1 photo
Kenwood Multi Purpose Rechargeable KN500

Kenwood Multi Purpose Rechargeable KN500

MPN: KN500
1.8 from 12 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Kitchen Knives in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

1.8
12 reviews
5
(1)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(6)
1
(5)
Previous
Next
Diana
DianaPerth, WA

Was good till it died

published

Was using it for home cooked loaves of bread every two days. Had it for three months without a problem. Then just suddenly died. Confusing as we read the manual and was charging it as per their instructions. I had read online before purchasing that there was a number of negative reviews but I thought I would give it a go. So, yeah, disappointed.

Purchased in April 2020 at Kitchen Warehouse for $84.95.

Incentivised Review No
Warwick
WarwickSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

Great knife lasted 13 months

published

A few weeks out of warranty and it has developed some kind of loose connection - it'll start working after a few shakes.

Terrible shame they can't get the quality right, as otherwise it was a practical and useful knife. Fool me once, I won't be replacing it with a Kenwood.

Purchased in July 2018 at The Good Guys Online store for $79.95.

Incentivised Review No

Other Kitchen Knives

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Trumpst
TrumpstIllawarra, NSW

Not good value. Poor reliability.

published

Have now had 2 of these-my son and daughter 1 each as well . Over past 3 years. All have stopped taking charge over relatively short time or may even be switch issues. Can it be taken apart for inspection? Either way, a chorded version would be cheaper to buy and last longer.

Purchased in February 2018 for $100.00.

Incentivised Review No
Paul1952
Paul1952Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 16 reviews
  • 12 likes

Great vwhile it works

published

Purchased January 2012. Failed February 2012 due to not cutting.
Replaced March 2012. Failed to hold charge April 2012. Would only cut 4 slices of fresh bread before going very slowly. Great concept. If and when Kenwood are able to get them to work correctly it will be a great asset in the kitchen. Hopefully sooner rather than later.
Great knife when it works
Poor quality - failed twice in 4 months

Paul1952
Paul1952

The knife failed - would'nt cut - again 9/05/12. Replaced with a new unit 24/05/12.

Kitchen Knives

Find out how Kenwood Multi Purpose Rechargeable KN500 compares to other Kitchen Knives

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Bad

published

We have had 3 of them now,and as pensioners we can't afford to buy them anymore-is there a better cordless knife on sale?
Easy to use,cuts home made bread well.
Only lasts about 1 year,before the battery won't take a charge

Bad

published

Easy to use. But before you go to the butcher, keep it for charging!
Battery dead after 1 year. Overnight charging will not even cut 1 Kg roast!. Go for corded version
Easy to use
Before you go to the butcher, keep it for charging!
Battery dead after 1 year. Overnight charging will not even cut 1 Kg roast!

silverbeard
silverbeard

Instead of buying a new unit, trying getting the battery replaced or repacked. It might be cheaper. That is what I do with my B&D or Mistral units

Questions & Answers

Robbie D
Robbie Dasked

Agree with all comments posted "Great / Fantastic" product when working.
Unfortunately seems to be a design flaw or absolute "Lifespan Cycle" that renders the product useless within (12-18mths) hmmmm.........what do you know, that's just outside of the Warranty Period!!
Shame on you Kenwood - Once such a trusted brand!!

No answers
Bm670
Bm670asked

I just got my knife and then it started shaking while cutting with blades both uneven. Now I can’t get the blades out!!

No answers
Chris Michalak
Chris Michalakasked

How do I know when knife is fully charged?...does the green light change colour?...doesn.t seem to be charging properly as it only works for a few minutes after charging...

1 answer
Warwick
Warwick

It doesn't change, always green. I just charge it overnight. If it still only lasting a few minutes, might be a faulty battery.

See all Kenwood Multi Purpose Rechargeable KN500 questions

Get an answer from our members and Kenwood representatives

Details

CategoryKitchen Knives
Release dateJuly 2007
Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 5011423090924
  • MPN: KN500

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.