7 photos
Jeep Cherokee

Jeep Cherokee

KJ, KK, KL
3.3 from 107 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Jeep? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.2 (5)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (5)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (4)
  • Braking
    4.2 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.2 (5)
  • Suspension
    4.6 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.4 (5)
  • Handling
    4.2 (5)
  • Interior Design
    3.8 (4)
  • Boot Size
    3.6 (5)
  • Comfort
    4.8 (5)
  • Features
    4.4 (5)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
daniel c.
daniel c.South East Queensland, QLD

Love it

published

Have had the Jeep for 5 years have done over 50 K in that time including some very long trips towing Yea sure it is heavy on fuel but that's a Jeep for you if want something that is cheap to run buy a push bike ,but you won't get the smiles if you drove a jeep

Purchased in May 2017 for $17,000.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5

History After Nine Years

published

Purchased in September 2012 for $15,400.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
SMG
SMGSouth East Queensland, QLD

Get a 2 inch lift and can't go wrong

published

Unstoppable in the sand on Moreton and Fraser Islands with a 2 inch lift and AT. Great style and motor is a V6 with plenty of Power. I use it as a daily commuter. After 10 years I've changed general stuff like radiator, Starter motor. I've owned bigger 4wds like T. Landcruiser, and N. Patrol but like this beast better. Goes like the V8 box Range Rover in the 80s without the electrical Probs. Very underrated vehicle.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in March 2012 at Jeep Dealers for $20,000.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Andrew
AndrewGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Packs a punch

published

I do 650k a week commuting to work Monday to Friday
Comfortable drive with great features, only issue I've had is slight build up if Brake dust on the callipers.
3 Years complimentary servicing which was hand due to the amount of kilometres I do.
Certainly got me hooked on JEEP

Purchased in January 2017 at Jeep Dealers for $38,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Jeep Cherokee compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John B.
John B.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

I Try to be supportive of Jeep But their Customer service is ridiculous

published

Purchased in April 2019 for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Jim
JimMurray Mallee, SA

Good vehicle.

published

Had cherokee sport for 3 1/2 year. Trans was replaced under warranty. No other issues. Fine road car, good economy ave. 7.6 lts per 100. Well inder that on country touring.no squeaks or rattles. Been on Flinders ranges tracks with no problems, in dry weather. I would buy another but might go for the trailhawk.

BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Bucks05
Bucks05
  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Comfortable Drive but a Few Niggles

published
BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015

Related Articles

Previous
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next

Has some issues

published
BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2014
Thrillhouse
ThrillhouseAU
  • 4 reviews

The last proper Cherokee

published

Good, commanding driving position. The 3.7L V6 doesn't like being hurried but produces reassuring torque (if thirstily). The Limited trim level is plush. Heated seats are very effective, the AC is positively arctic and the stereo is excellent. Cargo space is ok, better with passenger seats down - they lie almost flat. Up front, legroom is a little cramped due to a fairly intrusive drivetrain tunnel and no rest pedal for the driver. The ride is truck-like, but that is expected from a body-on-frame 4x4. We like it. Would buy again.

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2015
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Jeep Cherokee compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Love my Jeep!

published
BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Claire
Claire
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Handy vehicle

published

I purchased a 2003 Jeep Cherokee Sport and loved it! Manual transmission was easy to drive. Great visibility with no blind spots. Could park it anywhere and was nice to drive on road. When it got real, it could climb the steepest and roughest hills off road with no dramas. Towed without a struggle and felt safe. Whilst it had a few issues mechanically, I did drive it 140 klm's every day and it rarely let me down. Even my mechanic said "She just keeps on going doesn't she!". I would definitely have another one.

BadgeSport
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJuly 2013

Great car but needs some tweaking

published
BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2014
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Jeep Cherokee compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Monni
MonniMelbourne
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

My first Jeep after a life long wait!

published
BadgeBlackhawk
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
honestasIcanbe.
honestasIcanbe.
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Most comfortable car I have driven

published
BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Very good but room for improvement as with all machines, especially the Service Centre, customers kn

published
BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Shoshanah V.
Shoshanah V.asked
Cherokee KJ (2001-2007)

Hi am looking to buy a 2001 Jeep Cherokee KJ
As my first car. I am on a very strict budget and can't afford experience upkeep. I have hirde a Jeep is a experience car to own is it troo

1 answer
Wombat
Wombat

Hi. A 2001 will have drum brakes on rear axle. Being 20 years old could have in vicinity of 200000kms on odometer. Does service book exist and validate this, or is it ridiculously low with suspect entries, same dealer as seller, same coloured ink and signature? Walk away! Limited can be expected to be more expensive than Sport with leather electric seats and a more expensive sound system. Petrol engine only comes with auto transmission, while diesel is manual gearbox only. Petrol variants can be used full time in 4 wheel drive but diesels cannot due to different transfer cases used.
Does it appear as standard or has it been tricked up for extreme off road use with bull bars, winches, non standard wheels and tires, suspension lifts? Walk away!
Is it fitted with a tow bar and electric brake controller? Could have done a lot of heavy trailer towing but they are good at that.
Don't expect good fuel economy with suburban use. Much better in high speed highway use. Before final purchase make sure everything works, right down to every speed on the ventilator fan, as this is one of their weaknesses.
Other potential problems are failure of front propeller shaft, and retraction of electric door mirrors, both very expensive and time consuming to repair.
A well cared for KJ is a great, comfortable, reliable highway cruiser.

Damien
Damien asked
Cherokee KJ (2001-2007)

is a 2007 diesel with 240,000kms on it with full service history still have life in it? as in how many km's can you usually get out of them?

1 answer
STEPHEN FENNELL
STEPHEN FENNELL

May I quote a mechanic, "" .. change motor oils, oil and air filters every 10,000 ks Dusty conditions every 5000ks the same, don't over heat you can get 320,000ks. When finding out about change Gearbox oil for manual ' manual states "life of vehicle" hence Life of vehicle if maintained is as above 320,000ks(200,000 miles). Another point regards Timing Belt in Australia Manual indicates 100,000ks in the US 100,000miles(161,000ks). Reason was I could not find any records regards this service even via the JEEP Service at Hillarys WA, even the book had all other services bar that service . When I got it had 164,000ks, so I was a little concerned and got it done around $1100. Suggest buying any over 160,000 ks seek proof regards the Timing belt if proof can't be produced take $1100 off the price and wheel to your closest Jeep agent or mechanic buddy. IF not all 16 valves will fall into the motor making the value of the vehicle close to $500

Damien
Damien asked
Cherokee KJ (2001-2007)

what are the biggest problems with a 2007 jeep limited auto cherokee?

1 answer
Wombat
Wombat

Hi Damien. The biggest problem with any KJ Cherokee auto transmission is that It proved to be not as reliable as the Jeep before or after the KJ. It was a 5 speed unit that had 2 second gears( one for standing start and one for changing down).
It was dropped and returned to the bullet proof 4 speed unit for the KK. The front propeller shafts are notorious for premature failure due to the use of CV joints. The rear propeller shafts use conventional old fashioned open universal joints and last forever.
I speak from experience, as I am on my second auto trans, and third front prop shaft. ( that's if I ever decide to refit it)

See all Jeep Cherokee questions

Get an answer from our members

Jeep Cherokee

Details

Compare all 7 Jeep Cherokee
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $41,432$47,621$50,950$53,950
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption8.5 L/100km9.8 L/100km9.8 L/100km10.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L60 L60 L60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.4L6 Cylinder 3.2L6 Cylinder 3.2L6 Cylinder 3.2L
Max Power130kW @ 6400rpm200kW @ 6500rpm200kW @ 6500rpm200kW @ 6500rpm
Max Torque229Nm @ 3900rpm315Nm @ 4300rpm315Nm @ 4300rpm315Nm @ 4300rpm
Country of ManufactureUSAUSAUSAUSA
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,500 kg2,200 kg2,200 kg2,200 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance185 mm185 mm185 mm221 mm
Release dateJan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014
Compare all 7 Jeep Cherokee
Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

See all Midsize / Medium SUVs

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.