7 photos
Jeep Cherokee

Jeep Cherokee

KJ, KK, KL
3.3 from 106 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Jeep? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    2.0 (1)
  • Braking
    4.5 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.5 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    2.5 (2)
  • Suspension
    3.0 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    2.5 (2)
  • Handling
    3.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (2)
  • Boot Size
    3.0 (2)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (2)
  • Features
    3.5 (2)
Previous
Next
Madhatter
MadhatterGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Software Updates

published

We recently had two recalls completed, both were software related, within 24hrs we had a completely drained battery. RACV came out, load tested the battery - advised it was ok and something was running in the background which caused the fault. They did a temp reset to enable us to take the car back to the dealer where we were advised a new battery was required @ $700.00. Has anyone else experienced this after a software update - seems very coincidental to me especially when we have not had one issue with this car.

Purchased in November 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Annie
AnnieSydney, NSW
  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Lots of problems

published

Quality is very bad - my car is now on it's 3rd transmission, the air conditioner is unreliable and doesn't blow the temperature it's set to and the USB ports don't function sometimes. The interior is well laid out and the steering controls good. Note that you can only control the heated seats from the console.

Purchased in June 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Manvir
ManvirPerth
  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

I am tradesman

published

Awesome interior
Leather trim
Comfortable seats
Comes in few models
More features in hemi
Nice exterior look
Every thing perfect if u see in other hands
But eat huge amount of fuel because of heavy weight
Electronic problem is normal after few years
American made not rally for Australia because of fuel cost

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Jeep Cherokee compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

I think my jeep Cherokee 2012 consumes a lot of petrol on open road at 500km only ? From a 69 full t

published

I feel it up with 66- 69L of petrol , then I make 522km only on open road . not happy with that only , All the features are my dream. Comfortable , well holding on the road , an interior to die for nice radio fitted with built in GPS .

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Looks great, feels great, shame it's always under repair.

published

One of the first Trailhawks off the boat in 2014 I loved the car for comfort and driving, just some little Transmission glitches at the start. It took 17 months and 3-4 re-flashes to get the transmission to kick down at the right point.
In the meantime I've had bluetooth issues, oil leak on the left rear axle, broken oil pressure switch, intermittent sensor failures (intermittent), Tailgate lift failure (intermittent), broken cargo blind stopper (design flaw), Flat tyre pressure warnings on cold days. I wouldn't risk buying another Jeep but series 2 will probably be better.
Fuel usage is about 12/100 mixed urban on petrol.

BadgeTrailhawk
TransmissionAutomatic
Flat
Flat

As the author of the review, I'm very happy to have traded after 4 years and even though I lost $25000 in value over 4 years I'm not looking back and I'm buying a different brand of car.

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next

Surprisingly not good

published

My KJ jeep worked wel for 50,000 kilometres and then went berserk... Fuel line issues, terrible to start and the Canberra Jeep people were appalling. I spent nearly 8 grand trying to fix it and gave up, bought a hilux and no troubles after 180k. Don't buy a jeep in ACT is my advice.
Handled well
After 50k no service or support

Rockin4x4Roland
Rockin4x4Roland

Surely if the vehicle had only travelled 50,000 km it would have been covered by new car warrantee. So why did you spend nearly $8,000 to fix it? Have you not told us the complete story?

david hambleton
david hambleton

Like I stated in my above comment to Ben. Take it to another dealer. Contrary to public opinion, they are not all incompetent.

JEEP - Just Empty Every Pocket...

published
Rockin4x4Roland
Rockin4x4Roland
lisha_gal
lisha_galSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 127 reviews
  • 36 likes

Bad

published

This car is a fuel guzzler! It costs double my new Nissan Tiida in fuel per week. It was a really nice car to drive. I felt very safe in this vehicle. The parts were very expensive. Servicing at the jeep dealer was also extremely expensive. Great car to take on the beach, it was alot of fun. Our Jeep had an airbag problem also which we were told would cost around $2000 to fix. Air con problems as well. We sold this car to save money, and we deinately have. Pitty it is so expensive to run. Would not buy another Jeep Cherokee again.
Nice to drive, great turning circle
Too expensive

pooky
pooky
cracker
cracker
  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Bad

published

we had the loss of power issue once, it was going into 'get home safe' mode as there was a loose connection on the auto shifter, so the car didn;t 'know' what gear it was in, hence the 'get home safe'. Once conenction was remade, issue has not re appeared.
acceleration, easy to park, easy to get kids in and out. easy to get pram in boot
fuel consumption (what did I expect), clunking of front wheel case (we drive full time 4 everywhere except above 80 km roads), jeep cust service in both albion and the other place is attrocious, would never buy another jeep for that reason alone

Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Jeep Cherokee compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Bad

published

as above plus thirsty also driver's seat leather cracked prematurely - can't wait to get rid of it - any offers ?
Wife loves the small turning circle for parking etc
Ours is late 03 model (bought new)pulls violently to the left, "clunky" auto and intermittant (drive train) vibration all not corrected under warranty so am stuck with it - probably would not buy another US built car or recommend it

Bad

published

Bad

published

pity about the rattles and Jeep dealers inability to resolve them. COuld live with the thristy consumption but wouldn't buy another one.
good mid sized, looks good.
very thirsty, rattles from the seats

Questions & Answers

Damien
Damien asked
Cherokee KJ (2001-2007)

is a 2007 diesel with 240,000kms on it with full service history still have life in it? as in how many km's can you usually get out of them?

No answers
Damien
Damien asked
Cherokee KJ (2001-2007)

what are the biggest problems with a 2007 jeep limited auto cherokee?

No answers
Peter T
Peter Tasked
Cherokee

I have a 2015 Jeep Cherokee Sport 73k klm and it has just started to go crazy jamming in park or neutral, flatening battery, unable to remove key, different warnings coming up on display. got it towed to a dealer and they said all the modules needed to be reset, 2 days later same issue, personally I think the Battery is dyeing but the dealer said it was fine, anyone else had these sort of issues I would like to hear

1 answer
mickey p
mickey p

Our 2015 sport won't start due to electric steering part failure. Jeep says $1100 to fix. Has only done 110kms

See all Jeep Cherokee questions

Get an answer from our members

Jeep Cherokee

Details

Compare all 7 Jeep Cherokee
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $41,432$47,621$50,950$53,950
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption8.5 L/100km9.8 L/100km9.8 L/100km10.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L60 L60 L60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.4L6 Cylinder 3.2L6 Cylinder 3.2L6 Cylinder 3.2L
Max Power130kW @ 6400rpm200kW @ 6500rpm200kW @ 6500rpm200kW @ 6500rpm
Max Torque229Nm @ 3900rpm315Nm @ 4300rpm315Nm @ 4300rpm315Nm @ 4300rpm
Country of ManufactureUSAUSAUSAUSA
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,500 kg2,200 kg2,200 kg2,200 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance185 mm185 mm185 mm221 mm
Release dateJan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014
Compare all 7 Jeep Cherokee
Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next
See all Midsize / Medium SUVs

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.