??!
8 photos
Kia Optima

See the Best Sedans in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
8
4 star
11
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
2

Gavin Evans

Gavin EvansSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 10 likes

Engine Failure

published

Purchased in September 2014 at Private for $20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Gavin Evans
Gavin Evans

Gagan S.

Gagan S.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Perfect

published

The Optima shares its platform, and many of its components, with its sister car: the Hyundai Sonata.

Targeted at other midsized sedans such as the Hyundai Sonata, Toyota Camry, Mazda6, Ford Mondeo, Skoda Octavia, and Holden Commodore, the Optima features a big boot and a comfortable ride.

A six-speed torque converted automatic is the only transmission for both the naturally-aspirated and turbocharged petrol engines.

Variants range from the base $33,390 Optima Si to the top-of-the-range $44,490 Optima GT NAV (BLACK LEATHER) SUNROOF.

Purchased in April 2015 for $16,999.00.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Hann

HannSydney, NSW

Best car ever

published

Very reliable car and interior quality is better than German car. Very quiet and smooth ride. Turbo 2.0l is powerful enough. Have driven 80000 km and had not a single problem.

Purchased in December 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2016
See all answers
Matthew

MatthewSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Generally pretty Good

published

Purchased in October 2018 at Private for $15,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Need feed back

published

We have a new Kia Optima n when it reaches 60km then drops to 57kms the car jolts by itself every time .kia tell us this is a "feature" does anyone else have this terrible feature in there optima . 4 times back to fix it n finally they come up with this answer

BadgeGT
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

JayJ

JayJAdelaide

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Well equipped, great drive, pity about the SatNav

published

I bought this ex-lease car about 11 months from first registration. Was like new but at a much lower price. Very well equipped, drives well, feels well designed.Great having the 7 year warranty. The major downside is that this model misses out on any Satnav updates even though 2 were promised to new car buyers earlier, and it has many inaccuracies. Much better to use my portable TomTom with lifetime updates, and stuck to the windscreen.

BadgeSi
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Amir

AmirAdelaide

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER KIA

published
BadgeSLi
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Excellent reliable

published

Great car, no problem at all. it has all the features, leather heated and cool seat, very reliable and had none fault. service interval 15000 km and very cheap around $200. Excellent handling. I love the panoramic roof.Better than German cars Audi and Bmw etc. I would recommend to everyone.

BadgePlatinum
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2013
Norm

NormGold Coast

  • 2 reviews

Great car

published

I bought my 2012 Kia Optima new and it has now done 102,000 klms and have had nothing done on it ,this car has been a pleasure to own and drive i sort of keep waiting for something to go wrong with it but never does,i would recommend this car to anyone out there looking at this type of car,the engine noise is a bit loud on take off but you get used to it and it has heaps of power as well.

BadgeSLi
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2012
Louise Cropley

Louise Cropley

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Fantastic car

published

What a fantastic car. Not only is it a pleasure to drive, but it has enough power to feel quite sporty. The only problem we have identified with these cars is their seats are incredibly uncomfortable, which unfortunately can be a limiting factor and almost caused us to sell it. Some wool seat covers fixed the problem and now we can take it on long drives (more than an hour) and not feel numb afterwards.

BadgeSi
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2014

Nev

NevDapto

  • 5 reviews

A great car for long trips

published

The Optima is probably the best handling car I have ever driven, although a little harsh on really rough roads. The interior is conservative, which I like, and all controls operate smoothly and positively. The car has given no problems at all and has been used for trips to Cairns and Melbourne, returning fuel consumption figures between 6.8 and 7.1 litres per 100 kilometres. Although a little noisy under acceleration, it is very quiet at highway speeds. The longer I own this car the better I like it.

BadgeSi
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015

Keller House

Keller HouseSTILLWATER

  • 2 reviews

Great safe family car

published

This car has great handling, and was spacious for our kids. I love how quiet the car is. It did sit a little to low to the ground for my taste. The loved the safety alarms for seat belts and the auto air bag control using weight limit to turn on or off. Glad we rented this car while our car was down. I will be trading my car I'm soon for one of these.

BadgePlatinum
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

DrSoop

DrSoopMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it!

published

First purchased a Kia Optima about 5 years ago due to it being best bang for your buck in terms of interior & features, & upgraded recently to the Optima turbo GT. Whilst it was a bit pricier, it has the quality of a much more expensive European car. Features such as adaptive cruise control, blind spot detection, parking sensors & camera, GPS, leather, the list goes on. At first I thought it was a bit tame, but once I found Sport mode I soon changed my mind, it really has some zip. The GPS isn't perfect (but show me one that is...), & some safety alert features need turning off before they drive you insane, but overall it is a very classy drive that has not failed to impress.

BadgeGT
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016

Elaine A

Elaine AMid North Coast, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good car, bad company

published

We love the performance of our OPTIMA as it does everything Kia claims. Mileage on a long trip comes in around 6ltrs per 100 ks driving to speed signage. It handles well but you do hear a lot of road noise especially if your tyres are too hard. The interior would be better if the leather was a light colour as black is a little hot for Australia and back seat passengers seem to have a problem putting on their seat belts. The reason we have not given five stars is the rust problem and the fact Kia will not honour their warranty. We have found areas on the body that wasn't even painted so unless you live in Central Australia you are going to experience rust. We love our OPTIMA but we just wish it didn’t have the rust problem.

BadgePlatinum
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2012
1 comment
Elaine A
Elaine A

Further to my review we have just had a recall on our Optima as there is a major problem with the engine bearings. It is a shame as the car has everything you could want in a vehicle.

Iwantservice

IwantserviceBrisbane

  • 11 reviews
  • 10 likes

I Love my Optima

published
BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015
Engine Size2.2L
Peter

Peter

  • 2 reviews

2015

published

I have a 2015 Kia Optima SLi which I purchased new in June last year. Overall I like the car with plenty of interior room as well as boot space. The car is comfortable to drive and on a long journey I can get 7.5l/100kms. But there are a couple of things I feel Kia could look at. The side mirrors need a little more protection because when it rains the water runs all over them and it is hard to see what is behind you. Also the rear window needs a wiper on all models so again when it rains you can see a bit clear behind you. I think the shockies on mine at least could be upgraded as I compare them to the Camry Altise I use for work seem to be much better than mine.

BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.4 litre

peeps

peepsSydney

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Style with a bit of substance

published

The Optima is certainly a good-looker; it has heaps of extras - the reverse camera with sensors is great, otherwise rear vision would be limited. The Sat Nav is awkward - you have to reprogram it on arrival, otherwise it keeps barking at you to turn around, go up a tree or another irritating suggestion. Ride is harsh over speed humps etc but that's part of its sporty set-up. Optima is great for effortless touring.

BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic

B2B

B2BPerth

  • 11 reviews
  • 11 likes

Best 4 cylinder sedan

published

Excellent car I love it as it comes with tons of features. Friends and family love it as well to drive or be passengers.
Drives great, smooth to drive, sun and moon roof in black looks fantastic, quick of the line, easy to handle, cheap on fuel as it's a 4 cylinder and looks fantastic wherever you drive it.

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic

James

JamesAU

  • 37 reviews
  • 40 likes

My cousin has a very nice car!

published

After being with my cousin (who owns this car)
I was impressed at how nice it looks, I am a little Bias as I own a Kia Sportage
Car did run very well, looks nice inside and out, quiet ride. Running costs are pretty good too.
However the car is a little expensive to buy. Kia helps you a lot after sale when you go into their dealer if you want anything.

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine SizeNot sure of engine size, I do know It is the smallest option though

Peter5119

Peter5119Sunshine Coast

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Reliable and refined

published

Purchased new in 2005 and replaced 2012. Traveled 125000km. Always reliable and only item ever to require repair was the globe in the radio, brakes pads at 115k and normal filters ect. Only reason the car was replaced was that it was involved in a head-on crash with a Land-cruiser. The airbags worked and the body absorbed the impact very well. (The other car crossed onto the wrong side of the road)
Strong and very smooth and quite. Fantastic on Highways

Engine SizeV 2.7
TransmissionAuto

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Gavin Evans

Gavin Evansasked

Optima TF

I am disappointed that my Kia Optima has crankshaft knock from failed bearings at 180k's after I had it back to Kia Mt Gravatt for the recall and had the all clear.
I was told the crankshaft was within tolerances which I find it hard to believe that they removed the bottom sump and measured the crankshaft with the pistons removed and measured the crank where the big end bearings would run on the crank all this within a couple of hours,
I think the more likey scenario they checked the vin range for the defect and found my vehicle was not in the vin range and replaced the old dipstick with the new dipstick which i suspect the old dipstick was giving the wrong reading for measuring oil.
I want to know since I did work with the brand for 4 years and I have personally influenced some of my family and friends to purchase a Kia car so far 2 x Cerato and 1 x Sportage what would Kia do to assist in having the engine repaired? given there is a whole Kia forum with Optima 2.4L customers with the same issue.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Kia representatives

Details

Kia Optima JF GT

Kia Optima JF GT (2015-2019)

3.5
(2)
Kia Optima JF Si

Kia Optima JF Si (2015-2019)

4.0
(1)
Kia Optima MS
  • Discontinued

Kia Optima MS (2001-2006)

4.7
(3)
Kia Optima TF
  • Discontinued

Kia Optima TF (2011-2015)

3.7
(13)
CategorySedansSedansSedansSedans
Starting Price $43,290$33,390$25,990$31,490
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic and ManualAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors444
Seats555
Fuel Consumption8.5 L/100km8.3 L/100km7.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 70 L70 L70 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.4L6 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.4L
Max Power180kW @ 6000rpm138kW @ 6000rpm148kW @ 6300rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 1350-4000rpm241Nm @ 4000rpm250Nm @ 4250rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Adjustable Pedals
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Heated Steering Wheel
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
Manufacturer Warranty7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)
Release dateJan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2001Jan 2011
Discontinuation dateDec 2006Dec 2015

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.