1 photo
Jeep Grand Cherokee WH

Jeep Grand Cherokee WH (2005-2010)

3.9 from 28 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Jeep? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.5 (8)
  • Value for Money
    4.9 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (7)
  • Noise Level
    4.5 (8)
  • Braking
    4.5 (8)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.9 (8)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (8)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (8)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (8)
  • Handling
    4.6 (8)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (8)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (8)
  • Comfort
    4.9 (8)
  • Features
    4.4 (8)
Previous
Next
Beryl
BerylPerth, WA

2010 WH Limited CRD

published

I bought a 2010 Limited CRD in 2017 with 68K on the clock. It now has 134K. For an 11 year old v6 turbo diesel the torque this thing puts out is unbelievable. I had the GDE tune done and for a 4wd the acceleration is comically fast. I had the old man emu lift kit fitted which improved handling and off road capabilities significantly. A couple of minor (common) issues over the years I’ve had it. Glow plugs - cheap and easy fix. Injector seal leaked. Also a fairly cheap fix ($300) if you notice it early. This has been a great car. I love driving it. My only real complaint would be rpm at 110km/hr is a touch too high thanks to gearing. I believe this is shared across petrol and diesel platforms.

Purchased in August 2017.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5

I have this one longer than any other

published

Had my WH 3L Diesel for 6 years now - purchased 2nd hand for $26k - still only 112k on the clock but I do go bush with it towing a offload Camper. I bought it with towing in mind and being a Gold Prospector at heart need a good 4x4 to get to where I want to go. This thing will pull down a block of Flats - I'm not interested in Houdini antics off road. I'm a Mopar man at heart and even though this is not a true Mopar I will always stick with the Chrysler product - the WH with the Mercedes 3L diesel and running gear is brilliant !

Purchased in November 2014.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Julien R.
Julien R.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car

published

I drive a lot on the motorway, and the car is very comfortable and fun to drive, despite its size. It is also really good offroad and to drive on the beach

Purchased in July 2017 at Jeep Dealers for $70,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

i love my 06 grand cherokee to death it's in my opinion the best looking jeep apart from the srt

published

i too do all the work and servicing on my jeep and never had an issue with it, the mercedes 3l is the best donk put in a jeep and have been told by most workshops that fact,just the best handling car and comfortable the options that are standard in a jeep would cost the world in say a toyota

Purchased in October 2018 for $12,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Jeep Grand Cherokee WH compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John Papageorgiou
John PapageorgiouSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Very powerful engine!!!

published

I have an 05 CRD model which i purchased back in 2014 primarily for towing plant and equipment. It had 176k kms and now it has 217k kms and still goes like a rocket. The range of towing varied from 1700kg to 3500kg. It averaged 14ltrs/100km taking it easy around town and around 19ltrs/100km around town with 3.5t. I have read a lot of negative reviews, but i don't understand why as for the last 6yrs it has been great and in context i am talking about a 15yr old car which still goes great and can blow away brand new cars! Ok the leather seat have cracked, a little bit of rust is starting to appear, but we are talking about a 15yr old car here. If the car got ridden off, for the replacement value alone, i would go out and buy another!

Purchased in August 2014 for $14,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Unhappy
UnhappyPerth
  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great car

published

Driving this car is always nice it’s quiet, smooth, handles well and looks good to. Only problem I have had with this car is the leather. We have always looked after this car and the leather has torn on the drivers seat and is starting to go on the arm rest. We have spoke to someone from
Jeep and they said it’s not there fault..

Badge65th Anniversary
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2013
Billboard
BillboardQUINNS ROCKS
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

I own 2 of these jeeps

published

I love my Jeeps, i have a 2005 grand Jeep limited with 285000kms on the clock (now the wifes car) & a 2007 185000kms both 5.7L with MDS ,never taken them to a dealer (they don't have a clue) always serviced both cars myself, excellent paint work, super powerful, extremely quite ,very comfortable, leather interior, i tow my 22ft caravan with ease for under 20l per 100klms .very cheap parts out of the states. The cylinder shutdown means i get about 15L per 100klm around town. Alot of car for a reasonable price.

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2008

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Goodie
GoodieHunter Region, NSW
  • 10 reviews
  • 13 likes

Worthy of a look

published
BadgeLaredo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Alastair
AlastairTownsville
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

From budget power to a full-blown lemon.

published
BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Jeep Grand Cherokee WH compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
allan1776
allan1776South East Queensland, QLD
  • 10 reviews
  • 8 likes

Terrific Vehicle for What I purchased It For

published

Purchased in October 2007.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
not happy jan
not happy janGippsland, VIC
  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

unexpectedly good

published
BadgeLaredo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2017
airlock
airlockSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

It's cheap but you get what you pay for.

published
BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Jeep Grand Cherokee WH compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Glenda R
Glenda R
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great value but a few design flaws

published
BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
koo
kooSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

I bought a Jeep and freaking love it

published

great powerful diesel merc engine - tows 3.5tonne easily. Probably would like better brakes on it for heavy braking. Lovely comfortable car 167k on it so far and no problems.
Running costs averaging 11.3ltres to the 100kms. Haven't had to spend anything on it other than the standard services. Chose this over the price of a landcruiser and at this stage still very happy. Best thing is all the interior comforts and powerful engine.

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Perspective
PerspectiveSA, 5047
  • 12 reviews
  • 5 likes

2006 WH/WK-CRD

published
BadgeLaredo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2010
See all Jeep Grand Cherokee reviews

Questions & Answers

Malcolm M.
Malcolm M.asked
Grand Cherokee WH (2005-2010)

Hey probably a dumb question but I have just recently brought a 2008 grand Cherokee Laredo WH and I’m trying to find parts for it what’s the difference between the WH and the WK and why can’t I find anything when I search for the WH

1 answer
Steve
Steve

Try WK1,thats what the yanks call it

Janice Sturgess
Janice Sturgessasked
Grand Cherokee WH (2005-2010)

My 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee WH has developed a fault in the ignition immobiliser which means it mostly refuses to start. (Runs great once it does randomly fire) Ordered parts 3 months ago through Jeep and one had to come from USA. Now been told there were none in stock and it has to be manufactured and may not come through until well into 2021. Any one have any options re how to get the car on the road reliably again. (I have had Jeeps for 20 years now to tow our horse float. So it is risky to head out with the horses on board if the car is not functioning properly.)

No answers
Carol W.
Carol W.asked
Grand Cherokee WH (2005-2010)

I am having a problem with my 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited, can’t get rid of the. Service 4WD System Message from the dashboard, Is this a problem...?

1 answer
Jacko0573
Jacko0573

for mine it was an actuator in the diff of the quadradrive 2 system, expensive part, but takes only an hour to fix.

See all Jeep Grand Cherokee WH (2005-2010) questions

Get an answer from our members

Jeep Grand Cherokee WH (2005-2010)

Details

Compare all 16 Jeep Grand Cherokee
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Release dateJan 2005
Discontinuation dateDec 2010
Compare all 16 Jeep Grand Cherokee

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.