8 photos
Kia Optima

Kia Optima

TF, JF, MS
3.9 from 28 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Sedans in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Kia? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (8)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (8)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (8)
  • Braking
    4.0 (7)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (7)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (7)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (7)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.9 (7)
  • Handling
    4.0 (7)
  • Interior Design
    4.1 (7)
  • Boot Size
    4.7 (7)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (7)
  • Features
    4.0 (7)
Previous
Next

Big End Bearings Gone at 130000

published

Purchased TF Optima MY14 2.4l second hand in May 2016 with 42500km. Had a great run no problems until a slight tick developed and escalated to a big rattle/knock. Mechanic called it as big end failure at 130700km. Needs a rebuild or secondhand engine $6000. This is not good enough for a modern vehicle.
It is the third the mechanic has had with this 2.4l motor in the last few weeks. Appears to be a problem with this motor. If it was 6 months younger it would have still been in warranty.

Purchased in May 2016 for $15,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Eddie
EddieSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Really great car.

published

Loads of power yet economical when you want it to be, roomy and comfortable, sensible and attractive interior layout, and superb ride with a good variety of Drive modes. Would have liken ventilated seats, but everything else is there. Would recommend to anyone wanting an all-around car.

Purchased in July 2019 at Cricks Highway.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Sedans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Ann U.
Ann U.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Excellence

published

This is our fifth KIA. My husband drives a Sportage SLi 2015 and I the Optima GT. The previous KIAs were two Rio's used for high milage, before we retired and a Cerato Koupe Touring. Todate no problems worth mentioning. What problems we have had have been fixed promptly. The GT is a joy, fast and reasonable frugal. Being a MY 2017 it comes with high beam assisted and LED head lights, both dip and main, fabulous. I will end here, for any more comments would also the lines of fabulous, excellent and similar

Purchased in August 2018 at Kia Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sedans

Find out how Kia Optima compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Hann
HannSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

KIA Optima GT very Reliable

published

I have KIA optima for 4 years and have done 120,000 km. It still runs like brand new. Car regularly serviced at KIA dealer. Car service interval is short to 75,000 km, it should be at least 10,000 km.

Purchased in November 2015 for $38,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Horrified
HorrifiedSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

DEATH TRAP - Kia has zero concern for human life!

published

Purchased in August 2018 at Peter Warren Automotive for $45,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Gavin E.
Gavin E.Qld, 4170
  • 20 reviews
  • 13 likes

Engine Failure

published

Purchased in September 2014 at Private for $20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Gavin E.
Gavin E.
Gagan S.
Gagan S.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Perfect

published

The Optima shares its platform, and many of its components, with its sister car: the Hyundai Sonata.

Targeted at other midsized sedans such as the Hyundai Sonata, Toyota Camry, Mazda6, Ford Mondeo, Skoda Octavia, and Holden Commodore, the Optima features a big boot and a comfortable ride.

A six-speed torque converted automatic is the only transmission for both the naturally-aspirated and turbocharged petrol engines.

Variants range from the base $33,390 Optima Si to the top-of-the-range $44,490 Optima GT NAV (BLACK LEATHER) SUNROOF.

Purchased in April 2015 for $16,999.00.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
Hann
HannSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Best car ever

published

Very reliable car and interior quality is better than German car. Very quiet and smooth ride. Turbo 2.0l is powerful enough. Have driven 80000 km and had not a single problem.

Purchased in December 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Sedans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Matthew
MatthewSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 6 reviews

Generally pretty Good

published

Purchased in October 2018 at Private for $15,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sedans

Find out how Kia Optima compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Need feed back

published

We have a new Kia Optima n when it reaches 60km then drops to 57kms the car jolts by itself every time .kia tell us this is a "feature" does anyone else have this terrible feature in there optima . 4 times back to fix it n finally they come up with this answer

BadgeGT
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
JayJ
JayJAdelaide
  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

Well equipped, great drive, pity about the SatNav

published

I bought this ex-lease car about 11 months from first registration. Was like new but at a much lower price. Very well equipped, drives well, feels well designed.Great having the 7 year warranty. The major downside is that this model misses out on any Satnav updates even though 2 were promised to new car buyers earlier, and it has many inaccuracies. Much better to use my portable TomTom with lifetime updates, and stuck to the windscreen.

BadgeSi
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Amir
AmirAdelaide
  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER KIA

published
BadgeSLi
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Excellent reliable

published

Great car, no problem at all. it has all the features, leather heated and cool seat, very reliable and had none fault. service interval 15000 km and very cheap around $200. Excellent handling. I love the panoramic roof.Better than German cars Audi and Bmw etc. I would recommend to everyone.

BadgePlatinum
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2013
Norm
NormGold Coast
  • 2 reviews

Great car

published

I bought my 2012 Kia Optima new and it has now done 102,000 klms and have had nothing done on it ,this car has been a pleasure to own and drive i sort of keep waiting for something to go wrong with it but never does,i would recommend this car to anyone out there looking at this type of car,the engine noise is a bit loud on take off but you get used to it and it has heaps of power as well.

BadgeSLi
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2012

Other Sedans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Louise Cropley
Louise Cropley
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Fantastic car

published

What a fantastic car. Not only is it a pleasure to drive, but it has enough power to feel quite sporty. The only problem we have identified with these cars is their seats are incredibly uncomfortable, which unfortunately can be a limiting factor and almost caused us to sell it. Some wool seat covers fixed the problem and now we can take it on long drives (more than an hour) and not feel numb afterwards.

BadgeSi
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2014
Sedans

Find out how Kia Optima compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Gavin E.
Gavin E.asked
Optima TF (2011-2015)

I am disappointed that my Kia Optima has crankshaft knock from failed bearings at 180k's after I had it back to Kia Mt Gravatt for the recall and had the all clear.
I was told the crankshaft was within tolerances which I find it hard to believe that they removed the bottom sump and measured the crankshaft with the pistons removed and measured the crank where the big end bearings would run on the crank all this within a couple of hours,
I think the more likey scenario they checked the vin range for the defect and found my vehicle was not in the vin range and replaced the old dipstick with the new dipstick which i suspect the old dipstick was giving the wrong reading for measuring oil.
I want to know since I did work with the brand for 4 years and I have personally influenced some of my family and friends to purchase a Kia car so far 2 x Cerato and 1 x Sportage what would Kia do to assist in having the engine repaired? given there is a whole Kia forum with Optima 2.4L customers with the same issue.

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Kia Optima

Details

Compare all 4 Kia Optima
Kia Optima MS
  • Discontinued

Kia Optima MS (2001-2006)

4.7
(3)
Kia Optima TF
  • Discontinued

Kia Optima TF (2011-2015)

3.6
(14)
CategorySedansSedansSedansSedans
Starting Price $43,290$33,390$25,990$31,490
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic and ManualAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption8.5 L/100km8.3 L/100km7.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 70 L70 L70 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.4L6 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.4L
Max Power180kW @ 6000rpm138kW @ 6000rpm148kW @ 6300rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 1350-4000rpm241Nm @ 4000rpm250Nm @ 4250rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)
Release dateJan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2001Jan 2011
Discontinuation dateDec 2006Dec 2015
Compare all 4 Kia Optima
Visit official website

Other Sedans

Previous
Next
See all Sedans

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.