??!
3 photos
Jumbuck Comet

Jumbuck Comet

4 Burner, 6 Burner
3.9 from 17 reviews

Reviews

3.9

17 reviews
5
(5)
4
(8)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    2.7 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (3)
  • Even Heat DistributionYes (1) · No (1)
  • Safety
    4.0 (2)
Previous
Next
Doreenrunner

DoreenrunnerMelbourne

  • 35 reviews

Bad manufacturing quality

published

Purchased in May 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$450.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers
dpaul

dpaul

  • 4 reviews

Body started rusting after a few months despite being covered and under cover

published

The bbq cooks well, however moving it out to use is a pain as it only has 2 caster wheels that steer. It also started developing rust in random spots around the body which i will now have to treat on a regular basis. The drip tray does not working very well either, some how the oil is running down other channels in the chassis and missing the shallow drip tray all together. Having said this i got it at a bargain price, so when i'm ready to splash out a bit more I will replace with a better brand after doing my research.

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Heat DistributionNo
See all answers
Paul

PaulSydney

  • 7 reviews

Excellent value. All stainless steel 6 burner wok plus

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Gas BBQs

Find out how Jumbuck Comet compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ssin

SsinSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent purchase

published

I read all the reviews before purchasing this beast and it has so far lived up to expectation. The packaged box is over 50kg so you will need at least 2 people to bring it home. Assembling was easy enough, one step of the instructions wasn't quite right but you can figure it out. The dreaded label people were complaining about has been removed from the lid. It cooks very well and you should definitely pay a little extra and get the stainless steel option (in the Comet). Excellent value for money!

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Fozzie

Fozziemelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Very pleased with this lovely barbie.

published

Very pleased with this lovely barbie.I had my doubts when I was assembling it because it seemed extremely flimsy when dis-assembled but it strong when all the parts are put together. The first time I fired it up I thought I must have fluked it and cooked the perfect tender steak but it kept happening! I soon realised it just the barbie is very well designed and does this every time. I would recommend this to anyone that will listen!

Date PurchasedJan 2017
headwerkn

headwerknLaunceston, TAS

  • 12 reviews

Good looking, great performing large BBQ at an affordable price

published
skiman

skimanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Value for money

published

Ours has the side burner and did not have a sticker on it, so looks like maybe feedback from reviews has stopped them from being put on, so thats a good thing. BBQ was easy to put together and set up. Cooks very well, have cooked a variety of things and all cooked as expected. Easy to clean as well, so hopefully this will help us to be able to keep it for a long time. Side burner is handy and heats very quickly. The last one we had the gas bottle hooked onto the outside this one is in the cabinet and its a little harder to get to, but still functional. Pretty sturdy and a good size for its price, good value for money.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
CPLF

CPLFMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 17 likes

Average - Home use

published

Not a bad pick for the price, Average but works well and good enough for home use. (unless you are extremely into BBQing and expect an exceptional outcome )
includes a lid and a thermostat, Wok burner works well

Good for home use, I ve been using mine for few years now.

Date PurchasedJun 2013
Emma

EmmaGirrawheen

  • 3 reviews

Value for Money

published

Easy to assemble. One man job. All tools provided. Box fit in small car for transportation home. Great beginners barbecue. Side burner is a really useful addition. (We used it for mushrooms and onions) Plenty of room to feed nine on Boxing Day. Value for money. Only downside was that it takes time to heat up.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Gas BBQs

Find out how Jumbuck Comet compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sam

Sam

  • 5 reviews
  • 11 likes

Good BBQ

published

Good BBQ for the money. Even gas dispersing and the finish doesn't age as quick as some others. Thanks Bunnings for giving us a options with out costing a fortune.
If you want a BBQ to do it's job, and not much more. This is the one. I promise!
I'm not one for positive reviews at all.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Kaz

Kaz

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love our new Bbq

published

This was a Xmas gift from the family. They chose well. It was so easy to put together, all stainless steel and bolted together. The castors are so smooth with the addition of two locking castors to make it safe. Handy side burner for stirfrys etc. looks really smart and makes my husbands bbqing a breeze.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Happy shopper

Happy shopperMurray Bridge

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great BBQ

published

I'm very satisfied with the cooking results. I was tossing up between a normal BBQ or a Webber Q and and so glad I purchased this. We havent had a bad BBQ yet. Lota of room to cook both on the grill and the hot plate. The storage underneath is fantastic to hide the gas bottle away and other things like tongs ect.
Should have caster wheels on all corners not just 2 but not to bad otherwise

Date PurchasedAug 2016
pacificgypsy

pacificgypsyGold Coast

  • 8 reviews

Very difficult to remove sticker from hood

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017

NASA grade sticker technology.

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
1 comment
Chad
Chad

Finally got rid of the sticker residue - 2 rounds of oven cleaner.

leonr64

leonr64

  • 7 reviews

OK, but heating is a bit uneven

published

The instructions were clear and this BBQ was easy enough to assemble. It is good value for a stainless steel BBQ. The main negative for me is that cooking on the open grill is less even than on our 2001 Jackeroo BBQ from KMart (which was gradually rusting away). I think it's to do with the design of the flame tamers on the Jumbuck compared to the old one.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Gas BBQs

Find out how Jumbuck Comet compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jayson

JaysonGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 17 reviews
  • 21 likes

Does the job

published

We had a Jumbuck for about 7 years and she did the job just fine. Just keep it clean and covered (hood down at least!). I think you will be happy knowing you've got a tool which allows you to casual bar-b for the family without breaking the bank. You will do well with a ¾ burner from the sounds of you initial post.

Date PurchasedMar 2015
Angry Dad Man

Angry Dad ManBundaberg

Roadtest Jumbuck Comet 4 Burner with Wok Burner (Stainless Steel)

published
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Questions & Answers

Ruth H.

Ruth H.asked

Comet 4 Burner

I can't see the size of the BBQ plates - are they all grill or half plate or 3/4 bbq plate and 1/4 grill?

2 answers
Red R.
Red R.

6 burner has 2 grill and 1 hot plate...
I actually went to bunnings and brought 2 hot plates so I just have all hot plates..think they were about $20-$30 each

firezone1au
firezone1au

Replacing grills with hotplates voids the warranty. This can cause an excessive build up of heat which can lead to personal injury, especially if the hood is closed. This probably relates to your comment below about getting to hot & overcooking the meat.

Red R.

Red R.asked

Comet

Got a jumbuck for Christmas only used it a couple of time but every time I use it I have it on low amd seems to be way to hot and just over cooks the meat..anyone had this issue

No answers
Emily S.

Emily S.asked

Comet

Can you purchase drip trays as a spare part?. Mine rusted out and I need one. Bbq is still fine but no one seems to sell the bloody things.. please help ..

2 answers
Gary R.
Gary R.

Did you ever find one?

Emily S.
Emily S.

No. Didnt find one. Had to measure it up and get one made

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.