?
? !
1 photo
Ivory Coat Grain Free Dry Dog Food

Ivory Coat Grain Free Dry Dog Food

2.9 from 73 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.4

18 reviews
Previous
Next
Jim Liddle

Jim LiddleSouth East Queensland, QLD

Very Happy Customer

published

Changed over to Ivory Coat, "Ocean Fish and Salmon", on advice from our vet. We were using a chicken based food and our dog had a terrible "doggie" smell. Our vet suggested the change and now she smells lovely, has a new spring in her step and gets extremely excited every morning to receive her cup of bickies. At night we feed her a mainly veggie food we cook ourselves. We have been feeding her Ivory Coat since mid 2020. No complaints here.

Purchased in March 2021 at Petbarn Physical store for $139.00.

Value for Money
Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageSenior
Side EffectsNo
Flavour(s) PurchasedOcean Fish & Salmon
1 comment
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat

Hi Jim, Its fantastic to hear your girl is going so well on our Ocean Fish & Salmon variety! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a great review.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
4Legs Natural Dog Food

Looking for Dog Foods?

Read the reviews for 4Legs Natural Dog Food

3,134 reviews
Ad
coop

coop

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

My girl really likes this food

published

No immediate adverse reactions or side effects from this food but I'm just a bit concerned about the high 32% protein. I believe this could mean less calories which could be a good thing. I'll research this further but any feedback would be welcome.

Purchased in February 2021.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageSenior
Side EffectsNo
Flavour(s) PurchasedTurkey (Reduced Fat/Senior)
1 comment
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

saw a positive change overnight on this food

published

from the time we got our puppy he had very runny, smelly poos. We tried so many diet variations...chicken mince and rice, chicken, vegies and pasta, steamed pumpkin and over the months 5 different types of dry food. We tried Ivory Coat puppy for large breed when he was 8 months old. The change was overnight. Solid poo, not smelly and no more smelly farts. He's 10 months now and we have introduced vegies again as well as a few leftovers but always the Ivory Coat. Couldn't recommend highly enough.

Purchased in June 2020 at Pet Barn Kangaroo Flat for $99.00.

Value for Money
Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StagePuppy/Kitten
Side EffectsNo
Flavour(s) PurchasedLamb with Coconut Oil (for Puppy large breed)
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dog Foods

Find out how Ivory Coat Grain Free Dry Dog Food compares to other Dog Foods

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great ingredients, great price.

published

Bought this for my malinois puppy I got 2 weeks ago. got it on pet.co.nz. wanted to try the smaller bag and got the second free ( close expiry date). I don't mind. Ive gone through the first bag already and the expiry date isn't until 2 months. My pup loves her food as I use it for training. Stool isn't too smelly and is firm. Coat looks nice.

Purchased in May 2020 at pet.co.nz for $34.99.

Value for Money
Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StagePuppy/Kitten
Side EffectsNo
Flavour(s) PurchasedChicken (for Puppy)
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Barb

BarbSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

My dogs eat it but they don't love it

published

I bought a 18Kg bag of Ivory Coat Lamb & Brown Rice Puppy. Both my Shih Tzu and Staffy are fine with it. They don't love it anymore but they eat it, maybe I should've bought a smaller bag to vary the flavour. I also mix the dry food with wet food which I change often. Wet foods I've mixed with: Nature's Gift Lamb, Eukanuna Lamb, 4 Legs Beef.

Purchased in December 2019.

Value for Money
Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StagePuppy/Kitten
Side EffectsNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Maggie

MaggieSouth East Queensland, QLD

Changing brands....

published

We have also been using Ivory Coat for nearly 3 years but the last 2 bags (chicken and coconut grain free) have had a pretty awful smell and the kibble is a much darker colour. I am now researching other brands.

Purchased in January 2020 at Petbarn.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side EffectsNo
Flavour(s) PurchasedChicken with Coconut Oil
1 comment
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
4Legs Natural Dog Food

Looking for Dog Foods?

Read the reviews for 4Legs Natural Dog Food

3,134 reviews
Ad
JH

JHGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

This product has changed!

published

We’ve been using Ivory Coat Grain Free Chicken and Coconut Oil for a long time now, with no problems. Unfortunately the last bag we bought had a different and very distinct smell. Our dog has started to refuse it. Such a shame, because we’ve had no issues up until now. We’re concerned and have decided to try another brand.

Purchased in December 2019.

Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side EffectsNo
Flavour(s) PurchasedChicken with Coconut Oil
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Simon C

Simon C

  • 23 reviews
  • 14 likes

Ok I rate it, but reading reviews, sold to Chinese and changing size of kibble and diarrhoea concerns me greatly

published

I've used the Ivory Coat for years. I've tried several other brands and several have had mouldy kibble (white mould).
Never had bad mould.
I did notice in the September October time frame my seal on the 2 kg bag was different. Thinner and didn't seal as easily. I have noticed now this is the norm.
Sometimes my dogs stools are soft, I generally use the puppy variety which is the chicken flavour and smaller kibble.
Haven't noticed any size change in the Kibble, but going to research when this company was bought by Chinese company as that's the time when things change.

Like when they tried changing the flavour of bbq shapes, anyone still remember that?

Maybe it's time to look for an alternative. I do rate this kibble though.

Purchased in November 2019 for $31.00.

Value for Money
Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side EffectsNo
Flavour(s) PurchasedChicken (for Puppy)
1 comment
Simon C
Simon C

So I've decided to go off Ivory Coat after doing a test the last month noting my dogs are getting sick both vomit and diarahhea eating the ivory coat after its two weeks old.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Paul

PaulVictoria

My Schmoodle loves it

published

Changed brand recently and my puppy lapped it up immediately. I was drawn to the natural, grain free ingredients and it appears to be a good choice. A healthy option.

Purchased in November 2019 at Amazon for $18.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StagePuppy/Kitten
Side EffectsNo
Flavour(s) PurchasedChicken (for Puppy)
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dog Foods

Find out how Ivory Coat Grain Free Dry Dog Food compares to other Dog Foods

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lily

LilySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Perfect for sensitive tummy

published

our dog have such a sensitive tummy and also picky eater. we tried a few brands of food and so glad that we found ivory coat. our doggy loves it and leave no food behind (i mean it when i say she is a picky eater. we used to need to hand feed her)

Purchased in January 2017 at Petbarn for $120.00.

Value for Money
Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side EffectsNo
Flavour(s) PurchasedChicken with Coconut Oil, Lamb & Kangaroo, Lamb with Coconut Oil (for Puppy large breed) and Ocean Fish & Salmon
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rosie

Rosie

  • 3 reviews

Perfect for dog with allergy

published

Switched to grain free Chicken and Coconut Oil Flavour for one of my dogs as a suggestion from the vet. Has worked well and her coat is amazing on it!

Purchased in October 2019 at Petbarn Physical store for $116.00.

Value for Money
Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side EffectsNo
Flavour(s) PurchasedChicken with Coconut Oil
1 comment
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat

Hi Rosie, Thanks so much for the great feedback. We're thrilled to hear your dog is going well on our Ivory Coat dry food!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

My dogs enjoy this product!

published

My four dogs do enjoy eating this dry kibble and seem to thrive on it! I will buy it again and can recommend it to others. There is a nice choice in products to choose from and, I tend to vary my purchases so that my dogs can experience a change! So far they are eating with relish!

Incentivised ReviewNo
Side EffectsNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
4Legs Natural Dog Food

Looking for Dog Foods?

Read the reviews for 4Legs Natural Dog Food

3,134 reviews
Ad
Tim C.

Tim C.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent chow for the fur animals

published

Our two ridgeback cross mastiffs love their Ivory Coat feed.. A wewk after we starting feeding them this we saw massive changes in their behaviour and health for the positive.

Purchased in June 2019 at PetStock for $119.00.

Value for Money
Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side EffectsNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
tjz25

tjz25Sydney, NSW

  • 33 reviews
  • 23 likes

Excellent super premium brand Australian made dog food

published

My schnauzer loved the salmon one. It's very tasty.
He was on WELLNESS prior to it, and obviously likes this one more.
He's a slow and fussy eater usually but he literally gulps down these biscuits like crazy, never seen him do that before, they must smell and taste better. Got mine from Petbarn, a good idea is to look at sales online then get them to match prices. I got a 13kg back for around a hundred bucks.

Purchased in June 2019 at Petbarn for $100.00.

Value for Money
Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side EffectsNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Susan

SusanNewcastle NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Why do some Ivory Coat bags say "HYPOALLERGENIC" & other Ivory Coat bags only say GRAIN FREE??

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Pet Circle Online store.

Value for Money
Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageSenior
Side EffectsNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dog Foods

Find out how Ivory Coat Grain Free Dry Dog Food compares to other Dog Foods

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sonja

SonjaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Ivory coat is great

published

My dogs enjoy these biscuits. They are slightly on the bigger size so more for them to chew. Im happy with the ingrediants and less filler foods. My dog gets the low fat turkey as he suffers from pancreatitis. There could be more flavours in low fat for variety as I like to change flavours for my dogs.

Purchased in December 2018 for $94.00.

Value for Money
Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StagePuppy/Kitten
Side EffectsNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sally

SallySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent dog food, comes highly recommended by vets!

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Petbarn Physical store for $32.99.

Value for Money
Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side EffectsNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Consumer advocate

Consumer advocateSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Yum yum

published

My little furball loves this brand. It comes recommended from a number of vets and fancy pets stores . Although a little pricey for dog food I feel good knowing that my pup loves his dinner and it's healthy. Sprinkle with a few cooked chicken pieces and it's 5 stars from Brutus.

Purchased in January 2019 for $30.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side EffectsNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
4Legs Natural Dog Food

Looking for Dog Foods?

Read the reviews for 4Legs Natural Dog Food

3,134 reviews
Ad
See all Ivory Coat Grain Free Dry Dog Food reviews

Questions & Answers

coop

coopasked

Is Ivory Coat FDA approved since there doesn't appear to be a pet regulator in Australia currently.

2 answers
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat

Hi Coop,
Our Ivory Coat products are manufactured in line with the Australian Standards (AS5812), which addresses all quality controls associated with manufacturing pet foods. This includes the raw ingredient selection and safety, factory management, product formulations, quality and safety process monitoring in addition to the control and labelling of pet food products.
All our manufacturing factories are also accredited to global food standards such as the SQF global food standards and we are members of, and fully support the Pet Food Industry Association of Australia (PFIAA).
We hope this information helps!

coop
coop

Thank you for getting back to me.

kevin w.

kevin w.asked

Recently bought some Ivory Coat dog food. I have not fed my dog any of it yet. Then I read all these horror stories about the new recipe. Should I bin it and go to another product? Kevin.

4 answers
James C
James C

I binned everything I had on hand, I figured it would be too hard to get a refund from the retailer as it was an online order. The last time we feed our Moodle the Ivory Coat her eyelids went red within 30 minutes. There must be some nasty chemicals in it these latest batches. I moved to Royal Canin Dry food and 4Legs wet food now. Dog is very happy and empty bowl each time. I presume every dog is different and you may have a different batch of product than I did.

Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat

Hi Kevin,
We would like to assure you that our Ivory Coat products are made in line with the safety and quality requirements found within the Australian Standards. They are also carefully formulated to ensure they provide pets with a compete and balanced diet.

All customer feedback we receive directly is thoroughly investigated and to date there is no reason to suspect there is any health or safety issue with any batch.

As always, we are here should you need to get in touch, please reach out on 1800 732 573 (option 1), or through our Ivory Coat website https://www.ivorycoat.com/en-au/support/contact-us

Mimi
Mimi

Hi Kevin, go with what your gut says. You can always try it for a week and see whether your dog likes it and how their poo is. Many retailers offer a full refund if you've used less than 50 per cent of the bag. Personally I don't think it's a premium product even though it has a (relatively) premium price tag. There are heaps of alternatives out there. Maybe your vet has advice? Also keep in mind that dog food is largely unregulated in Australia so be wary when companies say it's in line with Aus standards - this means nothing!

Joy

Joyasked

Hi our 17 month cavoodle is on the ivory coat chicken grain free puppy food. When would you shift to adult food? He weights 6.7kg and is moderately active. Hadn’t been changing weight so probably fully grown now. Thanks.

1 answer
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat

Hi Joy, Small to Medium breed puppies can be swapped to an adult formulated food at approximately 12 months of age.
We hope this helps!

See all Ivory Coat Grain Free Dry Dog Food questions

Get an answer from our members and Ivory Coat representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

4Legs Natural Dog FoodAd