6 photos
Isuzu MU-X Series II 4WD 3.0L Diesel LS-U

Isuzu MU-X Series II 4WD 3.0L Diesel LS-U (2017-2021)

Also referred to as: Isuzu MU-X Series II 4WD 3.0L Diesel LS-U 2020 and Isuzu MU-X Series II 4WD 3.0L Diesel LS-U 2022.
4.9 from 9 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Isuzu

Reviews

4.9
9 reviews
5
(8)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (5)
  • Value for Money
    4.8 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (5)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (5)
  • Braking
    4.8 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.8 (4)
  • Suspension
    4.4 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.8 (5)
  • Handling
    4.6 (5)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (5)
  • Boot Size
    4.8 (5)
  • Comfort
    4.8 (5)
  • Features
    4.4 (5)
Previous
Next
Michael M
Michael MHunter Region, NSW
  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

New to 4WD Vehicle

published

Purchased Isuzu MUX February 2020 then covid struck. Now retired and was going to travel 2020.
Have only been able to do one longish run in it so far and fuel economy excellent. Could have travelled 1000k + on a standard tank.
Good to drive, comfortable and plenty of room.
No gizmos installed like other makes, so less to go wrong.
Servicing is every 15k and I have a fixed price listing supplied to me so I know exactly what I will be paying for the next 5 years
My only complaint would be the side mirrors do not fold in unless ignition is turned on. This could allow a bike rider to approach unnoticed prior to exiting.
Would recommend this vehicle.
Regards, M

Purchased in February 2020 for $53,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Great allrounder

published

This car is used for for commuting and towing our van. We use it most days in a mix of city and country driving. We service this car as per Isuzu spec, but may do more oil changes as I would like to see the oil kept cleaner. We have had this car for nearly 40,000 and had no issues whatsoever. These are a very basic car, with few bells and whistles, but they have a very good engine. Towing the van (17 foot) returns 13l and, country driving, can get down a low as 7.5l. My wife drives this car mostly in a mix of city driving, with some country, and, has no regard for fuel economy, she gets 9.5 to 10l mostly.

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
GaryM
GaryMGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Brings a smile to my face

published

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Isuzu MU-X Series II 4WD 3.0L Diesel LS-U compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Watchmen
Watchmen
  • 9 reviews
  • 14 likes

Excellent Vehicle

published

Two years after purchasing new, the MUX is performing as expected with no problems experienced and just scheduled services. Used for long distant drives as well as around the paddocks towing a trailer. Sometimes pulls a caravan when needed for holidays.
Very comfortable on the open road and economical averaging 9 litres per 100km and 12 when towing.
Replaced my isuzu ute based on its own reliabilty over 320,000 kms with this MUX and very happy i did.

Purchased in September 2017 at Cardiff Isuzu Ute.

Build Quality
Value for Money
TerraTerrano
TerraTerranoSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

I've grown to love this noisy beastie that can tow houses up mountains!

published

Besides for being a little noisy, the engine in this vehicle is phenomenal. I tow a Majestic Knight SLE (20'6") packed up to almost 3.0 ton with very little effort. Fuel consumption towing (about 13 l/100) is equivalent to many vehicles unladen effort! With the updated interiors, the feeling of being in a much more expensive vehicle cannot be passed by. Our MU-X has just turned one years old, and every indication is that it'll still be with our family for many, many years to come. Zero problems or issues to date.

Purchased in September 2018 for $44,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Jackee
JackeeNorth-West & West coast, TAS
  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great car at a reasonable price.

published

After much research on medium sized SUVs capable of towing a medium sized Caravan we settled on the Isuzu Mu-x. We were set on the Toyota Prado but found that we couldn't justify the extra $20k when the Mu-x had everything we wanted. We've only had it for 2 weeks and are yet to tow anything but we are happy with the car. Yes it sounds like a ute to drive but we don't mind this as it's only noticable driving around town and we do most our driving on a highway.
Our must haves were 3lt turbo diesel engine, 3t towing capacity and seats that folded down flat so you can sleep comfortably in the rear of the car. We got them all and more.

BadgeLS-U
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2019
Wenna
WennaBaradine

love the car - few things to fix at service time

published

* km left until i have to fuel up
changes dramatically
e.g 1 minute i might have 500km left
it changes to 600 then 300km
*usb mp3 music going blank and screeching after half hr
* car pulling to right
* cruise control -car is changing back gears and revving dangerous.

BadgeLS-U
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018

BRILLIANT (SO FAR)

published
TransmissionManual
Andrew Excell
Andrew ExcellGympie
  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

For a new car, no problems

published
BadgeLS-U
Drive4WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Andrew Excell
Andrew Excell
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Isuzu MU-X Series II 4WD 3.0L Diesel LS-U compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
See all Isuzu MU-X reviews

Questions & Answers

Baz
Bazasked
MU-X Series II 4WD 3.0L Diesel LS-U (2017-2021)

Does the MU-X LS-U have a volume mute for the stereo?

1 answer
Thistle Do.
Thistle Do.

Also doesn't have a MUTE button for the GPS. Quite unsafe.

See all Isuzu MU-X questions

Get an answer from our members and Isuzu representatives

Isuzu MU-X Series II 4WD 3.0L Diesel LS-U (2017-2021)

Details

Compare all 12 Isuzu MU-X
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $52,500
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDiesel
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 65 L
Engine4 Cylinder 3.0L
Max Power130kW @ 3600rpm
Max Torque380Nm @ 1800-2800rpm
Country of ManufactureThailand
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
Release dateFeb 2017
Compare all 12 Isuzu MU-X
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.