1 photo
Ivory Coat Grain Free Dry Dog Food

Ivory Coat Grain Free Dry Dog Food (page 2 of 3)

2.8 from 79 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

Previous
Next
Sharon
SharonGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Disappointed

published

I've been using the puppy Ivory coat on our 13 mth old boy and he has had a beautifully shiny coat and no smell to him and he loved it!!! Just bought first bag of adult, Lamb and he really is not happy with it, he now has really bad breath and he smells !!!! Also I have noticed he is shedding so much hair, where before he hardly shed any........ very disappointed considering the price for this food.

Purchased in June 2020 for $110.00.

Value for Money
Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side EffectsYes
1 comment
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat
Lisa V
Lisa V
  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Very sick dog after eating Ivory Coat :(

published

I bought this a week ago & since introducing it, my dog has been vomiting & very lethargic. Totally not her usual energetic self. I don't recommend this product at all! Such a shame as the idea of natural, grain free is what our pets deserve!

Purchased in July 2020 at PetStock Physical store.

Value for Money
Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side EffectsYes
Flavour(s) PurchasedChicken with Coconut Oil
1 comment
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat
Other Dog Foods

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Jen
JenFar North Queensland, QLD

Product changed

published

Purchased at Petbarn Physical store.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side EffectsYes
Flavour(s) PurchasedChicken with Coconut Oil
1 comment
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat
Dog Foods

Find out how Ivory Coat Grain Free Dry Dog Food compares to other Dog Foods

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Olivia
OliviaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

The ingredients have changed and is making my dogs sick

published

I have been buying this brand for several years now but something has definitely changed over the past ~4 months. The kibble is now foul smelling and is making my dogs vomit. I originally thought it was just an off bag but then I bought another one and had the exact same issue. One of my dogs has been on this brand since he was a puppy but I will definitely be changing now.

Purchased in April 2020.

Value for Money
Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side EffectsYes
Flavour(s) PurchasedChicken with Coconut Oil
1 comment
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat
Gill
GillPerth, WA

Chicken and coconut oil.

published

My dogs have are ivory coat for 3 years with no problems. I bought the chicken and coconut oil and started it on the Friday, by the sunday, one of my dogs became very unwell with gastro. It has took over 2 weeks for him to get better. At one point it was touch and go with him. We think it was the food as due to quarantine we haven't been anywhere and the smell coming from the new large bag was overpowering. I will never buy this flavour again!

Purchased in April 2020 at PetStock for $129.00.

Value for Money
Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side EffectsYes
Flavour(s) PurchasedChicken with Coconut Oil
1 comment
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat
Shell
Shell
  • 2 reviews

Disappointing

published

Bought this after being told it was good. Both dog's now have reflux which is new and one is occasionally vomiting. Shame I bought the giant bag for while in quarantine. Have no way of returning the bag as I am rural and takes hours to drive to a shop.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side EffectsYes
Flavour(s) PurchasedTurkey & Duck
3 comments
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat
Shell
Shell

Thanks for that but it would take over an hour to drive back to where I bought it from. Also, I did introduce the food slowly. Over weeks not days.

Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat
Maggie
MaggieSouth East Queensland, QLD

Changing brands....

published

We have also been using Ivory Coat for nearly 3 years but the last 2 bags (chicken and coconut grain free) have had a pretty awful smell and the kibble is a much darker colour. I am now researching other brands.

Purchased in January 2020 at Petbarn.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side EffectsNo
Flavour(s) PurchasedChicken with Coconut Oil
1 comment
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat
Danielle K.
Danielle K.Sydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

They've changed the formula

published

My dog has eaten this her whole life ( 2.5 years) & eaten the same flavour ( turkey and duck) with no issues- she loved it. However, when i opened the latest new bag i noticed the kibble biscuits were half the size of before and very coated in what I'll call seasoning...? She was eating it reluctantly but started to have noticeable digestive issues ( foul smelling stools and gas) then just flat out refused it. They never answer the phone & i returned the bag for a refund. She is fine now she's not eating the ivory coat.

Purchased in December 2019 at Petbarn Online store for $26.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side EffectsYes
Flavour(s) PurchasedTurkey & Duck
1 comment
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat
Other Dog Foods

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
JH
JHGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 2 reviews

This product has changed!

published

We’ve been using Ivory Coat Grain Free Chicken and Coconut Oil for a long time now, with no problems. Unfortunately the last bag we bought had a different and very distinct smell. Our dog has started to refuse it. Such a shame, because we’ve had no issues up until now. We’re concerned and have decided to try another brand.

Purchased in December 2019.

Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side EffectsNo
Flavour(s) PurchasedChicken with Coconut Oil
Dog Foods

Find out how Ivory Coat Grain Free Dry Dog Food compares to other Dog Foods

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lyn
LynOsmington Western Australia
  • 10 reviews
  • 13 likes

Noticed a change

published

I had been purchasing Ivory Coat Grain Free for my two dogs since it first came out and was always happy and the dogs loved it but now with the last 2 bags purchased, they have often refused to eat it and one particularly, will walk away and go hungry. I have noticed that on occasions, one of the dogs particularly ends up with an upset stomach for no reason and I can only put it down to the Ivory Coat. I have now stopped buying it

Purchased in November 2019.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side EffectsYes
Flavour(s) PurchasedChicken with Coconut Oil
Simon C
Simon C
  • 23 reviews
  • 14 likes

Ok I rate it, but reading reviews, sold to Chinese and changing size of kibble and diarrhoea concerns me greatly

published

I've used the Ivory Coat for years. I've tried several other brands and several have had mouldy kibble (white mould).
Never had bad mould.
I did notice in the September October time frame my seal on the 2 kg bag was different. Thinner and didn't seal as easily. I have noticed now this is the norm.
Sometimes my dogs stools are soft, I generally use the puppy variety which is the chicken flavour and smaller kibble.
Haven't noticed any size change in the Kibble, but going to research when this company was bought by Chinese company as that's the time when things change.

Like when they tried changing the flavour of bbq shapes, anyone still remember that?

Maybe it's time to look for an alternative. I do rate this kibble though.

Purchased in November 2019 for $31.00.

Value for Money
Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side EffectsNo
Flavour(s) PurchasedChicken (for Puppy)
1 comment
Simon C
Simon C

So I've decided to go off Ivory Coat after doing a test the last month noting my dogs are getting sick both vomit and diarahhea eating the ivory coat after its two weeks old.

Lorraine
LorraineSouth Australia
  • 5 reviews

Disapointed

published

I have been feeding my rotti kangaroo and lamb for three years now I bought a bag 13kg and noticed the kibble was really small and since I have opened the bag and fed him his stool has been sloppy now he only gets that food nothing else so I know it has something to do with the biscuits have you changed anything.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side EffectsYes
Flavour(s) PurchasedLamb & Kangaroo
1 comment
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat
Lily
LilySouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Perfect for sensitive tummy

published

our dog have such a sensitive tummy and also picky eater. we tried a few brands of food and so glad that we found ivory coat. our doggy loves it and leave no food behind (i mean it when i say she is a picky eater. we used to need to hand feed her)

Purchased in January 2017 at Petbarn for $120.00.

Value for Money
Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side EffectsNo
Flavour(s) PurchasedChicken with Coconut Oil, Lamb & Kangaroo, Lamb with Coconut Oil (for Puppy large breed) and Ocean Fish & Salmon
Girl
GirlPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Dont try it

published

Bought it yesterday, my pup loved it but now he is having diarrhoea! I think I fell for the good reviews and bought this pricey bag , which Im regretting now.

Purchased in November 2019 at City Farmers for $136.00.

Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side EffectsYes
Flavour(s) PurchasedOcean Fish & Salmon
1 comment
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat
Other Dog Foods

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Rosie
Rosie
  • 3 reviews

Perfect for dog with allergy

published

Switched to grain free Chicken and Coconut Oil Flavour for one of my dogs as a suggestion from the vet. Has worked well and her coat is amazing on it!

Purchased in October 2019 at Petbarn Physical store for $116.00.

Value for Money
Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side EffectsNo
Flavour(s) PurchasedChicken with Coconut Oil
1 comment
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat

Hi Rosie, Thanks so much for the great feedback. We're thrilled to hear your dog is going well on our Ivory Coat dry food!

Dog Foods

Find out how Ivory Coat Grain Free Dry Dog Food compares to other Dog Foods

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 2 of 3
See all Ivory Coat Grain Free Dry Dog Food reviews

Questions & Answers

coop
coopasked

Is Ivory Coat FDA approved since there doesn't appear to be a pet regulator in Australia currently.

2 answers
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat

Hi Coop,
Our Ivory Coat products are manufactured in line with the Australian Standards (AS5812), which addresses all quality controls associated with manufacturing pet foods. This includes the raw ingredient selection and safety, factory management, product formulations, quality and safety process monitoring in addition to the control and labelling of pet food products.
All our manufacturing factories are also accredited to global food standards such as the SQF global food standards and we are members of, and fully support the Pet Food Industry Association of Australia (PFIAA).
We hope this information helps!

coop
coop

Thank you for getting back to me.

kevin w.
kevin w.asked

Recently bought some Ivory Coat dog food. I have not fed my dog any of it yet. Then I read all these horror stories about the new recipe. Should I bin it and go to another product? Kevin.

4 answers
James C
James C

I binned everything I had on hand, I figured it would be too hard to get a refund from the retailer as it was an online order. The last time we feed our Moodle the Ivory Coat her eyelids went red within 30 minutes. There must be some nasty chemicals in it these latest batches. I moved to Royal Canin Dry food and 4Legs wet food now. Dog is very happy and empty bowl each time. I presume every dog is different and you may have a different batch of product than I did.

Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat

Hi Kevin,
We would like to assure you that our Ivory Coat products are made in line with the safety and quality requirements found within the Australian Standards. They are also carefully formulated to ensure they provide pets with a compete and balanced diet.

All customer feedback we receive directly is thoroughly investigated and to date there is no reason to suspect there is any health or safety issue with any batch.

As always, we are here should you need to get in touch, please reach out on 1800 732 573 (option 1), or through our Ivory Coat website https://www.ivorycoat.com/en-au/support/contact-us

Mimi
Mimi

Hi Kevin, go with what your gut says. You can always try it for a week and see whether your dog likes it and how their poo is. Many retailers offer a full refund if you've used less than 50 per cent of the bag. Personally I don't think it's a premium product even though it has a (relatively) premium price tag. There are heaps of alternatives out there. Maybe your vet has advice? Also keep in mind that dog food is largely unregulated in Australia so be wary when companies say it's in line with Aus standards - this means nothing!

Joy
Joyasked

Hi our 17 month cavoodle is on the ivory coat chicken grain free puppy food. When would you shift to adult food? He weights 6.7kg and is moderately active. Hadn’t been changing weight so probably fully grown now. Thanks.

1 answer
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat

Hi Joy, Small to Medium breed puppies can be swapped to an adult formulated food at approximately 12 months of age.
We hope this helps!

See all Ivory Coat Grain Free Dry Dog Food questions

Get an answer from our members and Ivory Coat representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.