?
? !
1 photo
Ivory Coat Grain Free Dry Dog Food

Ivory Coat Grain Free Dry Dog Food

2.9 from 73 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

Previous
Next
Jessica

JessicaSydney, NSW

Something has defintely changed with this product

published

My cav has been eating Ivory Coat for nearly 3 years. I purchased a big 13 kg bag about 6 weeks ago ready the new year. She now hates it! It does not look or smell the same anymore. There has definitely been a change. There must be a bad batch or something because I googled and found all these other complaints with similar issues. I never complain about anything, but there is something wrong with this pet food now. Don't buy it!

I tried to contact the company and have been unsuccessful.

Purchased in December 2020.

Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
2 comments
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat
Jessica
Jessica
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
4Legs Natural Dog Food

Looking for Dog Foods?

Read the reviews for 4Legs Natural Dog Food

3,138 reviews
Ad
coop

coop

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

My girl really likes this food

published

No immediate adverse reactions or side effects from this food but I'm just a bit concerned about the high 32% protein. I believe this could mean less calories which could be a good thing. I'll research this further but any feedback would be welcome.

Purchased in February 2021.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
SummerSkye

SummerSkyeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 21 reviews
  • 17 likes
  • Verified

No longer buying

published
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dog Foods

Find out how Ivory Coat Grain Free Dry Dog Food compares to other Dog Foods

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Roxy

RoxySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

My dog is unwell after eating this food

published

Purchased in September 2020 at Pet Circle for $95.00.

Value for Money
Smell
See all answers
1 comment
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The flatulence is unbearable!

published

My two Current collie x dogs, 14yo and 20mths old have always had a varied diet of raw meaty bones and vegetables mostly. Different brands of kibble have always been part of it. Like Royal Canin, Blackhawk, Instinctive Bites, Etc. in over 18 years of feeding my dogs I have never experienced such regularly occurring foul smelling flatulence of both of them. Only hours after each meal. The product I bought is Grainfree Turkey & Duck.

Purchased in August 2020 at Petcircle for $99.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Side EffectsYes
Flavour(s) PurchasedTurkey & Duck
1 comment
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Great Ingredients but can't stand associated farts

published

Made my dog have the most foul farts of his entire life. It's too bad we love the ingredients and thought it would be good food for him. He loves the taste but the aftermath is insufferable. Going back to Blackhawk asap just for the fresh air.

Purchased in September 2020 at Bishops for $125.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
4Legs Natural Dog Food

Looking for Dog Foods?

Read the reviews for 4Legs Natural Dog Food

3,138 reviews
Ad
L P.

L P.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Bad flatulence from Natural Health Grain Free for Puppies!

published

Purchased in July 2020 at Pet Circle for $104.67.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StagePuppy/Kitten
See all answers
1 comment
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Barb

BarbSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

My dogs eat it but they don't love it

published

I bought a 18Kg bag of Ivory Coat Lamb & Brown Rice Puppy. Both my Shih Tzu and Staffy are fine with it. They don't love it anymore but they eat it, maybe I should've bought a smaller bag to vary the flavour. I also mix the dry food with wet food which I change often. Wet foods I've mixed with: Nature's Gift Lamb, Eukanuna Lamb, 4 Legs Beef.

Purchased in December 2019.

Value for Money
Smell
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Maggie

MaggieSouth East Queensland, QLD

Changing brands....

published

We have also been using Ivory Coat for nearly 3 years but the last 2 bags (chicken and coconut grain free) have had a pretty awful smell and the kibble is a much darker colour. I am now researching other brands.

Purchased in January 2020 at Petbarn.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dog Foods

Find out how Ivory Coat Grain Free Dry Dog Food compares to other Dog Foods

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JH

JHGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

This product has changed!

published

We’ve been using Ivory Coat Grain Free Chicken and Coconut Oil for a long time now, with no problems. Unfortunately the last bag we bought had a different and very distinct smell. Our dog has started to refuse it. Such a shame, because we’ve had no issues up until now. We’re concerned and have decided to try another brand.

Purchased in December 2019.

Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lyn

LynOsmington Western Australia

  • 10 reviews
  • 13 likes

Noticed a change

published

I had been purchasing Ivory Coat Grain Free for my two dogs since it first came out and was always happy and the dogs loved it but now with the last 2 bags purchased, they have often refused to eat it and one particularly, will walk away and go hungry. I have noticed that on occasions, one of the dogs particularly ends up with an upset stomach for no reason and I can only put it down to the Ivory Coat. I have now stopped buying it

Purchased in November 2019.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Simon C

Simon C

  • 23 reviews
  • 14 likes

Ok I rate it, but reading reviews, sold to Chinese and changing size of kibble and diarrhoea concerns me greatly

published

I've used the Ivory Coat for years. I've tried several other brands and several have had mouldy kibble (white mould).
Never had bad mould.
I did notice in the September October time frame my seal on the 2 kg bag was different. Thinner and didn't seal as easily. I have noticed now this is the norm.
Sometimes my dogs stools are soft, I generally use the puppy variety which is the chicken flavour and smaller kibble.
Haven't noticed any size change in the Kibble, but going to research when this company was bought by Chinese company as that's the time when things change.

Like when they tried changing the flavour of bbq shapes, anyone still remember that?

Maybe it's time to look for an alternative. I do rate this kibble though.

Purchased in November 2019 for $31.00.

Value for Money
Smell
See all answers
1 comment
Simon C
Simon C

So I've decided to go off Ivory Coat after doing a test the last month noting my dogs are getting sick both vomit and diarahhea eating the ivory coat after its two weeks old.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
4Legs Natural Dog Food

Looking for Dog Foods?

Read the reviews for 4Legs Natural Dog Food

3,138 reviews
Ad

My dogs enjoy this product!

published

My four dogs do enjoy eating this dry kibble and seem to thrive on it! I will buy it again and can recommend it to others. There is a nice choice in products to choose from and, I tend to vary my purchases so that my dogs can experience a change! So far they are eating with relish!

Incentivised ReviewNo
Side EffectsNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Charlee-Dee G.

Charlee-Dee G.South East Queensland, QLD

Salmon Flavour giving dogs diarrhoea.

published

Pro - Looks and smells fresh and my dogs usually like it.
Con - Recently bought the Salmon dog food and my dogs seemed to be doing well but have started having diarrhoea

Purchased in July 2019 at Petbarn for $132.99.

Value for Money
Smell
See all answers
1 comment
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Susan

SusanNewcastle NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Why do some Ivory Coat bags say "HYPOALLERGENIC" & other Ivory Coat bags only say GRAIN FREE??

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Pet Circle Online store.

Value for Money
Smell
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dog Foods

Find out how Ivory Coat Grain Free Dry Dog Food compares to other Dog Foods

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Disappointing

published

My Dog once loved this food and it helped with her allergies and sensitivities. She has been on it for over a year but in the last couple of months she has had diarrhoea and an upset stomach and starting to lick her paws again. Not sure if they’ve had an ingredient change but very disappointing and upsetting knowing this has been making my baby sick.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
C. ANDERSEN

C. ANDERSENSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 74 reviews
  • 75 likes

Australian Owned Product

published

Love this Australian owned and made product. (Most people don't know that even though products purport to be Australian they are actually owned by overseas companies.) My two cattle/kelpies love it too and transitioned without any problems. I like the fact it has no cereal fillers and contains all Australian ingredients; well, at least that's what their advertising says, so I hope it's all true. Mind you, it's no cheaper than the imported products so it wouldn't appeal to a lot of people on the basis of price alone. Good resealable packaging.

1 comment
C. ANDERSEN
C. ANDERSEN

Disappointingly this product is no longer Australian owned. The company was purchased by Chinese investors last year. I’m now searching for a wholly Australian owned and produced product.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Ivory Coat Grain Free Dry Dog Food reviews

Questions & Answers

coop

coopasked

Is Ivory Coat FDA approved since there doesn't appear to be a pet regulator in Australia currently.

2 answers
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat

Hi Coop,
Our Ivory Coat products are manufactured in line with the Australian Standards (AS5812), which addresses all quality controls associated with manufacturing pet foods. This includes the raw ingredient selection and safety, factory management, product formulations, quality and safety process monitoring in addition to the control and labelling of pet food products.
All our manufacturing factories are also accredited to global food standards such as the SQF global food standards and we are members of, and fully support the Pet Food Industry Association of Australia (PFIAA).
We hope this information helps!

coop
coop

Thank you for getting back to me.

kevin w.

kevin w.asked

Recently bought some Ivory Coat dog food. I have not fed my dog any of it yet. Then I read all these horror stories about the new recipe. Should I bin it and go to another product? Kevin.

4 answers
James C
James C

I binned everything I had on hand, I figured it would be too hard to get a refund from the retailer as it was an online order. The last time we feed our Moodle the Ivory Coat her eyelids went red within 30 minutes. There must be some nasty chemicals in it these latest batches. I moved to Royal Canin Dry food and 4Legs wet food now. Dog is very happy and empty bowl each time. I presume every dog is different and you may have a different batch of product than I did.

Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat

Hi Kevin,
We would like to assure you that our Ivory Coat products are made in line with the safety and quality requirements found within the Australian Standards. They are also carefully formulated to ensure they provide pets with a compete and balanced diet.

All customer feedback we receive directly is thoroughly investigated and to date there is no reason to suspect there is any health or safety issue with any batch.

As always, we are here should you need to get in touch, please reach out on 1800 732 573 (option 1), or through our Ivory Coat website https://www.ivorycoat.com/en-au/support/contact-us

Mimi
Mimi

Hi Kevin, go with what your gut says. You can always try it for a week and see whether your dog likes it and how their poo is. Many retailers offer a full refund if you've used less than 50 per cent of the bag. Personally I don't think it's a premium product even though it has a (relatively) premium price tag. There are heaps of alternatives out there. Maybe your vet has advice? Also keep in mind that dog food is largely unregulated in Australia so be wary when companies say it's in line with Aus standards - this means nothing!

Joy

Joyasked

Hi our 17 month cavoodle is on the ivory coat chicken grain free puppy food. When would you shift to adult food? He weights 6.7kg and is moderately active. Hadn’t been changing weight so probably fully grown now. Thanks.

1 answer
Ivory Coat
Real Pet Food Co.Ivory Coat

Hi Joy, Small to Medium breed puppies can be swapped to an adult formulated food at approximately 12 months of age.
We hope this helps!

See all Ivory Coat Grain Free Dry Dog Food questions

Get an answer from our members and Ivory Coat representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

4Legs Natural Dog FoodAd