7 photos
Jeep Cherokee

Jeep Cherokee

KJ, KK, KL
3.3 from 107 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Jeep? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (2)
  • Braking
    4.3 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.7 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.3 (3)
  • Suspension
    3.7 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    2.7 (3)
  • Handling
    4.0 (2)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (3)
  • Boot Size
    3.7 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (3)
  • Features
    3.7 (3)
Previous
Next

History After Nine Years

published

Purchased in September 2012 for $15,400.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Madhatter
MadhatterGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Software Updates

published

We recently had two recalls completed, both were software related, within 24hrs we had a completely drained battery. RACV came out, load tested the battery - advised it was ok and something was running in the background which caused the fault. They did a temp reset to enable us to take the car back to the dealer where we were advised a new battery was required @ $700.00. Has anyone else experienced this after a software update - seems very coincidental to me especially when we have not had one issue with this car.

Purchased in November 2014.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Bucks05
Bucks05
  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Comfortable Drive but a Few Niggles

published
BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015

Has some issues

published
BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2014
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Jeep Cherokee compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Annie
AnnieSydney, NSW
  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Lots of problems

published

Quality is very bad - my car is now on it's 3rd transmission, the air conditioner is unreliable and doesn't blow the temperature it's set to and the USB ports don't function sometimes. The interior is well laid out and the steering controls good. Note that you can only control the heated seats from the console.

Purchased in June 2015.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Manvir
ManvirPerth
  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

I am tradesman

published

Awesome interior
Leather trim
Comfortable seats
Comes in few models
More features in hemi
Nice exterior look
Every thing perfect if u see in other hands
But eat huge amount of fuel because of heavy weight
Electronic problem is normal after few years
American made not rally for Australia because of fuel cost

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2015

I think my jeep Cherokee 2012 consumes a lot of petrol on open road at 500km only ? From a 69 full t

published

I feel it up with 66- 69L of petrol , then I make 522km only on open road . not happy with that only , All the features are my dream. Comfortable , well holding on the road , an interior to die for nice radio fitted with built in GPS .

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Related Articles

Previous
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Peter
PeterGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

Had high hopes, only to be disappointed

published
BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2015
MelzyH
MelzyHSydney

Very comfortable to drive, very safe in accidents, terrible transmissions

published
BadgeLongitude
TransmissionAutomatic
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Jeep Cherokee compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Looks great, feels great, shame it's always under repair.

published

One of the first Trailhawks off the boat in 2014 I loved the car for comfort and driving, just some little Transmission glitches at the start. It took 17 months and 3-4 re-flashes to get the transmission to kick down at the right point.
In the meantime I've had bluetooth issues, oil leak on the left rear axle, broken oil pressure switch, intermittent sensor failures (intermittent), Tailgate lift failure (intermittent), broken cargo blind stopper (design flaw), Flat tyre pressure warnings on cold days. I wouldn't risk buying another Jeep but series 2 will probably be better.
Fuel usage is about 12/100 mixed urban on petrol.

BadgeTrailhawk
TransmissionAutomatic
Flat
Flat

As the author of the review, I'm very happy to have traded after 4 years and even though I lost $25000 in value over 4 years I'm not looking back and I'm buying a different brand of car.

Fred
FredMelbourne
  • 13 reviews
  • 11 likes

Looks great, but it has some major flaws

published
BadgeLimited
tezza
tezzamelbourne
  • 4 reviews

not that bad...

published
BadgeSport
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Jeep Cherokee compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Surprisingly not good

published

My KJ jeep worked wel for 50,000 kilometres and then went berserk... Fuel line issues, terrible to start and the Canberra Jeep people were appalling. I spent nearly 8 grand trying to fix it and gave up, bought a hilux and no troubles after 180k. Don't buy a jeep in ACT is my advice.
Handled well
After 50k no service or support

Rockin4x4Roland
Rockin4x4Roland

Surely if the vehicle had only travelled 50,000 km it would have been covered by new car warrantee. So why did you spend nearly $8,000 to fix it? Have you not told us the complete story?

david hambleton
david hambleton

Like I stated in my above comment to Ben. Take it to another dealer. Contrary to public opinion, they are not all incompetent.

JEEP - Just Empty Every Pocket...

published
Rockin4x4Roland
Rockin4x4Roland

OK

published
vickub
vickub

Questions & Answers

Shoshanah V.
Shoshanah V.asked
Cherokee KJ (2001-2007)

Hi am looking to buy a 2001 Jeep Cherokee KJ
As my first car. I am on a very strict budget and can't afford experience upkeep. I have hirde a Jeep is a experience car to own is it troo

1 answer
Wombat
Wombat

Hi. A 2001 will have drum brakes on rear axle. Being 20 years old could have in vicinity of 200000kms on odometer. Does service book exist and validate this, or is it ridiculously low with suspect entries, same dealer as seller, same coloured ink and signature? Walk away! Limited can be expected to be more expensive than Sport with leather electric seats and a more expensive sound system. Petrol engine only comes with auto transmission, while diesel is manual gearbox only. Petrol variants can be used full time in 4 wheel drive but diesels cannot due to different transfer cases used.
Does it appear as standard or has it been tricked up for extreme off road use with bull bars, winches, non standard wheels and tires, suspension lifts? Walk away!
Is it fitted with a tow bar and electric brake controller? Could have done a lot of heavy trailer towing but they are good at that.
Don't expect good fuel economy with suburban use. Much better in high speed highway use. Before final purchase make sure everything works, right down to every speed on the ventilator fan, as this is one of their weaknesses.
Other potential problems are failure of front propeller shaft, and retraction of electric door mirrors, both very expensive and time consuming to repair.
A well cared for KJ is a great, comfortable, reliable highway cruiser.

Damien
Damien asked
Cherokee KJ (2001-2007)

is a 2007 diesel with 240,000kms on it with full service history still have life in it? as in how many km's can you usually get out of them?

1 answer
STEPHEN FENNELL
STEPHEN FENNELL

May I quote a mechanic, "" .. change motor oils, oil and air filters every 10,000 ks Dusty conditions every 5000ks the same, don't over heat you can get 320,000ks. When finding out about change Gearbox oil for manual ' manual states "life of vehicle" hence Life of vehicle if maintained is as above 320,000ks(200,000 miles). Another point regards Timing Belt in Australia Manual indicates 100,000ks in the US 100,000miles(161,000ks). Reason was I could not find any records regards this service even via the JEEP Service at Hillarys WA, even the book had all other services bar that service . When I got it had 164,000ks, so I was a little concerned and got it done around $1100. Suggest buying any over 160,000 ks seek proof regards the Timing belt if proof can't be produced take $1100 off the price and wheel to your closest Jeep agent or mechanic buddy. IF not all 16 valves will fall into the motor making the value of the vehicle close to $500

Damien
Damien asked
Cherokee KJ (2001-2007)

what are the biggest problems with a 2007 jeep limited auto cherokee?

1 answer
Wombat
Wombat

Hi Damien. The biggest problem with any KJ Cherokee auto transmission is that It proved to be not as reliable as the Jeep before or after the KJ. It was a 5 speed unit that had 2 second gears( one for standing start and one for changing down).
It was dropped and returned to the bullet proof 4 speed unit for the KK. The front propeller shafts are notorious for premature failure due to the use of CV joints. The rear propeller shafts use conventional old fashioned open universal joints and last forever.
I speak from experience, as I am on my second auto trans, and third front prop shaft. ( that's if I ever decide to refit it)

See all Jeep Cherokee questions

Get an answer from our members

Jeep Cherokee

Details

Compare all 7 Jeep Cherokee
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $41,432$47,621$50,950$53,950
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption8.5 L/100km9.8 L/100km9.8 L/100km10.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L60 L60 L60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.4L6 Cylinder 3.2L6 Cylinder 3.2L6 Cylinder 3.2L
Max Power130kW @ 6400rpm200kW @ 6500rpm200kW @ 6500rpm200kW @ 6500rpm
Max Torque229Nm @ 3900rpm315Nm @ 4300rpm315Nm @ 4300rpm315Nm @ 4300rpm
Country of ManufactureUSAUSAUSAUSA
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,500 kg2,200 kg2,200 kg2,200 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance185 mm185 mm185 mm221 mm
Release dateJan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014
Compare all 7 Jeep Cherokee
Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

See all Midsize / Medium SUVs

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.