6 photos
Isuzu MU-X Series I 4WD 3.0L Diesel LS-M

Isuzu MU-X Series I 4WD 3.0L Diesel LS-M (2013-2016)

4.1 from 9 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Isuzu

Reviews

4.1
9 reviews
5
(3)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(0)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Toey
ToeyNorthern Region, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Be careful about warranty ending

published

Just offering some advice on my recent experience. But before I start, I am very happy with my 2015 mux. However when I had a problem with my SD card and my vehicle was 21 days past it’s warranty period, Isuzu Ute Australia would not cover it. My local dealer who I didn’t buy the vehicle from quoted me $1200.00 for a replacement. I ended up get a new replacement SD card from another dealer for $321. It took less than 5 mins to swap over and had all the latest sat nav updates. So it’s worth while getting your vehicle thoroughly checked before the warranty expires.

Purchased in July 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Gerry
GerryWheatbelt, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Did not last 150000 unsatisfactory vehicle

published

I brought brand new isuzu mux with rusty rotor disc and the only answer i got is that is how it is with the cars kept outside the showroom.
Its good on diesel with factory faults the brand new mux i had was sold to me with mis aligned wheels that gave me lots of worries and disappointments
Finally after the 125000 km engine warranty it ended up. Leaking coolant from between cylinder head and engine block.

BadgeLS-M
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014

Great, with a few caveats.

published

Love the MUX. Overall a great car. Good view out, especially looking out the rear passenger side as a driver trying to see oncoming traffic.
The negatives...
We have a terrible wind whistle which we can’t find. Painful. Anyone have an answer??
Road noise is high.
Turbo lags a bit.
The rear storage unit is so tiny, almost worthless.
The ride seems to float along, bouncy is how I would describe it.
Would we buy again? Yes. If only we could stop the wind whistle!!

BadgeLS-M
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Isuzu MU-X Series I 4WD 3.0L Diesel LS-M compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
R Davies
R DaviesToowoomba
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very happy owner after 2 years

published

Very happy with our purchase. Great after sales service. We feel valued as customers. Reliable, tows well. Basic interior - which is very much a plus for us as we have kids. Easy to park but fits all we need. Flexibility of use. Exceeded our expectations, very happy to recommend.

BadgeLS-M
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Len
LenTasmania

Great tug but a weird wind whistle and ‘floats’ along.

published
BadgeLS-M
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
N.Clark
N.ClarkSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Best vehicle I've owned to date

published

This is by far the best vehicle I've owned to date, it's easy to drive, park and generally maneuver.
It comes with EVERYTHING without the ridiculous price tags.
We have found it has all round comfort, plenty of leg room, air vents throughout the back as well, DVD player for the kiddies.

BadgeLS-M
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014
THe Bear
THe BearGlenwood
  • 33 reviews
  • 27 likes

extremely happy

published

D Max lsm crew cab now 4 years old and cannot fault it. Initially a bit thirst but at 40000 kms now getting from 7.6 to 7.9 litres per 100 kms. Pull my 4.85 Sea Jay boat beautifully. Will definately buy another, maybe an MUX next time? If not an MUX will go for the LSU version, bit more bling. Very,very happy.

BadgeLS-M
Drive4WD
TransmissionManual
HerrHighHair
HerrHighHairMelbourne

Fuel consumption

published
Drive4WD
BadgeLS-M
TransmissionAutomatic
Colin H.
Colin H.Melbourne
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Radio/hands free

published

I do not know if this is common, but my MU-X, whenever I go under High Tension Power lines, I get nothing but static on the AM band. Isuzu do not appear interested in it. Their explanation is, "sometimes this happens".
I didn't have this issue with my 2009 D-Max.

I agree with all the comments regarding the Bluetooth and it uselessness. I also had to get Isuzu to upgrade the Bluetooth microphone. That also was useless.

Anyone any thoughts on the AM band static?

BadgeLS-M
Drive4WD
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Isuzu MU-X Series I 4WD 3.0L Diesel LS-M compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
See all Isuzu MU-X reviews

Questions & Answers

Jennifer McCudden
Jennifer McCuddenasked
MU-X Series I 4WD 3.0L Diesel LS-M (2013-2016)

How do I get a USB full of music to play? It plays on my Ford .
Very annoying

No answers
See all Isuzu MU-X questions

Get an answer from our members and Isuzu representatives

Isuzu MU-X Series I 4WD 3.0L Diesel LS-M (2013-2016)

Details

Compare all 12 Isuzu MU-X
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDiesel
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption8.3 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 65 L
Engine4 Cylinder 3.0L
Max Power130kW @ 3600rpm
Max Torque380Nm @ 1800-2800rpm
Country of ManufactureThailand
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
Release dateNov 2013
Discontinuation dateDec 2016
Replaced byIsuzu MU-X Series II
Compare all 12 Isuzu MU-X

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.