?
? !
7 photos
Jeep Cherokee

Jeep Cherokee

KJ, KK, KL
3.3 from 102 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    5.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (1)
  • Braking
    4.5 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.5 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (2)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (2)
  • Handling
    4.0 (2)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    3.0 (2)
  • Comfort
    5.0 (2)
  • Features
    4.5 (2)
Previous
Next
Andrew

AndrewGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Packs a punch

published

I do 650k a week commuting to work Monday to Friday
Comfortable drive with great features, only issue I've had is slight build up if Brake dust on the callipers.
3 Years complimentary servicing which was hand due to the amount of kilometres I do.
Certainly got me hooked on JEEP

Purchased in January 2017 at Jeep Dealers for $38,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
John B.

John B.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

I Try to be supportive of Jeep But their Customer service is ridiculous

published

Purchased in April 2019 for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jim

JimMurray Mallee, SA

Good vehicle.

published

Had cherokee sport for 3 1/2 year. Trans was replaced under warranty. No other issues. Fine road car, good economy ave. 7.6 lts per 100. Well inder that on country touring.no squeaks or rattles. Been on Flinders ranges tracks with no problems, in dry weather. I would buy another but might go for the trailhawk.

BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Jeep Cherokee compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Thrillhouse

ThrillhouseAU

  • 4 reviews

The last proper Cherokee

published

Good, commanding driving position. The 3.7L V6 doesn't like being hurried but produces reassuring torque (if thirstily). The Limited trim level is plush. Heated seats are very effective, the AC is positively arctic and the stereo is excellent. Cargo space is ok, better with passenger seats down - they lie almost flat. Up front, legroom is a little cramped due to a fairly intrusive drivetrain tunnel and no rest pedal for the driver. The ride is truck-like, but that is expected from a body-on-frame 4x4. We like it. Would buy again.

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Love my Jeep!

published
BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Claire

Claire

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Handy vehicle

published

I purchased a 2003 Jeep Cherokee Sport and loved it! Manual transmission was easy to drive. Great visibility with no blind spots. Could park it anywhere and was nice to drive on road. When it got real, it could climb the steepest and roughest hills off road with no dramas. Towed without a struggle and felt safe. Whilst it had a few issues mechanically, I did drive it 140 klm's every day and it rarely let me down. Even my mechanic said "She just keeps on going doesn't she!". I would definitely have another one.

BadgeSport
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJuly 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Great car but needs some tweaking

published
BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Monni

MonniMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

My first Jeep after a life long wait!

published
BadgeBlackhawk
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
honestasIcanbe.

honestasIcanbe.

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Most comfortable car I have driven

published
BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Jeep Cherokee compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Very good but room for improvement as with all machines, especially the Service Centre, customers kn

published
BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Marian

MarianMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Good working donky

published

Generally it is ok,
On the bad side:
- Consumes more petrol than I would anticipate,
- Rough transmission and noise
- It’s got an issue so called Static Power Consumption: Electronic components/ sensors make battery flat when car is not used for more than 1 week but this is a problem many modern cars.
On the good side:
- Nice and convenient interior, good handling, well designed dashboard,
- No problem with heavy towing,
- Generally good value for monies.

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Remus

RemusTownsville, Queensland

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great plodder!

published

We have had out 2011 Jeep Cherokee just over 5 years and covered just over 140000 km's. The only problem(s) we have had were the replacement of three shock absorbers which were covered under warranty. Good solid car and it'll do us for the next 5 years. Hard to believe all the other bad luck stories.

BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2011
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ian Stewart

Ian StewartSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Good car for us

published
Badge65th Anniversary
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2007
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Phil T

Phil TMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Unstoppable but dealers are poor

published
BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
1 comment
Phil T
Phil T
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wombat

Wombat

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Still the best car I have ever experienced in 60 years

published

My second Jeep after 15 years. Even better than the XJ. Fuel consumption in city hopeless, in country a lot better. Happier to pay for fuel than tow trucks. Gas struts a common failure after five years, bonnet, tail gate etc.Still, cheap to replace. Found Jeep dealers service?(2) hopeless. Find a good independent mechanic and stick there.
Still waiting 17 months for a part (tow bar) to be replaced under a world wide recall!

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
2 comments
Wombat
Wombat

The long awaited tow bar was finally installed today. A very neat job by the Jeep dealer's workshop.

Wombat
Wombat
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Jeep Cherokee compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rachel Z

Rachel Z

  • 3 reviews

I Could Live In This Car

published

Besides looking super sexy on the outside, the Jeep Cherokee Limited is unbelievably luxurious on the inside.

We've always bought Jeeps and this one really has an upmarket feel. Driving wise it's smooth and comfortable, with so many features I feel really safe and relaxed while driving.

Only downside is boot space. Once I put a pram in there, I have little room for much else. Considering Jeep is supposed to be the adventurers car I would've thought they'd have made this more of a priority.

Other than that, I can't get enough of driving it. I take any opportunity to get in the car and go!

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

What more can you ask when you already got a full package

published

Took me a long time to decide which car to buy as my first car with so limited budget. Am Glad that I eventually choose Jeep Cherokee Jet edition over the other cars. Don't get me wrong, this is a very thirsty monster but what you expect, it's a MONSTER!!

BadgeJet
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mark

MarkAdelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

2012 KK Limited Jet 4WD - My 3 Year Review

published
BadgeJet
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bigdog51

Bigdog51SYDNEY

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Jeep Cherokee 2002

published

Our Jeep has 223,000 kms on it now. It has cost me next to nix in extra repairs from a used purchase at 20,000 kms and 12 months old (after it had already been around Oz as a lead tour vehicle). It has original everything and has never had the gearbox oil or air gas changed (and everything works). You can get duds, you can get beauties...I am a happy camper but I do change (the basic engine etc.) oils and filters personally and frequently.

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Need high ground clearance

published

I owned a 2011 cherokee limited. I find this cherokee is good for medium off roading, but excellent for sand driving with extra added ground cleraence. Superb interior with leather seating. It done 71000 kms successful without any complaints. Only change battery recently.High fuel economy and service cost are the only draw backs which I can mention. Each services cost me above $700 and the last major service for 48000 cost me $1100.Suspension and stearing wheels are not smooth I admit it's a jeep.
Reliable ,
High service cost and high fuel economy.

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2
See all Jeep Cherokee reviews

Questions & Answers

Peter T

Peter Tasked

Cherokee

I have a 2015 Jeep Cherokee Sport 73k klm and it has just started to go crazy jamming in park or neutral, flatening battery, unable to remove key, different warnings coming up on display. got it towed to a dealer and they said all the modules needed to be reset, 2 days later same issue, personally I think the Battery is dyeing but the dealer said it was fine, anyone else had these sort of issues I would like to hear

1 answer
mickey p
mickey p

Our 2015 sport won't start due to electric steering part failure. Jeep says $1100 to fix. Has only done 110kms

Siza

Sizaasked

Cherokee

Hi I have 2011 jeep cherokee 3.7L sport auto kk I wanted to self service the car but I could not find the petrol filter. Anyone with the knowledge please help?

No answers
Glenn Kellie

Glenn Kellieasked

Cherokee KK (2008-2013)

What is best engine oil for 3.7Ltr petrol engine, done 139,000klm. KK 2009 Cherokee. Thanks

No answers
See all Jeep Cherokee questions

Get an answer from our members

Jeep Cherokee

Details

Compare all 7 Jeep Cherokee
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $41,432$47,621$50,950$53,950
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption8.5 L/100km9.8 L/100km9.8 L/100km10.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L60 L60 L60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.4L6 Cylinder 3.2L6 Cylinder 3.2L6 Cylinder 3.2L
Max Power130kW @ 6400rpm200kW @ 6500rpm200kW @ 6500rpm200kW @ 6500rpm
Max Torque229Nm @ 3900rpm315Nm @ 4300rpm315Nm @ 4300rpm315Nm @ 4300rpm
Country of ManufactureUSAUSAUSAUSA
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,500 kg2,200 kg2,200 kg2,200 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance185 mm185 mm185 mm221 mm
Release dateJan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014
Compare all 7 Jeep Cherokee

Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

See all Midsize / Medium SUVs

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.