7 photos
Jeep Cherokee

Jeep Cherokee

KJ, KK, KL
3.3 from 107 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Jeep? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.0 (4)
  • Value for Money
    1.8 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.7 (3)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (3)
  • Braking
    4.0 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.8 (4)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    2.8 (4)
  • Handling
    4.3 (4)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (4)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (4)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (4)
  • Features
    4.0 (4)
Previous
Next

History After Nine Years

published

Purchased in September 2012 for $15,400.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
John
JohnSydney, NSW

Worst car I have ever had in my life

published

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Mike P
Mike P
  • 4 reviews

Never again.

published
Incentivised Review No
Nicole
NicolePeel, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Long list of expensive issues never again

published

Bought the car new(2015 kl) and nothing but issues from the start, replaced everything underneath. Including rear diff,ptu, tailshaft twice, rear axle seals a couple of times. Well over $30000 in repairs, sold the vehicle at a massive loss to get it out of my life. Would never ever get a jeep again

Purchased in January 2016 for $52,000.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Jeep Cherokee compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Stephen Mills
Stephen MillsSouth East Queensland, QLD

Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT Hemi 6.4 Motor

published

Purchased in January 2015 for $90,000.00.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
Robert T
Robert TIllawarra, NSW

Buyer beware

published

Purchased my KL last year interstate was told it had a 5 year warranty with 12 month fixed priced services by the dealership. Recently tried to book a service locally and was told it was out of warranty because FCA had the Cherokee in there system as having a 3 year warranty with 6 month services even though the vehicle had been complianced in May 2017 three months after Jeep Australia had introduced the new 5 year plan. After making a complaint to FCA they refused to reconise the 5 year warranty leaving me up the creek without a paddle basically. Great customer service for some who has purchased 4 Jeeps in 15 years.

Purchased in May 2018 at Northern Motor Group.

Incentivised Review No
Year2017
Sally
SallyCoffs Harbour

Go to Recalls.gov.au and look up the number of recalls before you consider buying a jeep. Most of t

published

Had a Jeep and had numerous problems, in the workshop continually and the dealer couldn't even get it started and had the gall to say there was nothing wrong with it!!!! we traded it in at a loss of $18,000 and they would not accept that there was a darn thing wrong with the car....It would not even start in their workshop!
Car was fine until they did an upgrade on the parking computer problem, then downhill from there,

BadgeGrand Cherokee Larado
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015

Related Articles

Previous
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next

Too many issues!

published

My vechicle is only 4 years old and has now been under repair for 1/3 of the year and counting. During this time, Jeeps communication has been appalling and I still do not have an answer to why my car is not fixed. I have made a complaint to Jeeps head officer with still no answers. This issue may not be the same for everyone but from what I have experienced I would never has purchased a Jeep if I had known the inconvenience this would of caused me and the lack of customer service I have been receiving from my issue.

BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015
Tony
Tony
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Be aware

published

Be aware! My Jeep Cherokee 2002 sport airbags exploded when I was driving!!!!
Was like a bomb!!!
On driver side the airbag from fire exploded have fire burn spots!!!!
The car not having any single scratch no accident involved !! I can’t find any recall for airbags on this model!!!!!!!

BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Jeep Cherokee compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bucks05
Bucks05
  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Comfortable Drive but a Few Niggles

published
BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015

Has some issues

published
BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2014
Con
ConMelbourne

I Bought a Lemon

published

I bought this top of the range Cherokee and it has been nothing but problems. Continual driveline problems where engine / transmission warning light comes on and car goes into limp mode and becomes dangerous and undriveable. Just happened for the 4th time this week and got towed back to dealership. Not happy.... I bought a lemon. This lemon has been back to dealership for around 25-30 days so far for going into limp mode problems.

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2014
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Jeep Cherokee compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alex
AlexMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

The worst car I've ever bought , expensive to run and repair

published

Awful to drive no take off up hills, noisy to drive and expensive to run and repair. Back seats very uncomfortable. In summer when it was very hot the back door would not open . The drivers seat had to be close to the under dash to reach the pedals so cramped.

BadgeRenegade
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2012
nilbog
nilbogSydney, NSW
  • 39 reviews
  • 23 likes

20 breakdowns, 4 tows and still faulty

published

In the 6 years we owned it, it spent over 6 months at the mechanics. Never did solve all the issues, and we are talking about major failures brakes, ABS, Cooling system,and more. Mechanics replaced so many parts and after 3 years the brakes failing to release randomly did get resolved. Sudden full engine management failure causing limp-home-mode was never resolved.

Purchased in June 2011 for $54,500.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5

Never again

published

Jeep Australia what a poor vehicle to put on the market in this country. The dealer network doesn't seem to understand what the vehicle is all about, on 3 separate occasions after 20K 30K and 40 K service the vehicle broke down in the forecourt after picking it. On these occasions I returned the vehicle to the dealer due other issues arises within the week of the regular routine service. The vehicle has now done 105k for the last year dealer on dealer cannot get a EGR valve which is intermittently failing ( limp mode ) nothing in Australia is my constant reponse
I am now in the state of mind to get rid of the lemon.

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2010
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Shoshanah V.
Shoshanah V.asked
Cherokee KJ (2001-2007)

Hi am looking to buy a 2001 Jeep Cherokee KJ
As my first car. I am on a very strict budget and can't afford experience upkeep. I have hirde a Jeep is a experience car to own is it troo

1 answer
Wombat
Wombat

Hi. A 2001 will have drum brakes on rear axle. Being 20 years old could have in vicinity of 200000kms on odometer. Does service book exist and validate this, or is it ridiculously low with suspect entries, same dealer as seller, same coloured ink and signature? Walk away! Limited can be expected to be more expensive than Sport with leather electric seats and a more expensive sound system. Petrol engine only comes with auto transmission, while diesel is manual gearbox only. Petrol variants can be used full time in 4 wheel drive but diesels cannot due to different transfer cases used.
Does it appear as standard or has it been tricked up for extreme off road use with bull bars, winches, non standard wheels and tires, suspension lifts? Walk away!
Is it fitted with a tow bar and electric brake controller? Could have done a lot of heavy trailer towing but they are good at that.
Don't expect good fuel economy with suburban use. Much better in high speed highway use. Before final purchase make sure everything works, right down to every speed on the ventilator fan, as this is one of their weaknesses.
Other potential problems are failure of front propeller shaft, and retraction of electric door mirrors, both very expensive and time consuming to repair.
A well cared for KJ is a great, comfortable, reliable highway cruiser.

Damien
Damien asked
Cherokee KJ (2001-2007)

is a 2007 diesel with 240,000kms on it with full service history still have life in it? as in how many km's can you usually get out of them?

1 answer
STEPHEN FENNELL
STEPHEN FENNELL

May I quote a mechanic, "" .. change motor oils, oil and air filters every 10,000 ks Dusty conditions every 5000ks the same, don't over heat you can get 320,000ks. When finding out about change Gearbox oil for manual ' manual states "life of vehicle" hence Life of vehicle if maintained is as above 320,000ks(200,000 miles). Another point regards Timing Belt in Australia Manual indicates 100,000ks in the US 100,000miles(161,000ks). Reason was I could not find any records regards this service even via the JEEP Service at Hillarys WA, even the book had all other services bar that service . When I got it had 164,000ks, so I was a little concerned and got it done around $1100. Suggest buying any over 160,000 ks seek proof regards the Timing belt if proof can't be produced take $1100 off the price and wheel to your closest Jeep agent or mechanic buddy. IF not all 16 valves will fall into the motor making the value of the vehicle close to $500

Damien
Damien asked
Cherokee KJ (2001-2007)

what are the biggest problems with a 2007 jeep limited auto cherokee?

1 answer
Wombat
Wombat

Hi Damien. The biggest problem with any KJ Cherokee auto transmission is that It proved to be not as reliable as the Jeep before or after the KJ. It was a 5 speed unit that had 2 second gears( one for standing start and one for changing down).
It was dropped and returned to the bullet proof 4 speed unit for the KK. The front propeller shafts are notorious for premature failure due to the use of CV joints. The rear propeller shafts use conventional old fashioned open universal joints and last forever.
I speak from experience, as I am on my second auto trans, and third front prop shaft. ( that's if I ever decide to refit it)

See all Jeep Cherokee questions

Get an answer from our members

Jeep Cherokee

Details

Compare all 7 Jeep Cherokee
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $41,432$47,621$50,950$53,950
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption8.5 L/100km9.8 L/100km9.8 L/100km10.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L60 L60 L60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.4L6 Cylinder 3.2L6 Cylinder 3.2L6 Cylinder 3.2L
Max Power130kW @ 6400rpm200kW @ 6500rpm200kW @ 6500rpm200kW @ 6500rpm
Max Torque229Nm @ 3900rpm315Nm @ 4300rpm315Nm @ 4300rpm315Nm @ 4300rpm
Country of ManufactureUSAUSAUSAUSA
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,500 kg2,200 kg2,200 kg2,200 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance185 mm185 mm185 mm221 mm
Release dateJan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014
Compare all 7 Jeep Cherokee
Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next
See all Midsize / Medium SUVs

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.