this has happened 25 times.
Today another error for DPD ,when I speak to Isuzu they say they all do this .What a load of rubbish. I did buy 5 star rated car with cruise control not to be able to use it..
Pathetic to say the least,I have lodged a complaint with Isuzu Australia and booked the car in to be looked at.I expect then to tell me they all do this again which consumer affairs will be contacted.
All

Purchased for $64,000.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
David M.
David M.Sydney, NSW

Pity about the manual gearbox

published

Fantastic Ute - tech is first rate & vehicle really does the job but why oh why with all this effort
Do we have to put up with notchy sometime so difficult gearbox,??? At least in 1st/2nd/Reverse so far. Bargain price though all the same so glad i did not drive one before purchase,!! Might have ended up spending a heap more!!

C'mon Isuzu.... you're almost there.

Purchased in August 2021 at Isuzu Dealers.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Gus
GusSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great tow car

published

I am retired I do drive car most days and tow a caravan a lot always have car serviced no issues with car towes great I would recommend if you’re towing

Purchased in August 2021 for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

FoxReviews
FoxReviewsGoulburn Valley, VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

So many things to like!

published

Purchased in June 2021.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
tdock86
tdock86Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Cracked inner guard. Twice in 12 months

published

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Nick S
Nick SHunter Region, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Quite disappointing for a 2016 vehicle.

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Isuzu Mebourne for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
jasmoonee
jasmooneeMid North Coast, NSW
  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Test drive first

published

Purchased in November 2020.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic

Related Articles

Previous
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Marc
MarcGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Wow. What a ute.

published

Just bought my first max. 2015 ls-u high ride 60000km.
Still looks like new inside and out. 3 lt turbo desiel drives great.
Used for work daily and towing motorbikes on the weekend.
Love it.

Purchased in October 2020 at Genesis isuzu for $29,000.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Joseph
JosephSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

What a lemon

published

I took a new D'max for a test run and what a piece of rubbish. the manual gearbox is still faulty as it crunches when going from first to second and second to third when cold. This is a problem with the previous models and Isuzu refuse to fix it. Also the consul between the seats is too high and my elbow hits it when trying to go around a corner. The suspension is still the same as previous models so therefore is unable to carry the stated load. Also the brakes are the same as previous so wont pull up the vehicle when fully loaded. Do not know how it received a 5 star safety rating. I suppose if you drive it MT and run into a concrete block then it may be ok but who does that.
Joseph

Purchased in December 2018 for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Linda
Linda Illawarra, NSW

Tappet cover removal

published

Has anyone had trouble removing the tappet cover as mine is stuck and don’t want to force it. I have a 2010 Isuzu DMax 3 lt. Any recommendations for loosening it would be great don’t want to crack it.

Purchased in January 2010.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionManual
DH
DHAuckland
  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

Improvement over the last model

published
BadgeLS-U
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Drive4WD
Wally
WallyMid North Coast, NSW

Very unhappy with the clutch

published

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Utes

Find out how Isuzu D-MAX compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Annie
Annie
  • 4 reviews
  • 11 likes

2017 Isuzu dmax

published

Vehicle is used mostly for highway driving and towing a boat. Overall I am very happy with my purchase. Truck engine so it is loud in the cabin, Bluetooth doesn't work very well. Fuel economy with mixture of highway local driving 850km to the tank. If you are looking for a reliable ute I recommend the dmax. Interior is cheap however it's not family vehicle. If you want pretty plastic I suggest you buy something else. If you want a work horse then it's a easy choice good old dmax

Purchased in April 2017 at Isuzu Dealers for $34,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Uncomfortable, slow and noisy

published

Seriously uncomfortable. I do long driving and this Ute is the worse vehicle for comfort. The engine is hideously noisy and the transmission is terribly slow. The engine is horribly noisy and underpowered. The road noise is dreadful. The ride will make you feel sick on poor rod surfaces. Other than that it is a great car : /

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Barry L
Barry LCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Updating previous post.

published

Further to previous listing of serious problems with 2017 6 spd auto not changing properly when towing, and overheating transmission light coming on if in manual mode etc, last years trip towing same caravan, well within weight ratings, proved to be more like should be, even using 5th gear instead of going straight from 4th to 6th. 3 Isuzu dealerships failed to find a problem, and blamed the driver. Last trip vehicle had reached 16.000km before setting out. Still has overheating light problem, but returned a burn rate of 15 ltrs per 100km instead of the previous trip of 16.5. Still, when travelling without trailer using cruise control, vehicle constantly changing from 6th to 4th on shortest and slightest rises.
Hope this is helpful.

Purchased in June 2017.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

ken
kenasked
D-MAX

I own a current model dmax dual cab LSU and have had an ongoing limp mode problem, the first time this happened it was towed to local dealership where they said the problem was a software issue and updated the programme, this extraordinary given my car had only done 5000kms, so fast forward 2 months and once again back into limp mode. DPF light flashing ( indicating burn is necessary) however burn does not take place after getting to temperature, DPF still flashing after driving some 4kms then front camera lights up on dash saying unavailable and it is a clear day, along with this several other dash icons. So DMAX going back to dealership tomorrow morning, fingers crossed they actually get it sought once and for all!

2 answers
6wafr
6wafr

Ken, I'm no electronics expert but if the dealers can't nail what the problem is they should replace the apple car play.
WF

ken
ken

WF thanks for your advice, will post mechanics assessment once received
Cheers
Ken

Tom J.
Tom J.asked
D-MAX 4x4 LS-U (2017-2021)

blew my diff, just wondering if a LSD rodeo diff would bolt straight in?

No answers
Phillip J.
Phillip J.asked
D-MAX 4x4 X-Terrain (2020-2021)

I am traveling around northern Australia and have found that many sealed roads and highways are not on the sat nav. Can this be upgraded?

2 answers
FoxReviews
FoxReviews

The updates would be available when the GPS service is updated, either Tom Tom or Navman company must create this update for the native gps to reflect this.

Google Maps seem to be better with the unsealed roads in my experience, and you can download your maps for offline use.

tdock86
tdock86

I upgraded mine and it seemed to fix it. Can’t speak for where you are but definitely helped on the East Coast of Oz and through Sydney. I have a 2017 LSU. Popped out the as card, put it into the computer and paid $160 for 3 or so years worth of free updates? Bit of a rip off in hindsight but worth it plus do a lot of driving with no reception and love the offline maps on gps. Also I’ve heard dealers quoting anywhere from $350-$1000 to do what I did... pretty sure I got the name of the nav website from Isuzu website FAQ. Good luck.

See all Isuzu D-MAX questions

Get an answer from our members and Isuzu representatives

Isuzu D-MAX

Details

Compare all 11 Isuzu D-MAX
CategoryUtesUtesUtesUtes
Starting Price $38,513$53,369$51,097$55,230
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselDiesel
Wheels16" Steel17" Alloy16" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors 2 to 442 to 42 to 4
Seats 2 to 552 to 54 to 5
Fuel Consumption7.7 L/100km7.7 L/100km7.9 L/100km7.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 76 L76 L76 L76 L
Engine4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel4 Cylinder 3.0L Turbo Diesel
Engine Code4JJ1-TCX4JJ1-TCX4JJ1-TC4JJ1-TC
Max Power140kW @ 3600 rpm140kW @ 3600 rpm130kW @ 3600rpm130kW @ 3600rpm
Max Torque450Nm @ 1600-2600 rpm450Nm @ 1600-2600 rpm430Nm @ 2000-2200rpm430Nm @ 2000-2200rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandThailandThailandThailand
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Tray TypeCab Chassis and Pick UpPick UpCab Chassis and Pick UpPick Up
Cab Options Dual, Extra and SingleDualDual, Extra and SingleDual and Extra
Maximum Payload1,300 kg1,040 kg1,034 kg1,029 kg
Ground Clearance225 mm235 mm225 mm235 mm
Manufacturer Warranty6 year(s)6 year(s)6 year(s)6 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance225 mm235 mm225 mm235 mm
Release dateFeb 2017Feb 2017Feb 2017Feb 2017
Compare all 11 Isuzu D-MAX
Visit official website

Other Utes

Previous
Next
See all Utes

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.