6 photos
Isuzu MU-X

Isuzu MU-X (page 2 of 6)

Series I, Series II
4.3 from 129 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Isuzu

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (23)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (23)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (22)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (23)
  • Braking
    4.6 (22)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (22)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (20)
  • Suspension
    4.1 (23)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.4 (23)
  • Handling
    4.3 (23)
  • Interior Design
    3.9 (22)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (23)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (23)
  • Features
    3.9 (22)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Bakpakka
BakpakkaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 13 reviews
  • 12 likes

2018 MU-X LST - Extensive research led me to this purchase. Very happy!!

published
BadgeLS-T
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2018
Gerry
GerryWheatbelt, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Did not last 150000 unsatisfactory vehicle

published

I brought brand new isuzu mux with rusty rotor disc and the only answer i got is that is how it is with the cars kept outside the showroom.
Its good on diesel with factory faults the brand new mux i had was sold to me with mis aligned wheels that gave me lots of worries and disappointments
Finally after the 125000 km engine warranty it ended up. Leaking coolant from between cylinder head and engine block.

BadgeLS-M
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014

Lives up to my expectations

published

Can't fault the economy averaged 7.6 ltr per 100klm room and comfort is good. The rear floor entry is a bit high, easy controls to use. Reliability is excellent though was expected from this proven engine. Performance it can get up and go if you want it too, I have the 2wd wish i could have afforded the 4wd thinking long term reliability that's why i got a mu-x.

BadgeLS-U
DriveRWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Isuzu MU-X compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great, with a few caveats.

published

Love the MUX. Overall a great car. Good view out, especially looking out the rear passenger side as a driver trying to see oncoming traffic.
The negatives...
We have a terrible wind whistle which we can’t find. Painful. Anyone have an answer??
Road noise is high.
Turbo lags a bit.
The rear storage unit is so tiny, almost worthless.
The ride seems to float along, bouncy is how I would describe it.
Would we buy again? Yes. If only we could stop the wind whistle!!

BadgeLS-M
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Pamela B
Pamela BAU
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Love our latest addition Isuzu MUX

published

Love our MUX, can not fault anything. Our grandchildren absolutely love Grandpa's car, especially the dvd player. They think they are so cool when grandpa picks them up from school in the Isuzu. We have fun watching the grass grow and have one tree starting (an app that tells you how you are travelling ecomonically). Dealership was fantastic Harrison Isuzu, Shane sales manager and Johnathan salesman.

BadgeLS-T
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Peter
PeterMelbourne
  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

After some disappointing cars the MU-X is by far the BEST car I have owned

published
BadgeLS-T
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015

Great car, terrible customer service.

published
BadgeLS-T
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014
Wenna
WennaBaradine

love the car - few things to fix at service time

published

* km left until i have to fuel up
changes dramatically
e.g 1 minute i might have 500km left
it changes to 600 then 300km
*usb mp3 music going blank and screeching after half hr
* car pulling to right
* cruise control -car is changing back gears and revving dangerous.

BadgeLS-U
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Radio problem took 6 months to resolve

published
BadgeLS-T
DriveRWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Isuzu MU-X compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
R Davies
R DaviesToowoomba
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very happy owner after 2 years

published

Very happy with our purchase. Great after sales service. We feel valued as customers. Reliable, tows well. Basic interior - which is very much a plus for us as we have kids. Easy to park but fits all we need. Flexibility of use. Exceeded our expectations, very happy to recommend.

BadgeLS-M
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Peter D.
Peter D.Adelaide
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great vehicle but weird beeping

published

Has anyone had a problem with an intermittent beeping (single 1 second beep) with a MUX (MY15)? It seems to be activated by opening the rear cargo door. It then occurs the next few times that either the rear cargo door or driver's side door is opened then goes away. When it happens, a 'CHECK SYSTEM' message appears on the driver's display. It has occurred with motor running and not running, key in close proximity to vehicle and not. Dealer has checked it but cannot replicate the problem. I'm trying the spare key at the moment to see if it's related to that.
Apart from this, the MUX is a great vehicle - on road and off road.

BadgeLS-T
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2015

Noisiest car I have ever owned

published

I like the car but am VERY disappointed with the noise from the engine. One friend said it sounds like a B52 Bomber. Another said it sounds like a Tractor. Not exactly the kind of remarks I'd expect from a brand new car. I am actually embarrassed to drive it.

BadgeLS-T
DriveRWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Mike
MikeBrisbane
  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Very good SUV / Tow vehicle

published
BadgeLS-U
DriveRWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Macca
MaccaSydney, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

Beware of the Isuzu towbar

published

Purchased in September 2014.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Sandy and Stephen
Sandy and StephenSydney
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes
BadgeLS-T
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Isuzu MU-X compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gregory M
Gregory MBrisbane
  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great vehicle. Love it. Yes I would buy another one.

published
BadgeLS-T
DriveRWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

BRILLIANT (SO FAR)

published
TransmissionManual
Gail E
Gail EGreenbank

Isuzu explaination of failed in built GPS and Clarion service not satisfactory (car great very hap

published

Same problem 2015 isuzu mux diesal
Keema Springwood did map upgrade in Dec 2017, Jan 2018 gps failed, no gps no radio, no bluetooth etc. they sent sd card to clarion and guess what, i got a bill for $290, my fault so they say, samsung android caused the problem apparently!!!! sd card never removed by me. go figure, they have you by the balls not impressed with their explaination. still waiting for customer NO service to explain!!!

BadgeLS-T
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2015
Len
LenTasmania

Great tug but a weird wind whistle and ‘floats’ along.

published
BadgeLS-M
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
JW
JWSydney, NSW
  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Troubles not being fixed by dealer

published

The car is great, easy to drive, economical and a great tow vehicle. It performs well in all conditions. Only let-down is the navigation system, the maps are outdated and dealer hasn't upgraded them, even though they have been requested to do so well before the 3 years were up; this was a complimentary service offered by Isuzu before the 3 years were up. Now Isuzu are saying it is our responsibilty at retail cost to get this done! NOT GOOD ENOUGH

BadgeLS-U
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2014
JW
JW
McEV
McEVBrisbane

Just excellent

published
BadgeLS-M
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016
McEV
McEV
Glen.D
Glen.DPerth
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Isuzu Mux, forget the rest

published

We purchased a Dmax in 2015 for a company car and compared to the other items out there absolutely loved it. Our family car was recently showing its age and needed some money spent on it so we decided to go with the MUX. You can’t get better for value for money compared to the others and it’s more refined than the Dmax (eg lower engine noise) that keeps the wife happy. We are now a Isuzu family and are looking forward to years of trouble free motoring ahead.

BadgeLS-T
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Scotty
Scottyperth
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

MU-X where have you been!

published

Great 4WD! We brought it because it it was so family friendly. Has got 7 seats and a dvd player for the kids. Seperate aircon for front, middle and back passengers. Also has airbags around the whole vehicle - so if safe for kids right at the back.
Is great for 4wd driving - buy I recommend getting fatter tyres then the ones that are currently on it.
We get 700km to the tank.

BadgeLS-T
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Shane
ShaneCheltenham
BadgeLS-T
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Andrew Excell
Andrew ExcellGympie
  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

For a new car, no problems

published
BadgeLS-U
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Andrew Excell
Andrew Excell
Page 2 of 6

Questions & Answers

Fran
Franasked
MU-X

What does it mean when the caution throttle sign comes on

1 answer
Michael M
Michael M

Hi Fran,
Cannot answer your question as I purchased one of these cars so I would suggest you contact an Isuzu dealer.
Regards, M.

Andrew B.
Andrew B.asked
MU-X

I have 2021 mux. I have tried to use the rear screen through hdmi cable but it wont work. Works on front screen not in rear. Any suggestions to try?

1 answer
Michael M
Michael M

Hi Andrew B.
Mate I only put a comment in Product Review as I purchased an Isuzu.
I cannot help with your question.
Regards, M

Rikki Buckworth
Rikki Buckworthasked
MU-X

how do you brighten the dsiplay screen when you have the headlights on -necessary when it is raining etc

1 answer
Michael M
Michael M

Hi Rikki
Rikki, I only placed a comment in Product Review to comment on the Isuzu I purchased.
I cannot answer your question but I know where you are coming from.
That is one draw back now that you mention it.
I would check with Isuzu as I will next service.
Regards, M

See all Isuzu MU-X questions

Get an answer from our members and Isuzu representatives

Isuzu MU-X

Details

Compare all 12 Isuzu MU-X
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $50,200$56,200$52,500$42,900
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic and ManualAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselDiesel
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption8.1 L/100km7.9 L/100km7.9 L/100km8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 65 L65 L65 L65 L
Engine4 Cylinder 3.0L4 Cylinder 3.0L4 Cylinder 3.0L4 Cylinder 3.0L
Max Power130kW @ 3600rpm130kW @ 3600rpm130kW @ 3600rpm130kW @ 3600rpm
Max Torque380Nm @ 1800-2800rpm380Nm @ 1800-2800rpm380Nm @ 1800-2800rpm380Nm @ 1800-2800rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandThailandThailandThailand
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,000 kg3,000 kg3,000 kg3,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateFeb 2017Feb 2017Feb 2017Feb 2017
Compare all 12 Isuzu MU-X
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.